We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel close to siteseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Hotel close to siteseeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel was comfortable with an excellent breakfast included. Showing signs of wear. Located within walking distance of most downtown sites.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcbblev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajols628, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you so much for sharing this valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I was pleased to hear that our complimentary breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations and that you found our location easily accessible to Seattle's major attractions. In regards to showing wear and tear, we underwent a $1 million dollar lobby renovation last year which completely reinvented our bar, restaurant and lobby areas. We take a great deal of pride in the physical condition of our hotel and will constantly look for areas in which we can improve. We thank you very much for choosing Springhill Suites Downtown Seattle and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    331
    126
    45
    24
See reviews for
216
161
40
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

This was a Marriott reward exchange for a ladies' getaway for a week. (Sat to Sat). One of the gals was attending a conference for the first 3 days and used the free shuttle service to and from the Convention Center. The location is not in the central downtown area - as others have commented. We did not find it a problem for the first few days - using the free shuttle service or walking to the free underground bus station. We picked up a rental car on Wed (to drive to Mt St Helens & Tacoma) and found it very convenient to hop on I-5 to make these trips.
The staff was friendly and helpful; rooms and hallways were clean; lobby area very welcoming with nice bar and seating area; complimentary breakfast offered a nice variety - all in all, it was a very nice place for our vacation!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bclew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Ne.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon while taking in the Huskies vs Huskers football game. We arrived and were greeted by a hotel employee who was fast, friendly and very welcoming. The room was perfect for us and we used the refrigerator and sink daily that was in our room. The Breakfast was excellent and was sometimes very crowded. We laughed about the crowd and both remarked, "well if no on was here, then it wouldn't be worth eating". We ate breakfast late on morning and that made us not hungry for lunch so we saved spending money on a meal that day. We never had a problem with noise but I could understand other reviewers problems with not being right in the middle of downtown. All in all, I preferred the further away location over being right downtown. We had a good price and a wonderful stay in the city of Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deliveryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGunnison, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 25 September 2010
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for selecting the SpringHill Suites during your honeymoon in Seattle. We appreciate your kind words about the property, and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Seattle. Please let me know if there is anything else we can help you with. Warm Regards, Christi Matthews, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed with spouse and adult son in king room with sofa bed on 8th floor. Traffic noise was not a problem and room was quiet. Everything was extremely clean! Breakfast was good, fresh & hot (waffles, eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, etc.). Coffee/tea in lobby at all times. Shuttle was convenient (3 stops: Westlake Center, Convention Center, and Seattle Center) with both dropoff and pickup by reservation. You could also call desk from stops and request next available pickup. We were able to walk most everywhere within 20 minutes when not taking the shuttle. There was some exercise equipment in a room next to the pool; however, the hotel also offered complimentary membership to a 24/7 gym located directly across the street with a vast amount of equipment. Used free Internet hookup in room with no problems.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenState1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

The hotel is beautiful with a spacious lobby and lovely rooms, but it is too far from downtown to be convenient for guests without a car. To make up for it, the hotel provides hourly shuttles to the Space Needle and to Westlake Shopping Center (downtown). We took advantage of the shuttle several times and found the drivers to be very pleasant, but we felt rather confined by our inability to walk anywhere of interest.

The hotel has a swimming pool and hot tub. They were pretty typical of hotel pools—nothing special—but my family enjoyed them. A free breakfast buffet was also provided. The food selection seemed about average for hotels offering free breakfasts; we were disappointed that at a time when Seattle was full of fresh local fruit (cherries, strawberries, etc.), none of it showed up at breakfast. Instead the usual imported oranges and apples were offered.

We had a very nice hotel room with fridge. I particularly liked the way the bathtub/shower and toilet were enclosed in a separate room from the bathroom sink. I stayed at the hotel with my husband and seven-year-old daughter and this bathroom arrangement made brushing teeth and bedtime routines quicker and more convenient. We were however, disappointed that while recycling and compost bins were available in the restaurant (where breakfast was served), they were not provided in our hotel room.

Children seemed very welcome in this hotel. When we checked in, the person at the front desk gave my daughter a small toy and activity book.

We liked the hotel, but we tend to do a lot of walking and found that the location was a problem for us. We probably won't be back, but it could be a good choice for people who don't want to have to drive half way across the city to get to downtown, but don't expect to be able to walk anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberley_inWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East kilbride,Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

stayed with 2 kids 10 & 12 used as base for Seattle and trip to Forks for twilight tour. Good sized rooms, very clean and comfortable. good location, fantastic breakfast included in price. buffet style with fresh pastries etc and waffle maker which the kids loved. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfamily164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

The hotel's title includes downtown. It is about 30 minutes walk to Pier 66, from where boats go to Canada, about 10 minutes to Space Needle and about 20 minutes to Pike Market. So, very good location in that sence. However, the surrounding area is a business type location, so it does not look very attractive at night. I did not walk outside past 7pm, day time and mornings were fine though.
The hotel has shuttle that takes you to Space Needel, West Lake shopping mall (4 block from there to Pike Market) and to conference center. All driving times are 5 minutes, if not less.
Comfortable rooms, very very spacious. Small bathrooms though, but the sink and mirror were outside of the bathroom, so it was ok. Big screen TV. excellent AC unit, easy to use (unlike in many hotels) and really really QUITE! I have never stayed in a hotel with such a quite AC unit. My room did face the freeway, you do hear the noise but it is somewhat muffled so it did not bother me at all.
I am not sure if anyone stayed in adjecent rooms, but i heard nothing at all during the entire stay (4 nights)
good breakfast included in room rate, the variety stays the same, but I would not complain since there was not additional charge. There is also coffee/tea service in the lobby all day.
The hotel has a bar that serves food, it was good and the pricing was nice.
Bathroom amenities are of good quality.
The indoor pool is really small, i would compare it with the pool for kids accompanied by adult. The water seemed somewhat chilly to me during the stay, although it was heated to 81 degrees according to thermometer.
Complimentary business center, did not use internet in room, so cant write about connection speed etc...
front desk is friendly, knowledgebale, very helpful; so are shuttle drivers. The hotel has umbrellas, so you can get one from bell stand if you forgot yours.
parking is expensive, right next door is an open parking for a free less then hotel; however based on the non-attractiveness of the surronding area I would park with the hotel, just to be safe, even if its going to be just a few more extra $$

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yam1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Property: SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Address: 1800 Yale Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing