We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hostel Seattle
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hostel is one of the best I have stayed in. First and foremost the staff were brilliant and very helpful with things to see and do in the local area. The rooms are comfortable and have plenty of space too. The lockers are also large enough to store a small suitcase or backpack and some other things. I was told about a free shuttle bus from a street near the station however I didn't find this at all, however a normal city bus is only $2.50 and from the major interchange on 3rd/Bell, the hostel is only about a 5 minute walk away. There are plenty of toilets and showers on each floor and I never had to wait to sue them. The kitchen is also very organised and has plenty of space to prepare, cook and eat food. The large fridge and freezer is also a good addition. If you are self catering there are several supermarkets nearby and if not then the street is also full of bars and restaurants. All in all this is a great place to stay in Seattle for a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fish_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel ticks all the right boxes in terms of a modern solid urban hostel. The location in Bell Town is very good, the rooms are fair (if possibly a bit cramped), a free no-frills breakfast is served and the staff are helpful.

The hostel however does excel to the highest level when it comes to showers and other bathroom amenities. The common showers in the hallway provide a raging torrent of water which rains down on you with such force it almost became painful. Excellent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TravelHero85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed it this hostel for about 5 nights in March and was quite happy that I chose to.

The best things about this hostel:

a) Staff. Very friendly and nice (: always a hello and bye when you enter or leave :). Mixed bunch and interesting crowd i.e. aspiring writers, musicians etc. are in there.

b) Each room/dorm has unique theme by a different artist. The name of the artist is hung up in a frame (: with a little write up :) on the door of each room. My room was the Buddha room and was interesting.

c) Centrally located and within walking distance of the waterfront and Pike Place Market (: yeah and the first Starbucks shop :)

d) Guitars and books available for guests to use in the public areas.

e) Theater room and a game room in the basement.

f) Daily room cleaning.

Apart from this, the rooms and beds themselves were okay and quite comfortable although I would like more heating. My room had an ensuite bath that was fine. The washbasin that was inside the room itself could have been bigger. Lockers available.

All in all really good for a hostel. Highly recommended if you're looking for a hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshapaulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Staff was nice and helpful, price was affordable, rooms were clean and the location really, really good. We never needed a bus or train to go anywhere. If I cone back to Seattle, I definitely know where to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpetkowitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very clean hostel with great social vibe, super friendly staff and blazing fast internet. Good location about 10 or 15 minutes walk from the Space Needle as well. I do have to admit that the funky paintings on the wall of the rooms did weird me out a little sometimes when I'd wake up in the middle of the night but overall a wonderful place to stay at.

I did find it a bit strange that staff told me there was a maximum stay of five nights as they were a traveller's hostel though I did end up moving to Green Tortoise Seattle which is just as good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Such a comfortable environment.
The necessities and the more luxury things you need whilst travelling are provided to a high level of quality or of low cost (when quality isn't an issue, eg washing).
Two Aussie thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneywebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is such an awesome hostel.

The staff are super friendly and are very happy to help in anyway they can!

Its in a great location to downtown seattle and very close to all public transport as well.

The dorm rooms are lovely and painted by artists which gives it a real good feel and that its something different.

Brekkie and wifi is included, which is always good when staying and travelling.

The hostel is clean, friendly but it would be nice if it 1. served brekkie earlier than 8am (for us early risers) and 2. if there was more hostel activities on offer (I was there for 5 days and only seen 2 advertised)....just helps if like me you travel alone!

Cant fault it really

Great Staff!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenbolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#44 of 104 in Seattle
1,975 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,755 reviews
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Address: 2327 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1782
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Seattle
Price Range: £50 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing