We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Boutique Hotel Near University of Washington”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here while attending conference at University of WA in June. Hotel has a very cool roaring 20's kind of feel. Beautiful lobby and great attention to details. Decorator obviously captured the feel of the era. Rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. Room doors only have a chain on them for the added security you like to have but this probably due to age of hotel. We were on 11th floor and air conditioner was not functioning as well as we would have liked. Hotel staff at all levels were very helpful and responsive to anything you needed. Hotel very close to many restaurants that you can walk to but not anything fancy. This hotel in area close to college so mostly college town type eateries. We were approached every time we walked down University Ave.by homeless people. some more aggressive than others but we were not concerned for our safety only surprised to see this in this area. Tully's coffee place attached to hotel where you can get great coffee and tea and quick snack. This is great to have in hotel. Hotel also has a very nice restaurant if you want to stay within hotel Also, Very easy walk to University of Wa campus which is beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardave413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear cardave413,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to the hotel. I am so glad so many aspects of your visit were enjoyable. I have asked the engineering team to take a look at the air conditioning system on the 11th floor to ensure whatever occurred during your visit is corrected. I can assure you once they have addressed the issue it will not occur again.

We hope to see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel has everything! Great location within walking distance of good restaurants & UW, rooms with incredible views & the staff is....well, perfect. I can not recommend this hotel any higher. Can I give it 6 stars? Ok fine, then 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Justin C,

Honestly, I did not even read your review. Why bother when the title says it all. I stopped counting all the exclamation marks because clearly we nailed it.

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to UW. We stayed there 2 nights and just left yesterday. Extremely convenient. The front desk staff was very friendly and provided an excellent atmosphere. We stayed on the 16th floor the first night in one of the larger suites. It had a very large bathroom and a deck from which you could get a panoramic view of the area. Safeway is down the street and a Chevron is just down the block. We had only 2 issues. It is in the middle of a busy neighborhood so the street noice at night was quite noticeable. It's just the nature of being in a large city. The other issue is that we were charged $16 a day for parking. If this were downtown Seattle I could understand it more.
Wifi was free. Breakfast was quite nice downstairs and reasonably priced. Tullys on the ground floor for coffee. Security was also nice in that you needed a room key to use in the elevator that would let you get to your specific floor.
In any case I recommend this hotel highly and will be booking again in September.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RjessMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hello marc m,

First of all…GO HUSKIES!!!! We are right there with you on that. Second, thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the hotel. I also really appreciate that you would highly recommend us to any future guests. That means a lot to us.

It is tough because as a city center hotel the natural noise from the street and neighborhood can be distracting. However it sounds like this did not dampen your stay or prevent you from returning in the future. As you mentioned, we have so many fantastic amenities at the hotel it is definitely worth the visit.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Clean. Modern furnishings. Big rooms. Fantastic View and close to all the University District has to offer. We chose this due to its proximity to the Neptune Theatre (across the street) where he had a wonderful evening at a Patty Griffin concert.

Room Tip: We had a nice large room, though i hear there are small rooms. Go for the big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear jazger,

Thank you for your review. We are all so excited you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. I hope the concert was fantastic as well. The Neptune is just about the coolest venue in Seattle to see a show. Amazing history and ambience. We were pumped when they renovated the theatre and started filling it up with dynamic shows.

Hopefully we will see you again the next time you attend a show at the Neptune.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here after climbing in the North Cascades and it is a great hotel. Fun bright modern decor, rooms very clean and the staff were superb. We got a park, eat, play package for a great deal. No parking costs, and free breakfast! Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigDjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hello bigDjetsetter,

First, you could not have picked a more breathtaking area of our country to climb. The North Cascades is truly one of the most incredible and scenic parts of our region. A definite favorite of the locals. I am also thrilled that you had such a superb visit to the hotel. We loved that you
Loved it!!!!

Hopefully we will get the chance to see you again in the very near future.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We recently went on an Alaskan Cruise, and our Travel Agent recommended Hotel Deca because it was less expensive than other hotels near the cruise terminals. The hotel is located near the University and a few shops. We only stayed for one night. The hotel is older, but the room we were in was updated and clean. The only complaint I have about this hotel is that there is not a complimentary breakfast. Also, the breakfast (which we paid for) was expensive and limited. Overall, a good place to stay and only about 15 minutes to the cruise terminal. The hotel provides a shuttle to the cruise terminal, but not back. Taxi ride was $19.

Room Tip: The receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade our room to a Queen suite. The only difference was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Ari W,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am glad the only issue that arose during your visit was the fact that we do not offer a complimentary breakfast. As a full service hotel we do not offer complimentary breakfast however at times we will offer packages that include various options like breakfast. These packages are a great option so please check on our website for the latest and greatest inclusive packages. They do change depending on the season but they are fantastic.

Thank you again. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

the staff were helpful.really nice room!!! there are some restaurants to walk to. unless you have university business you should choose a hotel in the downtown area. we stayed here just over night on our road trip to the olympic peninsula.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you cpinfla for your review. I know the team will enjoy learning they were so helpful during your visit to the hotel.

We hope to see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £103 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing