We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous spot”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked a night at the Deca, with no expectations, as an overnight stop on our way to Bellingham to catch the Alaska ferry. Turns out it was a big mistake to not stay longer. This is an excellent hotel in a vibrant, interesting part of the city. We had a very comfortable, spacious room with good city views. Clean and quirky in the art deco style. It has very impressive, quality furnishings and fittings and THE most comfortable bed we have slept in for many years. We wish we had planned to stay for a longer stay in a great hotel in a very interesting area

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello appok,

WOW FABULOUS!! We have been called a number of amazing things but “Fabulous” may just be the best of them all. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable visit. I know you wished you stayed longer so you know what this means…another trip to Seattle. That is not a horrible idea. We would love to have you as our guests again.
Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    403
    178
    99
    74
See reviews for
286
308
127
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia Wa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We start one night and were impressed. This is a very old but well maintained high rise hotel. High end art deco styling everywhere. Awesome city views are available of you get an upper floor. Situated in the middle of the university district.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bonaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Bonaro,

Thank you for your review. The entire Deca team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for mentioning our amazing views. I believe we have the best views of the city from any hotel room in Seattle. Truly breathtaking…even on a rainy day.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Every time we go to Seattle, we use Captain Kirk's "name your own price" website to bid for a room in the University District. We've managed to get Hotel Deca several times, and we've never been disappointed. In fact, we secretly hope to get Hotel Deca every time.

First off, there is good security. The room key is required to access most floors of the hotel via elevator. The rooms are nicely appointed: full cable channels, DVD player and a safe to stash your stuff. Towels are fluffy. Beds are very comfortable. We use the Tully's Coffee downstairs, but will check out The District Lounge inside the hotel next time -- the smell of awesome coffee wafting up into the elevator every morning is really nice!

IMPORTANT: Internet access is FREE all over the hotel, and the speeds we got were more than acceptable at 2-3 MBPS. There is ample hotel parking at a price, but you can always find a spot on the street within a block of the hotel if you want to save some money.

While you are in the U District, be sure to go up and down University Avenue. And be sure to check out the University Village mall about 1.5 miles away. It's really the nicest mall in Seattle.

Fingers crossed we get Hotel Deca again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Teresa L,

WOW, what a fantastic review. Your amazing review is so motivating for us. Our goal is to create truly memorable experiences for our guests by treating everyone to the highest level of sincere care and comfort. We celebrate with each other when we find out we met and in your case, exceeded this expectation. We cannot thank you enough for letting future guests know about our amazing little hotel.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Deca for a conference this week and the most remarkable parts of this hotel are:

1) Really good food for a conference, *especially* the chocolate chip cookies they served during a break, yum!

2) Very nice staff! Every interaction I had with them was so pleasant. They did a great job.

3) Fantastic smelling shampoo, conditioner, and soap. That may seem silly, but to be honest, it makes a difference. It was high quality product with a really nice smell. And they are mounted on the walls in the shower, so I didn't feel like there was a bunch of waste from so many tiny bottles.

4) Decor is nice. I like the combo old feel and new decor.

My room was on the corner right off 45th, so there was quite a bit of road noise, and the hallways can be a little loud too. I think this is because the hotel is a bit older, so maybe less well insulated. But it was still a very nice stay. This is the only reason it is a 4 and not a 5, kindof loud.

Room Tip: Try staying higher up to get away from the road noise if you are on the side by 45th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryjomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear terryjomo,

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. After reading your review I see that there are a number of areas that met or exceeded your expectations. This truly makes us smile. I wish we were able to capture that fifth star but I guarantee you the next time you stay with us we will leave you no choice but to click that button. I have also passed on your comments to our catering partner. They love to receive positive comments.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I loved how the hotel is an older building so it has that old style feel to it, but the lobby and rooms are updated so they are modern and newer. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you Linda324,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very glad that you found the rooms to be so comfortable. As an older historical building we are always striving to keep the old world charm yet a very modern vibe feel to the hotel. The Art Deco style helps us maintain a welcomed balance and truly amazing experience for our guest.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were originally booked for three nights, but extended our stay to four as we loved the hotel so much. The rooms were clean and immaculate, incredibly comfy beds and great bathroom with power showers. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely, the bar staff were friendly and helpful with recommendations of places to go both locally and around the West Coast. Free high speed wifi which we needed for booking further accommodation in Oregon the next night. I would stay here again no doubt!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Louise R,

After reading the title to your post I am not sure what else to say. I am so excited you had such an amazing visit with us. We love to read reviews like yours and it keeps us motivated to continue to create outstanding experiences for our guests. Hopefully we will see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel was excellent but the experience was maximized by the staff. Everyone we contacted exceeded our expectations.

We were visiting the University of Washington and the hotel is located a very short walk to the campus.

Room Tip: The higher the room the greater the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Mickey K B,

We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to recognize our outstanding team at the hotel. We have an amazing group of people so anytime we learn that we exceeded a guests expectations we are overjoyed.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#71 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing