We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel at a very appealing price in Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel at a very appealing price in Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I chose this hotel as It was near where I was working when I was in Seattle on business and the price was attractive as compared to others. Not to mention I found the most amazing thai food restaurant 1 block over (Thai Tom - see separate review). Hotel décor is very hip and inviting. The rooms are quiet, cozy and the beds comfortable. I had a great view of the space needle as well. Very close to the University so plenty of restaurants and bars to keep your taste buds guessing. The breakfast in the morning was also very good. The oat meal was great. If your looking for a very modern and hip hotel but at a very reasonable price, you can't go wrong with Hotel Deca. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hello Chris D

I am sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your review. I am thrilled you had such a great visit to the hotel. We cannot thank you enough for highly recommending us to all of our potential future guests. It can be difficult to choose between all the hotels in Seattle so hopefully your review will help sway people toward the Deca.

By the way, Thai Tom is ridiculously good. Just be sure to bring cash because they do not take credit cards.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    401
    175
    99
    71
See reviews for
284
306
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Three blocks for Univ. of Washington campus makes Hotel Deca a good choice if you need to be in the University District. We've also stayed at the Watertown Hotel nearby, whose rooms are much bigger. Having said that, the Deca offers a great lobby, with plenty of seating areas, and a full bar and restaurant (the District), and is similarly priced. Staff was terrific. Parking is above ground (vs. below ground for the Watertown).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi pete k,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. If the size of your room was the only thing that left you wanting more we can easily fix that. While we do have some smaller rooms we also have much larger rooms that may fit your needs better. I assure you we can easily correct this so that your next visit will turn from a three star to a five star.

Feel free to contact our in-house reservation team when you are ready to make your next reservation. They will set you up into a much larger room. I hope you give us another chance to make this up to you.

Thank you again.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.C. area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Deca hotel last month as a birthday gift for my husband from our kids. They also give us tickets for a performance at the Neptune across the street, so the location was perfect. Since it is in the University area, I wondered what the hotel would be like. It is an older hotel, but it has been tastefully remodelled. When we arrived our room was not quite ready (check in was 3 p.m.), but they offered to keep our bags. We just left them in the car in the free parking beside the hotel, and had a quick walk around the area. Upon our return we were told we had been upgraded. The room on the top floor (16) was large with a lovely bathroom, and a huge balcony with beautiful views of the city, mountains and the water. An extra touch was a lovely hand-written note by Vanessa, the guest service agent, as well as a nice bag of "goodies". Much appreciated! We enjoyed the views from the deck - in the sunshine!,- before we went out for dinner to a restaurant recommended by the front desk. A shuttle was available, but we chose to take the car. We found the service by the numerous front desk staff excellent, as they were always pleasant and friendly, and attentive to any query or need. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hello marbo05,

Thank you so much for writing such an wonderful review of your visit to Hotel Deca. We are all thrilled you had such an amazing visit. I also want to thank you for recognizing Vanessa and the rest of the front desk team. They all strive to treat our guests to outstanding experiences so I know they will love to read your comments.
We hope to see you and your family again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting UW. I wouldn't recommend the University District for tourism purposes but this hotel was great for our visit to campus. The hotel itself is fairly old but they have renovated the interior to make it more modern. The service was just fine and free wifi runs through the rooms. My only complaint was that the walls were a bit thin and I could hear everything from the corridors and next door. If you sleep light, you might need earplugs (but they even provide these in the room).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hello jekko12,

Thank you for your review. While we may not be right in Downtown Seattle I do believe we have the amenities and services that far outweigh our location. As the closest hotel to the UW our location makes us ideal for anyone visiting the campus. However for anyone not visiting the campus we could also be a fantastic alternative to a hotel closer to Downtown. We have some of the best views of any hotel in Seattle, an amazing team who prides themselves on treating our guest to the highest level of comfort and care, and outstanding amenities. We also have a complimentary shuttle available to our guests. We truly are an outstanding hotel for all travelers.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed here for a meeting for three nights. The room was very nice with an excellent view (1106). The staff was extremely accommodating and professional. The food and service for the meeting was good but nothing too special. I didn't get a chance to check out the bar but it looked OK but closes early. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear runner27,

What a wonderful title to your post. We LOVED it. Thank you so much for taking a moment to recognize our amazing team. I truly believe we have one of the best teams in Seattle and I am thrilled when they are recognized on TripAdvisor.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I spent 4 days at the Hotel Deca while visiting UW on business. I had stayed here once before, and it seems to be the go-to place for UW visitors. I liked some things about the hotel, was disappointed by others. Basics first: the bed was very comfortable. Shower, towels etc. were perfectly serviceable, though not great. I was told upon check-in that I was upgraded to a room on a higher floor. I was in a corner room about half way up. But I found the 'upgraded' room to be a little pokey. Rather limited storage, and the armchair in the room wasn't so comfortable. Some things were done well, e.g., lots of extra outlets for charging devices etc.; it's surprising how many hotels fall short on that count. Oh, and the view from the window was quite good - on a clear morning, I woke to see Mt Rainier in clear view out of my window. Nice. Free wifi is reliable, but on the slow side. No in room fridge. The location of the hotel is convenient, right next to the bustling U District, with many eateries that are moderately priced but good. Just a couple of minutes walk to UW. I would stay here again on a visit to UW, but mostly because the options seem relatively limited.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on SE side have best views of Mt Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear CPtraveller,

As a return guest to the hotel your feedback means a lot to us. Our goal is to create an amazing first impression that hopefully translates into a lifelong relationship with our guests. I am so glad you found so many of our amenities enjoyable. Oh and by the way, thank you for mentioning our amazing views. In my opinion they are the best in the city. Additionally, we are looking into why the wireless signal was not very reliable during your visit. Normally we have an extremely reliable network. Hopefully a quick reset will correct any issues.

Thank you again. We hope to see you during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierentz, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Its proximity to the Campus is the advantage of the DECA Hotel. Per such it is a rather old hotel without much charm. We have been first allocated to a rather noisy room situated directly above the air conditioning system (please avoid room in the corner ending with 9). Only after severall complaints we have been relocated into a different room. The dark lobby/lounge area is not really inviting. It might be a decent choice for the university district but if your destination is downtown seattle, better alternatives are existing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending 9 (eg 209, 309,...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hello Chris B,

I am so sorry your visit to the hotel did not meet your expectations. Clearly the first room did not create a very good impression so I am glad the second one better fit your needs. Our location to the UW does make us the ideal choice for guests either attending a conference on campus, an athletic event at one of the stadiums, or an amazing alumni event for the University. We offer fantastic amenities and some of the best views of any hotel in Seattle. I am positive during your next visit we will create the visit you were hoping for.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing