We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good balance between the high-priced, city-center hotels and the cheaper hotels further out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Logan, Utah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A good balance between the high-priced, city-center hotels and the cheaper hotels further out”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've been a fan of SpringHill Suites since staying at one off the strip in Las Vegas. We choose this one in Seattle because we've had good success with previous SpringHill locations. The hotel is about a mile away from both the Space Needle and Pike Market. We walked once from the Needle back to the hotel and it wasn't too bad of a walk (one mild hill.) The other times we took the free hotel shuttle which will drop you off and pick you up at these two landmark attractions. The neighborhood around the hotel isn't the best, but I've seen worse. We felt relatively comfortable/safe walking around the area and ate at the Pho restaurant one block west of the hotel. There is a Starbucks across the street to the South of the hotel but it may only be open on weekdays as it is attached to an office building. Compared to the hotels nearest the city's landmarks and downtown, the price of SpringHill Suites was less. The buffet breakfast (hot and cold items) was good, though it can get crowded. Luckily, the bar area provides additional seating at peak times and they will open the conference area for seating (if nothing is scheduled.) My only gripe is the cost of valet parking. It comes with the territory (in-city accomodations) and was quite a bit cheaper than hotels right at the city center; but I still don't like to pay for parking. Very close to I5 with very good access to I5 South on ramp.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
This is a really great description of our services, David -- thanks so much for taking the time to share this with those looking into our hotel. I'm happy that you were able to make good use of our shuttles to see the city, although I wish the price of our valet parking hadn't been a disappointment. As you mentioned, valet parking is an inevitable part of city life, but hopefully our other services more than made up for it. Speaking of which, good note about our breakfast -- we can get a little busy, and it's a helpful note for fellow travelers. Hope to see you on your next trip to Seattle!

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    352
    134
    47
    26
See reviews for
229
172
40
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A bit of an odd location but good shuttle service to major sites. Nice breakfast and helpful staff. New, clean hotel with small lounge and nice pool and fitness room. Definitely a good value compared to other properties and the 2 double beds and sleeper sofa were not available anywhere else nearby (3 kids so we needed 3 beds total). Would definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napdMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm glad to hear we were a good choice for your family on your trip to Seattle. It looks like you made use of our shuttle service, and I hope you enjoyed sightseeing while you were in town. Stay in touch for your next trip to Washington!

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent 6 nights at Springhill Suites and found it to be a very pleasant experience! The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful with hot food, fresh fruit, breads, muffins, yogurt, juices, etc. Free newspapers in the lobby every morning. Free shuttle to the Space Needle area....but we were able to walk the mile and a half or so to Pike Place as well as to other areas. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant twice and the food and service were great there, as well. The area around the hotel is slightly sketchy but not horrible...I wouldn't walk alone at night but I wouldn't do that in most big cities. Oh, yeah...most hotels have hair dryers attached to the wall by the sink....this hotel has the hair dryer in a black bag on the top shelf of the closet....so if you want to dry your hair, look there! Lol. I found it on day 5.

Room Tip: Some people had problems with noise, but we were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadAgain56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! I'm sure our newer guests will really appreciate all the information you've listed. It's great to hear that we were able to take such good care of you on your trip to Seattle. It sounds like you took advantage of our shuttle service to do some sightseeing, which is great! Sorry that your hair dryer was a little difficult to find, though -- hopefully that wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Hope you'll consider us for your next trip to Seattle!

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked this hotel as it was the only one still available via our Tour provider , during a busy long weekend.

The hotel room was modern and fine. Not really a suite, but the room was large, with a sofa, fridge and microwave. We made sure to request a quiet room, away from the highway. If you were unfortunate to get a highway room,the constant traffic noise would be unbearable.

The buffet breakfast was fine, although the restaurant seemed understaffed, with dirty dishes not being removed and no one serving in the bar area..

However, the hotel location was TERRIBLE. There is NOTHING anywhere near the hotel (no park, restaurant, bars,shops) and the neighborhood is not great, so I would not want to go out for a stroll after dark. Hotel guests are trapped in the hotel and are dependant on the Shuttle, which only runs once per hour, to get to the Seattle Centre or downtown. If you don't want to wait for the shuttle, it is a $7- cab ride to/from the hotel.
Front reception staff were pleasant but unknowledgeable. I wanted to go to the Zoo and the staff couldn't tell me what bus to take. They suggested a $40 cab ride! I took the no. 5 bus from Macy's direct to the Zoo (staff please note!!) for $2.25. I heard another guest enquire about city tours and the Front Desk clerk just handed her a brochure - she didn't know anything about the tours and seemed disinterested.

This was an average hotel and I wouldn't return, mainly because of the terrible location.

Room Tip: ask for non-highway side, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Mary, I'm sorry to hear that you felt that our location wasn't the best for your trip -- I'm honestly surprised to hear this feedback, because we often hear from guests that they enjoyed being within walking distance (20 minutes) to sightseeing attractions. As far as our staff goes, I'm sorry to hear that our front desk was unable to give you good recommendations -- I'll make a note to talk to our staff on your behalf. That said, I'm sorry we weren't able to make you feel better prepared for your trip -- we'd love a second chance to show you our best the next time you're in Seattle.

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

For the first time in years, I am disappointed in a Marriott hotel. The Springhill Suites in downtown Seattle is not a suite at all. There is a small 4 foot wall between the couch and bed so somehow the chain considers this a suite. Not by any other hotel I have stayed in so am very disappointed that this hotel considers a small wall worthy of the extra charge for a suite versus a regular room.
The extra rub is that the bathroom access is right past the bed "in the suite" so there is absolutely no privacy.
Sorry, Marriott, but this hotel room arrangement is an epic fail.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linlor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay, especially since you've been a Marriott guest for so many years. It sounds like you felt your room wasn't on par with your prior Marriott accommodations, and I'm sorry if this caught you off guard. We would never want to mislead or inconvenience our guests. I can only hope that you'll give us a second chance -- we may have a room that's better suited to your needs.

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a very well located hotel, you can easily walk anywhere, downtown is 10-15 minutes walking and the hotel offers complementary shuttles each hour to Westlake Center and Seattle Center (where you can find the Space needle). The front desk personal is really helpful and friendly, specially Geneva who always helped us with all our questions and requests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dariogprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks so much for reaching out after your stay! It sounds like you were able to make good use of our location and shuttle service to do some sightseeing, which is great. I'll be sure to pass along your thanks to Geneva -- it always makes the team feel great to know we could make your stay a little better. Stay in touch for your next trip to Seattle!

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Pretty conveniently located. Front desk staff very helpful. Free shuttle to Seattle Center and the Pier (three blocks away) every hour...very helpful. Free breakfast buffet, which was good enough. And free. But crowded. Rooms and facility were clean and in newish condition.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Glad to hear we could take care of you on your trip to Seattle, Brian. It sounds like you were able to do some sightseeing with our shuttle service, which is great! Sorry to see that the breakfast shuffle put you off a bit -- but everybody's got to eat, right? Hope we'll see you again on your next trip to Seattle.

Stay in touch,
Frank F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Property: SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing