We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The price is what makes this place a good place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The price is what makes this place a good place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

It is nice that the hotel is Downtown, but it is on the outskirts nestled right up against the freeway. One of the staff members was quite rude, which was unfortunate. We didn't spend much time at the hotel at all except to sleep. It has a nice little indoor pool and jacuzzi, and always has hot tea and coffee in the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    328
    125
    45
    24
See reviews for
213
161
39
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

I stayed at the SpringHill Suites when I traveled to Seattle to run the marathon. The hotel was recently renovated, so the lobby, bar & restaurant areas were pleasing to the eye. The rooms were nice as well, but they were definitely basic/bare bones. The free continental breakfast was great, but the food at the restaurant for lunch, dinner and room service was just mediocre. Worth it to eat there at the bar for reduced price bar snacks/light bites during happy hour, but would not recommend eating there otherwise for the price. That being said, it's at least a 10 minute walk to any other decent restaurant, so you may feel forced to dine there for the convenience. You can tell that they have tried hard to make this hotel better. The decor in the common areas was very pleasant/modern, and the space did seem quite clean/well-maintained. However, I felt that the management missed the mark on several key issues. Most obviously, they had NO idea whatsoever that there was a marathon in the city that weekend, and offered no service to the hundreds of runners that were staying at the hotel. It seems insane that they would not have known such a major event was taking place. The hotel typically runs a "convenience shuttle" to other nearby areas of the city (basically designed to prevent you from walking around the less-than-desirable neighborhood where it's located), but refused to run the shuttle once earlier in the morning on race day to get runners (who had to head to the race area before daybreak) to the race area. This seemed like a very major miss, and a sign of bigger things that were lacking as far as the management of the establishment. Overall, I will say that they tried hard, were willing to work with the guests, and very pleasant. But, I would definitely recommend staying closer to the more touristy areas of town and away from the run-down bus depot area where this hotel is located.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stara333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

My husband and I traveled to Seattle in the beginning of September over Labor Day weekend with our 5 year old daughter and 4 month old son. It was his first ever trip and it was great! The room was spacious and accommodated the 4 of us and all our gear. I wouldn't call it a real "suite", though, since there was no wall dividing the bedroom area and the living area, just a quarter-wall, but it worked for us since we wanted our daughter sleeping close by. Breakfast was great in the morning. The location wasn't bad, close to all the major attractions. They did have a shuttle that brought guests to some of the attractions but unfortunately it brought us to the Space Needle and didn't pick us up! We had booked the shuttle back but the driver had apparently forgotten about us. We waited for about 45 minutes and called the hotel, who paid for us to get a cab ride back. Other than this it was a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed in Seattle in August at the SpringHill Suites and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. The breakfast was awesome - hot and cold and there was lots of seating. I was really impressed with the rooms - large and clean.
My only complaint is that the hotel, being alittle further from Pike Place, etc., only had the shuttle go 3/4 way downtown, so you were left to walk fairly far if you wanted to go down to the waterfront, etc.
You also have to pay the valet $20/night for parking, but they were really fast and efficient in retrieving your vehicle.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would not hesitate to return. The only reason we wouldn't, is so we could be closer to downtown (or would stay in a different hotel that had a shuttle that went down to the waterfront).

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Letsgo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Location convenient for getting on and off I5 but otherwise not central. Between downtown and Seattle Center. Not a lot of restaurants close by. Configuration of room a bit odd. Sofabed is too small for 2 kids. Bathroom dated. We'd a soccer and volleyball teams on a Sat am and the breakfast room was overwhelmed. Not enough chairs for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p8patyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Our family stayed in the Springfield Suites prior to and after our Alaska cruise. The hotel is in great condition and within walking distance (about a mile) of the waterfront and Pike Place Market. The room works well for a family with college-age children and the buffet breakfast is certainly a money saver. We were extremely grateful that the hotel allows early check-in since most cruise ships return to Seattle in the early morning. I would recommend this hotel for family stays in downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MileHiDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Although not downtown, their shuttle makes it easy to get there. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. This reflects the leadership of the manager, Louis Haslett, who is very people oriented.

The property borders I-5, but noise is no more than you would expect from any hotel located in a busy city.

This is our second Spring Hill stay in the last few months. Both were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Property: SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Address: 1800 Yale Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing