We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay and a great view.”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helen, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a great stay and a great view.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked the Hotel Deca having no expectations. I just wanted something near the U District. Wow was I pleasantly surprised. I did bid and book through Priceline so I got a very good rate. I actually got a room on a very high floor with a fantastic view of Seattle City Center. It is an older property that has been updated. The update was in a sort of art deco, trendy urban style. I was able to park on the street and didn't have to pay the hotel parking fee, but their parking fee is not unreasonable. I walked to dinner on University Way. I don't know what their typical rate is, but I'd would have been okay with $100 a night or maybe a little more.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor with a western view toward downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    411
    184
    104
    76
See reviews for
295
315
127
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was on my back home from a long Business trip and I was re-routed to Seattle to handle some urgent matters. I arrived with barely anything as my bags were sent home. I was only allowed to stay at the Deca for 4 of my six nights due to availability and then had to move to the WATERTOWN, Which was a more modern hotel with certain upgraded amenities. However because of the service and smiles I received by both Tess and Kelsey, From the second I walked in the door I would choose DECA over all other Hotels with a second thought. They did everything from getting me an Early check-in to putting up with all my dumb questions. "And I had a Lot" LOL.
I am telling you, The DECA has two GEMS working for them and they should know it. In closing the lounge was Awesome as well the food was remarkably great and Deb along with Sean were AWESOME! Girls thank you for making my stay "of an unplanned trip" incredible! Sincerely, Chris Monahan.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms while I was there, One was I believe a single so it was just a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan H, Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear Christopher M,

Thank you for your review. I have to agree, an unplanned business trip with no belongings would probably be a little worrisome and stressful, there is no better place to be than Hotel Deca. I am so happy to see the comments you provided regarding the service your received from Tess and Kelsey. I will be sure to pass along your comments for the rest of the team to see.

Regards,
Bryan H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

While there is nothing inherently wrong with the hotel, it is too expensive for what you get. There are plenty of other good options with better value in the area to justify staying here again. Also, the pictures on the website are very misleading, which suggest that there is a rooftop restaurant (there isn't).

Room Tip: Rooms with a single king bed in the corners of each floor are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19NYtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Love the overall design. Next time, I'll have people over for a glass of wine to enjoy the ambiance. Great Room and bathroom. Fantastic eggs! I didn't get upstairs to see the view which was one of the reasons I stayed there - no time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Maybe my expectations were too high, particularly for the bathroom... but I found Hotel Deca not as fancy as the website portrayed it... It certainly wasn't gross or bad by any means. The bed was VERY comfortable. Wonderful views from windows particularly if your room is up high. I was on the 15th floor. The conference rooms were very decent and the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kecia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan H, Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear Kecia W,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to see that you found the bed to be extremely comfortable, and the views pleasant. However, I am terribly sorry to see that the pictures of the hotel set your expectations differently. We do our best to provide the most accurate pictures and information to ensure that guests expectations are always, at minimum met, but hopefully exceeded. I would love the opportunity to speak to you in person regarding the specifics of your stay, please email me at your earliest convenience: bharmon@hoteldeca.com.

Sincerely,
Bryan H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First the good: Room was nice, nothing special, but also nothing outstanding. After the first night, my key didn't work in the elevator so I went to the desk. I was told, nastily, I must have put it near something to deactivate it. I told the young girl behind the desk that the three other people I was traveling with had the same problem and she said all three of us must have done the same thing. After researching the problem was told the room wasn't paid for and we needed to pay the full amount. A hold was placed my account, I understand the why and was told the next morning that the problem was taken care of and the three people in the party would be reimbursed the amount held on my account. At check out, we were told everything was all set. When I returned home, I saw on my account that I was charged the whole amount!! Called the hotel and was told, "I think I can fix the problem, but I don't want to mess it up, you need to call back later!" This was no little issue, it was over a $600 problem that STILL needs to be corrected! Also, if you venture a few blocks away from the hotel, it is very seedy. Not worth what was paid for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Our room at Hotel Deca was very nice, with a comfortable, nicely updated old room with a fabulous view of Mount Ranier. Situated in the university district, it is convenient and a Tully's coffee shop is just off the lobby. But what made this place special to us was the exemplary service. When we calked housekeeping, we were attended promptly and courteously. When we arrived early for check-in, staff were gracious and kept our bags safe until the room was ready. When we did not have a charge cord for our iPad, Kelsey at the desk actually went to her car and have us hers. Unbelievable friendly service. Thank you Deca!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSchmincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,497 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing