We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, small rooms, great for business travelers”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel, small rooms, great for business travelers”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I spent a night here last week and was quite pleased. Yes, the rooms were small but I have been in smaller rooms in Europe. It was quite enough for a single traveler. Parents traveling with children visiting UW nearby might find them too small.

The staff were friendly to a fault. I got in too late to need dinner but walking around the next day, I saw the variety of eating places the U district offers. The hotel is well maintained.

I will stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: if your business is mostly in the U district, you might want to consider not parking a car in the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandfirouzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear anandfirouzeh,

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you had such a wonderful time and we were able to make such a wonderful impression. We cannot wait to see you again. Hopefully during that next trip we can earn that extra star.

Thank you again,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    405
    179
    100
    74
See reviews for
286
309
127
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here for a week long trip and wouldn't do so again. I called here a few times before my actual trip and every time I was on hold for 10 minutes or more before being able to speak with someone.

We arrived early and were able to check in upon arrival, which was really nice. The room was really small though it had a great view. The outlets all around the room are in really inconvenient locations making it tough to charge anything (laptop or phone) while on the bed. The internet access is free, but extremely slow and you must renew your online access every day of your stay which I found to be tedious and not worth the effort since the connection was so slow. The air conditioning vent cover against one wall was also completely off and just leaning on the exposed vent when we arrived and it stayed that way for the entire trip despite staff coming in to clean.

If you are planning to travel all around Seattle the location has easy access points to public transportation and it wasn't hard to figure out. We were able to ride the bus to the Fremont area, downtown and to Lake Union. There were quite a few affordable restaurants nearby for quick eats- burgers, pizza, the usual.

One morning we ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast and it was not worth it at all. The food was basic and the atmosphere was awful. The "restaurant" is housed in the hotel's bar which during the day is extremely dead and is definitely looks like more of a bar than a restaurant. We ate there hoping to save some time, but if I had known the restaurant was just a few small tables in a bar I would have just walked somewhere else. The food was SUPER bland. Definitely don't go there for anything but a drink and probably not even a drink.

When I left, I accidentally left behind a notebook. This was obviously my fault and the staff was gracious enough to contact me about it. However, one person contacted me about it and when I wrote back to affirm I wanted the notebook sent back to me, I did not get a response and had to call to follow up. Turns out that person was off for the next two days and no one else knew about the notebook which to me is extremely inefficient and I had to give all my information for a second time. I also received no follow up that the notebook had been sent and had to call again to verify. Once it had been sent they let me know I would be charged for postage and postage ended up being WAY higher than it should have been. While I am appreciative that they sent me back my belongings, I'm bothered that they didn't ask me that my preference for shipping was or update me to let me know how much the charge would be for.

Overall, this was an average to below average experience at a hotel and I won't be going back or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Let me start by saying how sorry I am that your experience did not match your expectations. Clearly there were a number of issues that occurred that played into your overall impression of the hotel. I assure you I will personally look into each issue and make sure where corrections need to be made, they are made. I never want a guest to leave feeling dissatisfied with their experience. Our goal is to create truly memorable experiences and it sincerely disappoints me when this does not happen.

While I completely understand your reluctance to stay with us again I do hope that you would try us one more time. I believe your next experience will be much better.

Thank you again.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Deca on two occasions and both were great stays. On both occasions we were able to check in early upon arrival, which was extremely helpful. It's located in the University District, but the metro stop is 2 blocks away, cheap and very easy to use (theres an app for your smart phone as well). We were able to navigate the city quite easily. There was also a shuttle available on a first come, first serve basis. As for the rooms, the linens were clean and the bed was comfy. We didn’t mind that the rooms were small - we were in Seattle to enjoy the city not hang out in the rooms! The staff is knowledgeable and accommodating. Extra points for a Tully's coffee shop in the lobby! Would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margarete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello Margarete H,

Great hotel, location, price…not sure how to add to that. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip. We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We visited Seattle over the Memorial Day weekend and had a very nice time. The hotel was in the University District which took us out of the touristy area that has it's positives. Great coffee shop and breakfast up the street. Couple of blocks away from a supermarket made it easy to stock up on snacks...and wine! Getting to the main points of interest was easy by our rental car and the shuttle provided by the hotel. The only thing that was a bit disappointing is also a bit personal... it was part of a honeymoon trip and even though I shared that information with the front desk, they made no mention of it or did anything special, which was unfortunate. That said, I filled out my review (that is sent by hotel) and manager contacted me immediately and took the time to hear about our visit.

I would recommend this place...

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank veebeewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hi veebeewhy,

First of all, very fun TripAdvisor name. I see a number of these and fun names always make me chuckle.

I am so sorry that we did not make an attempt to highlight your special occasion. We normally take great pride in doing everything we can to make a special trip as special as possible. It is such an honor that you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon so it disappoints me we did not go out of our way to make you night even more amazing. I am glad the manager reached out to you. I will make sure our staff understands the importance of recognizing special occasions and feel empowered to do what is necessary to make the event fantastic.

Thank you again. Hopefully we will see you on your first anniversary as well.

Thank you and CONGRATULATIONS!

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I often find boutique hotels lack warm service, but not the case here, very eager to help, and all the staff very friendly, rooms very small but nearly all rooms are in Seattle boutiquey hotels.
Tully's coffee bar in hotel is wonderful to have, hotel breakfast a little limited but good value. Lobby very nice and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello Pheephox,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. I am so pleased that you found the staff to be warm and helpful. We try very hard to make our guests feel at home. Traveling can be difficult so we want to you be comfortable and know that we truly cared that you chose to stay with us.

Please come back soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is unique in it's decor and the staff is tremendous! You must see their website to get the idea. http://www.hoteldeca.com/ It is in the University District of Seattle, which is a little downfall if you want to sight-see in the city. Unless you rent a car, you must take a city bus or arrange for a shuttle from the hotel to take you anywhere. The shuttle is not always available. The hotel itself is nice but old. The room I stayed in was okay but the bathroom was very small, not likely to pass AAA's standards. The bathtub must have been original to the hotel it was very deep and stained. Clean, but stained. The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean. There was a restaurant in the bottom floor (very good) and a coffee shop (Tully's) next to the lobby. there is a fitness room but no pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kak3et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear kak3et,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to point out our tremendous staff. I truly believe that we have one of the best teams in all of Seattle. Our goal is to create amazing experiences so we are thrilled when we learn we have met or exceeded that goal. I will make sure the staff reads your review.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were able to get a package from Orbitz that included car, flight & this hotel. Nice place in the University District. Boutique hotel, so not like a chain. Good service. Parking lot cost extra & spaces very small, but it's nice not to have to worry about parking. Lots to do walking around here is you are a walker. Trails and waterfront nearby. Nice Art Museum at the University. Lots of restaurants around. Coffee shop downstairs was convenient and friendly. Staff at hotel very hospitable, helpful & friendly as well. Exercise room downstairs...a bit larger than a closet, but 2 treadmills and a few other pieces if you need a quick workout. Good value for the $$$

Room Tip: Our room was on a lower floor & we sometimes walked the stairs. Their elevator requires use of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello Lynn D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are so thrilled that we will be seeing you again in the future. Hopefully it will be much sooner than later.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing