We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, modern, clean and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, modern, clean and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here after climbing in the North Cascades and it is a great hotel. Fun bright modern decor, rooms very clean and the staff were superb. We got a park, eat, play package for a great deal. No parking costs, and free breakfast! Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigDjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Hello bigDjetsetter,

First, you could not have picked a more breathtaking area of our country to climb. The North Cascades is truly one of the most incredible and scenic parts of our region. A definite favorite of the locals. I am also thrilled that you had such a superb visit to the hotel. We loved that you
Loved it!!!!

Hopefully we will get the chance to see you again in the very near future.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    401
    176
    99
    72
See reviews for
285
306
125
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We recently went on an Alaskan Cruise, and our Travel Agent recommended Hotel Deca because it was less expensive than other hotels near the cruise terminals. The hotel is located near the University and a few shops. We only stayed for one night. The hotel is older, but the room we were in was updated and clean. The only complaint I have about this hotel is that there is not a complimentary breakfast. Also, the breakfast (which we paid for) was expensive and limited. Overall, a good place to stay and only about 15 minutes to the cruise terminal. The hotel provides a shuttle to the cruise terminal, but not back. Taxi ride was $19.

Room Tip: The receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade our room to a Queen suite. The only difference was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Ari W,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am glad the only issue that arose during your visit was the fact that we do not offer a complimentary breakfast. As a full service hotel we do not offer complimentary breakfast however at times we will offer packages that include various options like breakfast. These packages are a great option so please check on our website for the latest and greatest inclusive packages. They do change depending on the season but they are fantastic.

Thank you again. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

the staff were helpful.really nice room!!! there are some restaurants to walk to. unless you have university business you should choose a hotel in the downtown area. we stayed here just over night on our road trip to the olympic peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you cpinfla for your review. I know the team will enjoy learning they were so helpful during your visit to the hotel.

We hope to see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I chose this hotel as It was near where I was working when I was in Seattle on business and the price was attractive as compared to others. Not to mention I found the most amazing thai food restaurant 1 block over (Thai Tom - see separate review). Hotel décor is very hip and inviting. The rooms are quiet, cozy and the beds comfortable. I had a great view of the space needle as well. Very close to the University so plenty of restaurants and bars to keep your taste buds guessing. The breakfast in the morning was also very good. The oat meal was great. If your looking for a very modern and hip hotel but at a very reasonable price, you can't go wrong with Hotel Deca. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hello Chris D

I am sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your review. I am thrilled you had such a great visit to the hotel. We cannot thank you enough for highly recommending us to all of our potential future guests. It can be difficult to choose between all the hotels in Seattle so hopefully your review will help sway people toward the Deca.

By the way, Thai Tom is ridiculously good. Just be sure to bring cash because they do not take credit cards.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Three blocks for Univ. of Washington campus makes Hotel Deca a good choice if you need to be in the University District. We've also stayed at the Watertown Hotel nearby, whose rooms are much bigger. Having said that, the Deca offers a great lobby, with plenty of seating areas, and a full bar and restaurant (the District), and is similarly priced. Staff was terrific. Parking is above ground (vs. below ground for the Watertown).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi pete k,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. If the size of your room was the only thing that left you wanting more we can easily fix that. While we do have some smaller rooms we also have much larger rooms that may fit your needs better. I assure you we can easily correct this so that your next visit will turn from a three star to a five star.

Feel free to contact our in-house reservation team when you are ready to make your next reservation. They will set you up into a much larger room. I hope you give us another chance to make this up to you.

Thank you again.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.C. area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Deca hotel last month as a birthday gift for my husband from our kids. They also give us tickets for a performance at the Neptune across the street, so the location was perfect. Since it is in the University area, I wondered what the hotel would be like. It is an older hotel, but it has been tastefully remodelled. When we arrived our room was not quite ready (check in was 3 p.m.), but they offered to keep our bags. We just left them in the car in the free parking beside the hotel, and had a quick walk around the area. Upon our return we were told we had been upgraded. The room on the top floor (16) was large with a lovely bathroom, and a huge balcony with beautiful views of the city, mountains and the water. An extra touch was a lovely hand-written note by Vanessa, the guest service agent, as well as a nice bag of "goodies". Much appreciated! We enjoyed the views from the deck - in the sunshine!,- before we went out for dinner to a restaurant recommended by the front desk. A shuttle was available, but we chose to take the car. We found the service by the numerous front desk staff excellent, as they were always pleasant and friendly, and attentive to any query or need. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hello marbo05,

Thank you so much for writing such an wonderful review of your visit to Hotel Deca. We are all thrilled you had such an amazing visit. I also want to thank you for recognizing Vanessa and the rest of the front desk team. They all strive to treat our guests to outstanding experiences so I know they will love to read your comments.
We hope to see you and your family again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting UW. I wouldn't recommend the University District for tourism purposes but this hotel was great for our visit to campus. The hotel itself is fairly old but they have renovated the interior to make it more modern. The service was just fine and free wifi runs through the rooms. My only complaint was that the walls were a bit thin and I could hear everything from the corridors and next door. If you sleep light, you might need earplugs (but they even provide these in the room).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hello jekko12,

Thank you for your review. While we may not be right in Downtown Seattle I do believe we have the amenities and services that far outweigh our location. As the closest hotel to the UW our location makes us ideal for anyone visiting the campus. However for anyone not visiting the campus we could also be a fantastic alternative to a hotel closer to Downtown. We have some of the best views of any hotel in Seattle, an amazing team who prides themselves on treating our guest to the highest level of comfort and care, and outstanding amenities. We also have a complimentary shuttle available to our guests. We truly are an outstanding hotel for all travelers.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing