We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I have stayed at most of the hotels in the vicinity - Paramount, Hotel Max, Mayflower. Hyatt is a little more expensive but it was worth it. I bought the advance purchase rate which made this affordable for me.

Really liked the newness of the building. The pool and spa is awesome. Great location for shopping in downtown Seattle. Also Whole Foods was about 7 blocks away so easy to pick up food if you are on a strict diet and can't fine dine.... can't comment on the restaurants, as I didn't eat at them.

You can't open the windows in the room but this made the room extremely quiet when sleeping and the ventilation was good. Normally I can't stand it when I can't open the window but I felt fine with the air quality. Good mattresses. Have a great sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC5NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    649
    132
    31
    13
See reviews for
428
650
137
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
185 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is a fantastic hotel. It looks like it was built yesterday. Good size room with outstanding amenities. The room was perfect. Friendly service at front desk and the main floor restaurant. Large size pool and jacuzzi. Located right in the heart of Seattle walking distance to most areas. Book this property with confidence.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights in June 2011 and I loved this hotel. It has the best pool/ health club I have ever seen, which made me love it so much (the pool is huge and the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi etc. are awesome). The room is decorated in a modern/minimalist style, but it is nothing extraordinary. I actually did not like the frosted glass bathroom door because it did not isolate the noise at all (my 2-year old daughter would wake up every time I used the bathroom and every time i opened and closed the door) so I consider it the major defect of the room. I also noticed dust and a nut under the nightstand a few minutes after we entered the room the first time, although they would clean the room quite well every day. The marble shower is really nice, despite the environmentally friendly feature (lower water pressure than normal). The room was really quiet, which was critical for me to have a good night sleep. We booked a couple of tours through the concierge and he was very helpful but slow. Overall, I found all the other services at the hotel (room service, taxi service, bell-man) to be impeccable. Any request you make by phone is immediately solved. We had a lovely stay overall and I would definitely stay here again next time I am in Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover77_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We recently stayed here for a brief vacation before a work-related conference. Overall, this is an excellent hotel. The room was well appointed and very clean. (One thing we did notice off the bat is that the rooms seem a tad bit narrow - but they're pretty long, so that makes up for it.) The bathroom is nice, but there was only a stand-up shower. Still, plenty of room. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping service was great. And, the hotel gym is the BEST I've ever seen at a hotel.

One downside is that they charge for internet access. The concierge was helpful but there is not really a business center.

The location is good - walkable to Pike Place Market and shopping, and not too far from other attractions.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousjayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We are a family of three traveling to Seattle last summer for a couple of days prior to our cruise to Alaska. This is probably one of most favorite place we've ever visited. Seattle is a wonderful city with so much diversity. We choose this hotel based on the location and that was a "green hotel". First, the room was large, clean and the view was a really nice city view. We ate the hotel restaurant the first night as we were pretty jet lagged coming from South Florida. The food was ok, and pricey. We are simple eaters and it was just a bit too fancy for us, but the ambience was very nice. We found a Cheesecake Factory around the corner which was more our style, especially with a pickey eater of a teenager. There is a great place for breakfast around the corner as well, in an Asian restuarant that serves sushi..I can't remember the name of it but it was really good food for breakfast and reasonable price. The server there was wonderful. Pikes Market was a few minutes walk and we took public transportation to visit the Space Needle. We purchased a pair of expensive (Mount St. Helen) earrings and by accident I left it in the hotel room after we checked out going to our cruise.

Mid week through the cruise, I realized what happened and from Alaska, I called the hotel and put a lost and found request in. I didn't think I would ever hear back. But I did. The earrings were found and they mailed it back and I received them about ten days later.

It's wonderful to know that honesty still remains especially coming from a large chain hotel. This hotel had plenty of amenities, but we didn't have much time to use them, but their guest services and room service people are honest and that alone is a great reason to stay here. This is a beautiful hotel. We would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. We had a city view room although to be honest the view itself was nothing to write home about but we were high up and it was quiet so we were quite happy.

The room itself was lovely, nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. Other reviewers were right about the shower pressure but that was no big deal.

The staff here were all very helpful and friendly.

Downtown Seattle isn't huge so any hotel in 'downtown' isn't far from the action and the Hyatt was no exception.

If we were back in Seattle we would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I was pleasantly surprised to find a modern and comfortable room with a microwave and refrigerator, sliding glass doors to the bathroom and closet, and a little bench where I could sit and put on my shoes.

The front desk and concierge staff were excellent; friendly, accommodating, and prompt. I did not get to use the pool or exercise room--probably the highlight of this hotel, from what another guest mentioned. Next time, I'll be better prepared to check it out and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n4mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number: +1 888-882-1234
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing