We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days for business and I must say this was a great find for the price and is probably one of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in at that price they have a decent bar and restaurant in the basement of the hotel and have a nice size parking lot for you to park in they do charge for parking there but if you try to negotiate they may reduce the rate. The bed was big and nice and comfortable which is always important when traveling for work

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Xavier3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello3Xavier3,

I wanted to thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to the hotel and enjoyed the comfortable bed. I agree that we do have larger rooms than most hotels. As a historic building it is a surprise to many of our guests but it is one of the joys of the hotel.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    401
    175
    99
    71
See reviews for
284
306
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

On our drive from Vancouver, BC to Seattle, WA, we did the typical outlet shop and had dinner at the Olive Garden, and arrived at the Hotel Deca around 9pm. Check in was quick, and the check in clerk was polite but seemed to be preoccupied. The following night, she remembered our room number and was really helpful. The staff was generally highly responsive and helpful. Maybe because the hotel isn't in downtown Seattle, we never had any huge waits at the front desk (good thing!). Our three year old had her own ladybug luggage but was happy to ride on the valet carts (there were 2-3 of these carts and my partner bright our luggage from the car and back out to the car at check out). We didn't notice any staff assisting with luggage, but we were happy to bring in and take out our own luggage. The room was nicely furnished and fairly clean. The chaise had a stain on it and I wasn't convinced that the bathroom had been super well cleaned (found hair on the ceiling when I looked up). It was quiet and the curtains kept the morning light out so we had a great sleep. The following morning, we visited the Seattle zoo (they actually have a shuttle van because its sooooooo close but we opted to take our own car because we could keep extra things in the car as it was drizzling (we are used to the rain (from Vancouver)) so had an extra pair of wellies for our 3 year old)). Here is where personal politics and parenting need to have a conversation ... Animals in captivity (small confined spaces and unnatural conditions, etc are an issue) but we appreciate there is a level of conservation in this process and an opportunity for children to see animals they would not normally see. But been at 3, we were having conversations about why they were fenced in, so we hope to continue taking this through as a family. But as far as zoos go, it was super kid friendly. And there were a lot of animals and been a children's in for play area (perfect during the downpour!). But we were disappointed to find that none of the gift shops were open and the concession stands were pretty limited. We had packed fruit and snacks so we were quite happy with our picnic snacks. We returned to he hotel for hot chocolate, tea, coffee and bagels with cream cheese for a late lunch. For dinner, we headed to the Cheesecake factory and they were super kid friendly. I know that the Olive Garden and the Cheesecake Factory aren't the most adventurous options nor does our choice support those amazing independent restaurants but my partner prefers 'tried-tested-and true' and they had good kid friendly meals. After another night at the hotel Deca, we headed to the ferry for a bit more quiet relaxation! Check out was a breeze and they were really great with providing directions! A big bonus was that this hotel was in walking distance to trader joe's so snacks were easy to obtain. I think the hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel in the making. We are definitely planning to stay here again,and have recommended it to other family members.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear PinkGypsy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the hotel. I am so pleased that so many aspects of your visit were enjoyable. Hopefully we will see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Overall this is a decent hotel and very convenient to the UW and U District. Hotel is nice and higher rooms have good views. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms small but adequate. Closet has no door, just a curtain. Bath amenities are in pump dispensors in the shower and ours didn't function well. Bed very comfortable. You can hear conversations from corridor, but we heard little from other rooms during our 1 night stay. Parking is $19 and the hotel guest lot is full at night so it is hard to find a spot. Tully's in lobby not the best for tea or pastries. Starbucks nearby is better. Key card needed in elevator is tricky to use - repeated tries often necessary. We had prepaid for a sky-view room, floor 7 and up, but were originally given a room on the 5th floor with no explanation by receptionist. When I asked, she said it was a "suite" and actually an upgrade. I told them I wanted the original reservation and after waiting about 10 minutes to check with housekeeping, she gave me a choice of 7th floor or waiting for the 8th floor. A minute later she told us the 8th floor was available and we checked into that room. We were checking in at 4:30 pm. Staff was courteous but not friendly. I would stay here again only if my other choices were booked. Expensive for what you get, especailly with added parking.

Room Tip: "Sky View" rooms, Floors 7 - 16 best to minimize road noise. Corner rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJW789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear BJW789,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. I would love to become your first and only choice when visiting Seattle. We are in the process of making a number of changes and upgrades to the hotel so I am confident we will change your opinion during your next visit to the hotel. I would love that challenge.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is an older building built about 30 years ago....has been renovated, but still needs some work...threadbare in places, but clean, pretty, elegantly furnished and appointed with modern looks. Nice bathrooms but the is a "bulk" shampoo/soap was pain to use. Comfy bed. Room size is adequate. Small TV (with and HD picture!), but that's OK..I didn't stay there to watch TV. The wireless is free but Oh. So. Slow! (1mbs) and a bit dysfunctional (you can upgrade to 5 mbs for ~$10/day). Seems so odd to have slow/dysfunctional WIFI with Microsoft just 5 miles away!!! Guest Service Directory and room service menu was missing from room. They claim to be a boutique hotel...but just barley make the grade. Lots of restaurants all a stones throw in the University District. Many, many public transit options all converge in the area. Front desk staff were perfunctory and not really too interested in helping. They were friendly, though. Overall I enjoyed my stay and likely would go back if the price was lower.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor corner room with a view of downtown Seattle and/or Mt Rainer....these rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Philip F,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you would return in the future. When you come back many changes may have occurred that address some of your concern. Last year we refreshed many aspects of our guest room however as you pointed out there are still a few things left to change. Over the next few months we will be replacing all of the guest room sofas and chairs, replacing the carpet and wallpaper to our hallways on our guest room floors, and renovating our lobby. I think these changes will be fantastic and will create a wonderful experience for our guest.

I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Pros: Front desk staff checking me in was great and was able to check in early as they had rooms available. The photos on the website of the lobby and rooms are an accurate depiction (at least what they show in the photos). Very close and convenient to UW.

Cons: Bathroom was small and there is a "bulk" shampoo/soap dispenser in the shower instead of individual amenities -- I expect this in a YMCA, not a boutique hotel (I get being environmentally friendly but this is a bit much). Sound travels in the hotel from outside, adjacent rooms, hallways, rooms above you and slamming neighboring doors. If you are a light sleeper, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. Even without connecting rooms, the sound really traveled and you could tell when the next room was using their shower, flushed their toilet, had their TV on, were having a discussion, etc. There were stains on the carpet, on the ceiling, and walls. Maid service was a bit shoddy. When checking in, there were several long strands of hair in the bathroom, on the aforementioned shampoo dispenser, and in the sink. Coffee was not replenished from the prior guest. Dust was visible on the armoire and along all of the lower wall/floor moldings in the room. Guest Service Directory and room service menu was missing from room. On the second day, the trash was not emptied from the rubbish can. Had a discounted corporate rate so my room (2nd lowest category) was about $170/nt (don't get me wrong, I know I get what I pay for - low floor, no view, close to street) but I would NOT pay $200+/night (which is the normal prevailing rate) for the rooms here. They claim to be a boutique hotel, but it's really nothing more than a slight notch above the Best Western this place used to be in it's prior life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNL808HNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello FlybyDay415,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that the Front Desk staff exceeded you expectation. We have a wonderful team so it is always fantastic when they get mentioned.

I am also very sorry about the other issues that occurred during your visit. Clearly there are things we need to review with our housekeeping team. Our housekeeping team is just one of the many strengths we have at the hotel so I am confident a quick conversation will do just the trick.

Again, thank you for your review. Hopefully we will see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Front desk staff (and phone staff) were not helpful, friendly or personable. I have never been given so many one word answers before- most being 'No's'. Rooms were clean, and great views. However I won't be back until I hear of staff going through re-training. When I voiced my concerns at check out time, they were not qualified...No apology- I was ignored.
I will always take personality of staff over beauty of rooms every time! Failing grades on value and staff and that means I am very dissatisfied overall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kona123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kona123456,

I am so very sorry that the service did not come close to meeting your expectations? I assure you we strive to treat our guests to the highest level of sincere service and care. We celebrate when we achieve this lofty goal and look hard at what went wrong when we learn we have fallen short. We will look at what occurred and make the necessary changes to ensure it does not occur again. Hopefully you will try us again in the future. I would love to hear your feedback to see how we have improved.

Thank you again,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The rooms are dingy, old & outdated. They said they just remodeled the rooms, but completely substandard. We stayed in the room for less then 3 minutes and left. Attempted to get a refund but were told from the on duty manager that we should have looked at the room first... We were denied our refund and still left. I'll dispute it with the credit card company. Don't stay here! The Bates Motel would be a better option, matter of fact your car would be nicer then this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walls1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Walls1976,

I know we have already communicated in person about your experience but I wanted to reiterate how sorry I am that you did not enjoy the initial impression of the hotel. As we mentioned already, the hotel’s Front Office Manager did credit your account the full amount that was charged to you. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further question.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing