We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok, Not the Best but could have been worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its ok, Not the Best but could have been worse”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Its ok, Not the Best but could have been worse. I have NEVER spent this much on a hotel in my life, My room was small No exhaust vent in bathroom, Keycard was a pain to get working in elevator....Maybe I just expected to much for what I was spending.... :( However the Staff was great

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonE52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear RonE52024,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that we did not create the experience you were hoping for. I do appreciate your comments about the staff. The team truly is outstanding and loves to treat our guests to the highest level of comfort and care. Also, we are already working on solutions for the two issues you commented on. Hopefully we will correct both of these concerns over the next few months.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    400
    174
    97
    71
See reviews for
281
306
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The reviewer that referred to the Hotel Deca as a "hidden gem" nailed it. The art deco theme of the hotel works. The District Lounge's funkiness, it's in the basement, is a plus. The room views are spectacular. The sites of Seattle are easily accessible from the Hotel Deca by walking, shuttle or bus. The staff is courteous and pleasant. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cascade Mts. on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you Phil M for your review. I love your title “Hidden Gem”. It really made our day to read your review.

We look forward to your next trip to the hotel.

Best Wishes,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Seattle, which is a few times a year. The customer service is exceptional, especially the free shuttle. I'd especially like to compliment Kelsey on their staff, who is a thoughtful and courteous driver and front desk assistant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lululeroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Lulueroux,

WOW!!! We are so excited to learn that you had such an enjoyable time. I did share your comments with Kelsey. She was thrilled. She is an amazing ambassador for the hotel and truly cares about our guest’s experience. She is one of the many reasons I think we have the best hotel in the city.

Thank you again.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There are not too many choices for a hotel in UW area. We have 2 kids at the University of Washington, and staying at Deca allows us to walk to and from their hosing and meet with them easily. University Village is a great outdoor shopping "mall", with restaurants and nice shops. I wish the hotel had a gym. They do offer a pass to a close-by gym. The hotel and the staff offer a personal "touch" and atmosphere. Rooms are nice, art deco look, appropriate for the origin of the building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views. Windows can be opened, great feature, just watch the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubravka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Dubravka M,

We are so excited that you have chosen Hotel Deca to be your home away from home while you visit your kids at the University of Washington. Thank you for your tip to all of our future guests about the great views on our higher floors. They are the best in the entire city. Also, we do have a very small gym located on the “B” level of the hotel. It is not large but it does offer nice equipment for a good workout. The local gym that we have a partnership does offer a more extensive array of equipment and weights for those guests needing a more intense workout.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I loved our view and the location of the hotel. The staff was friendly and I felt comfortable leaving my car parked there overnight. The bed was SUPER comfortable and the pillows were fantastic.
Our breakfast experience was really disappointing. The menu was limited and the service was... friendly but scattered. The food was okay. I did like the thick cut bacon, but the french toast was too sugary.
I don't think I would let the food stop me from staying there again, there's plenty to do and see in the area and the bed... it was so comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views. The view of downtown Seattle and the Space Needle is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zombiemaegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Zombiemaegan,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of our wonderful hotel. I will pass on your comments to our restaurant partner. Although we do not operate the restaurant here at the hotel the owner of the restaurant takes all comments extremely seriously and will make the necessary changes.

I do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had numerous issues w event we were hosting there. Various front desk personnel were not very helpful at best and severely lacking in customer service department at worst. And to finalize it, despite not having checked out and still being onsite and having been told we could check out at noon- room was processed and turned over without consent prior to my desired and agreed upon check out time.

Overall, the worst customer service I have received both in coordinating and event and in participating at an event.

Despite being close to campus and accessible by foot- I would not recommend hotel deca to any of my UW colleagues if they were planning on hosting and event near campus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivsy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Ivsy95,

Thank you for letting me know about the issues that occurred during your visit to the hotel. Clearly there are a number of areas that we fell short so I would love to get a moment to speak with you directly about your experience. This is not the level of service we expect from our team and I assure you we will take the steps to correct the areas that need to be improved.

Please feel free to contact me directly at 206.658.2372 if you would like to discuss your visit in greater detail.

Again, I am truly sorry.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
206.658.2372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stay here alot as it is close to the UW, Fremont/Wallingford area, where my daughter lives. Love the views of the mountain and of Elliott Bay and the Space Needle. Clean and very comfortable beds. Good staff too.

Room Tip: Wonderful hotel in the U District. Great views of the city and the mountain and very comfortable be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Wendee S,

Thank you for taking a few moments out of your day to write such a wonderful review. We are all so happy you had an enjoyable visit to the hotel and found the room to be comfortable. Hopefully we will see you on many more occasions during your visits to Seattle. We would love to become your official home away from home.

Thank you again

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing