We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel near the University of Washington”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2014

this is a classic hotel near the campus - the decorations are modern with a nod to Art Deco. Ask for a room away from the elevator door and away from the ice machine unless you like noise. The higher floor rooms have better views.

Room Tip: ask for a room not next to the ice machine or the elevator door
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countess11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hello Countess11,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is the first hotel at any price level that I have seen with absolutely no storage furniture. That is a real inconvenience for an extended stay. The housekeeping was just plain terrible. Surfaces with visible dirt were left uncleaned and the carpeting was obviously not vacuumed. Every day found us left without some supply item such as coffee, toilet paper or clean cups. The noise of water draining from the bathtub in some other room was quite a surprise and a bit alarming until we realized what it was. After a day or two, we really didn't notice it. any more. These drawbacks were unfortunate because the room was otherwise comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly and the location quite nice. In fact, on the basis of the staff alone, I'd probably consider this hotel for another stay but I'd plan on addressing the housekeeping issue up front when I arrived.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredvsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Hotel Deca. First let me thank you for recognizing our staff. We truly do have a wonderful team who care about creating exceptional experiences for our guests. I also wanted to let you know that I have already discussed your comments with our housekeeping team. I am confident your areas of concern have been addressed and will not occur again.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I am in the middle of an 8 day stay at the Deca. There is some good stuff here and some areas of concern.

The good - the location, the friendly staff, the living space and the view of Rainier

The areas of concern - extremely thin walls. The first night we were woken at 5am by a crying baby and ringing phone. The next morning it was someone with a loud cough. Even as I type this at midnight, I can hear loud music blaring.

Two of the five days we've been here so far, housekeeping didn't come. One day the body was dispenser was empty, so it was disappointing when they didn't come.

On a Friday night at 11pm, the police rushed into the hotel for some disturbance. That was concerning to see ad we walked on.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank recently74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear recently74,

Thank you for your review. I truly appreciate your comments about the hotel and especially the good part. Clearly there are a couple of areas we need to focus on and I assure you we will make corrections where needed. Hopefully we can put everything up into the “good” section during your next visit.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend and we were very impressed with Deca. Loved the fact that is was not your run of the mill chain, but had some character. Location was good as we were visiting a friend a couple miles from there. Easy hotel to find and lots of interesting places to visit and eat in the area since it is close to campus. Would stay there again when visiting Seattle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robu216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Rob U,

Now that is a title. “GREAT HOTEL”. I love it. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Upon entering the Hotel you are in a contemporary lobby, greeted by well trained front desk staff. I was given a lovely room with a view of the space needle. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the closet. As mentioned in previous reviews, the bathroom is extremely small, that is true. What was more the issue for me, was the shampoo, conditioner, and body wash bottles on the shower wall that barely worked. Body lotion was missing in the room, and when I travel by air and only have that little plastic bag, I count on the hotel to provide lotion. I was there for 3 nights and was cold all 3 nights. There was a light down comforter on the bed, but even with the heat on I was cold. I looked in the closet but for additional blankets, but nope. However, the pillows were fabulous!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello Ann B,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the room lovely and enjoyed the view. A few years ago we went away from the small bottles to the wall mounted dispenser to remain consistent with our eco-friendly initiatives. The good news is that we do have a small supply of individual bottles incase our guests prefer to use those. This also includes lotion. Next time you visit please let us know that you would like to have lotion in your room and we will make sure it is in the room when you arrive.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
.
Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here because it was convenient to the Neptune Theater for a New Years Eve show. The rates are reasonable, the room was nicely furnished and clean. I requested a view of the Space Needle and they were able to accomodate me. The staff was very helpful in making excellent recommendations for both dinner and breakfast. i would stay here again without hesitation. My only criticism is that wireless acess was erratic. Connectivity was OK with my PC, but problematic with an iPad or Android tablet. They seemed to be experiencing difficulties with their authorization system. Since i was able to connect with my PC, I did not investigate the problem any further.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayTee338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello JayTee338

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I am so glad you had a wonderful experience. Hopefully we will see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Where do I start...
The bathroom was tiny (about 6x6), it had no fan or heat so it got stuffy, steamy, and it smelled musty. There was a vent opening but it piped in music and conversations from the next room. That was entertaining for a while but the neighbors taste in music wasn't to our liking. Also, it was the only hotel I've ever been to that didn't supply lotion. The shampoo, body gel, and conditioner were dispensed from mounted containers in the shower that kept sticking and wouldn't pump then the tops fell off.
The bedroom area was very spacious and the beds were great but don't count on actually sleeping in them! With the paper thin walls you will hear everything going on in the next room and in the hall. We were unfortunate enough to be there for New Years Eve and that was unbearable (not the hotel's fault though). The room was hot and stuffy so we had to sleep with the window open and the traffic noise was terrible.
Room service was a joke. There wasn't a menu in the room when we arrived and we wanted a snack. The front desk said they were working on updating it but that they'd send one up right away. After waiting a half hour we looked up the menu on line and ordered. Our food was delivered before the menu was. Another morning we ordered breakfast but when it didn't arrive after an hour I called to cancel because we were now late for an appointment. Paige told me that she didn't have our room number and didn't know where to deliver our food to. How does that happen?
Other annoying things: there were no coffee mugs just paper cups, the vent in the closet was connected to the next room where they were smoking pot so our room smelled like we were having a wild party.
We stayed for 3 nights and will never stay there again. The staff was nice enough and none of the issues were enough to cause me to make a complaint but it's just an old worn down hotel with horrible ventilation and no insulation between rooms.

Room Tip: I thought we had one of the best rooms in the place but it still wasn't worth the price.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celinesebelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear celinesebelius,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that we did not even come close to meeting your expectations. Clearly we have a number of items to address and I assure you they will be addressed. We have set an extremely high expectation for ourselves and we are always highly disappointed when we do not meet these lofty goals.

Again, I am so sorry. We will address the areas you mentioned so that they will not occur again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#51 of 102 in Seattle
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £102 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing