We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary Customer Service”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
“Exemplary Customer Service”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Hotel Deca is an amazing place to stay, especially if you are a fan of any sort of architecture. However, the customer service takes precedence over anything else at this establishment.Front desk agents like Emily are what make this an extraordinary lodging experience; amenities and scenic views of Seattle aside! One MUST stay at the Hotel Deca!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Tyler T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize Emily for her outstanding service. Emily is a true ambassador for the hotel and we are thrilled to have someone like her working for us. Like Emily, our entire team prides themselves on the service we treat our guests to. We are in the business to make people smile. When someone leaves with a smile we know we have accomplished our goal.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    414
    186
    104
    77
See reviews for
296
319
127
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a great stay! Great quality for the price. Great views. Friendly staff, and also friendly people staying at the hotel. We were easily able to park a large vehicle we use for work on site.
I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank You Anne G,

Sometimes the title says it all. I do not know what else to say. Thank you so much! I am thrilled we made your stay so wonderful.

Until next time.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, visiting our son. Great location, easy to navigate. Wonderful bed. Loved our 5th floor view. Nice size desk with comfortable chair, lighting, and wifi, making it very easy to do some work away from home. We loved the decor and the sense of high-style travel from times gone by, yet completely modern.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Hello AmyGrammy,

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I am so glad you had such a wonderful visit. The hotel was built back in the 1920’s so our decor pays tribute to that era. It has a terrific sense of nostalgia yet very hip and trendy for today’s traveler.

We look forward to your next visit to Hotel Deca.

Best Wishes,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed overnight at the Hotel Deca for an interview with the University of Washington. Booked it on Expedia primarily for location close to campus. Had a very pleasant experience overall at the hotel. Was upgraded to a larger room at check-in without cost and was very happy with the appearance and functionality of my room...spacious, clean, attractive furnishings, free wi-fi, and plenty of electrical outlets! Hotel also provided earplugs on the night-stand, but I ended up not needing these. They also operate a free shuttle service to anywhere in a 5-mile radius which is great; otherwise, public transportation is easy to get to with plenty of bus stops nearby. There's also a Tully's coffee shop attached to the building...usually when I travel, I'll drop things off in the room after checking in and then head to a nearby Starbucks to do some work; this time, I just stayed in the hotel! Would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Deca to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you MD2BE for such a fantastic review of the hotel. I cannot think of a better compliment than when you mentioned the room was so comfortable you just stayed in. That is what we love to hear. Our rooms have some the most amazing views of the city so why not just stay in and enjoy the scenery.

Thank you for mentioning the shuttle service as well. It is a fantastic amenity considering we are just outside of downtown Seattle. Our shuttle takes guests to and from almost all the major attractions and shopping in Seattle. Just leave the driving to us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed one night back in September. The location is close to university but feel little not safe walking around as there were some hobo around . Our room was in higher floor but the street noise was still loud. We heard few sirens during night and the room also provide ear plug so u can imagin. The room is nice but little tired looking and the bathroom is tiny. The staffs are friendly and they also loan out movie DVD free for us to enjoy it. If u like the art work this is the one. I may not go back if we have to pay that price unless is on sale.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Hello Miu2000,

Although it has been a while since your visit I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Not many people know that we have DVD players in all our guest rooms and have a nice selection of movies at the front desk. Or you can always bring your own.

As a city center hotel outside noise is always difficult to control. I hope this did not distract so much from your overall stay that you would not consider us again. We do have a number of wonderful rooms that may be quieter than the one you stayed in. I am confident we can find one for you that will be extremely comfortable.

I hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Deca for a combination business/pleasure trip. We visited with our son who is attending the UW. We had business meetings in downtown Seattle. We found the location to extremely convenient with easy access to both campus and to downtown. The hotel is older but has been remodeled and everything was in good working order. The staff was excellent. It was a great value.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an upper floor room. It was nice as it had a seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mld160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear mld160,

Thank you for taking the time to write a few comments about your trip to the Deca. I am so glad you found the hotel be e a great value. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel right at home.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I am an RN at the Univeristy of Washington Medical Center. I live up north in Lynnwood but due to the snow storm and my requirement to be at work (as our patients come first and the hospital never closes) I needed a place within walking distance to my job. Hotel Deca was perfect for my price range and I found out during my three day stay that they offer discounts to UW Employees (so I was offered a refund)...bonus!! The staff was amazing, the food was to die for, and they even have happy hour :) I would most definitely stay here again...even for a mini 'stay-cation.' Thank you for the great service!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hello karra j,

I am thrilled that we helped make an inconvenient situation a little less stressful. Snow in Seattle is pretty but not very convenient for those of us having to commute back and forth from work. Hopefully the next little get away to the hotel can be all about fun.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing