We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new, but lousy sound proofing”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SF
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Nice, new, but lousy sound proofing”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nice hotel by Hyatt trying to be a W and the property is well laid out. My feedback is as follows:

Pros:

New, Spacious rooms, good hotel food, nice spa and pool. Big bathrooms and well appointed with solid wireless along with enough electrical outlets to do business.

Cons:
Lousy sound proofing. You hear all the doors around your room opening and slamming shut. You can hear conversations in the hallways as if your door was open. I stayed here on a Sunday night and the hotel is not packed so I can only imagine if it were packed. Also between the walls it is not very sound proofed either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
467
678
143
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights in March 2012. Hotel perfectly located in the centre of Seattle, close to everything. Very friendly staff. Nice room. Could be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnusgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Highlghts include LEED certified hotel, fabulous salt water pool ang gym, fantastic spa, best coffee in the lobby and beatiful modern hotel. I ate at Urbane wqhich was wonderful but expensive. I had a corner king room, big windows. The only bad thing was the low low water pressure in the room - took forever to shower. I'm not sure if this was the super saver shower head or being on the 10th floor.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKat_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givat Ela
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel during the last week. The room is excellent, spacious, modern, very clean.
They also have a big pool for swimming, Jacuzzi, both with salt water. a humid and dry sauna.
a very modern gym. very friendly staff. in a few words this hotel has great facilities for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel March 5-9, 2012 on business - I was attending a conference at the convention centre which was less than a 5 min walk away. The location was very good. The fridge in the room was handy.
The service was great, the rooms modern, large and kept clean, the gym was well equipped but often the water cooler was empty.
The wireless internet could have been a bit faster.

The walls are thin and you can hear loud talking in adjacent rooms.
The water pressure was so weak it took forever to shower (and get soap off your skin). I understand water conservation but I would normally take 5 min to shower, not 20. I think you end up using more water with these systems in the end.
These were really the only main annoyances.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors have better water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djjbtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I just returned from Seattle and three nights at Hyatt Olive 8. The staff couldn't have been nicer, especially the valets who helped me deal with a ridiculous situation with my rental car. My hotel room, although on the smaller side, was very comfortable. Ate breakfast at Urbane, the hotel restaurant, and the food was fine.

I do find it aggravating to pay for WIFI - although it's probably consistent with area hotels, I've stayed at enough places recently that didn't charge, though, that now when it happens I'm surprised. It's a small thing, but still annoying.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkcitycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed 4 nights in a suite. Fantastic room with great views. Large bath with deep tub and separate shower. Really liked the 24hr fitness room. Pool was nice and usually empty. Right off Pike so tons of options for food and shopping. Good internet speeds. Quick walk to the Market. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeroroGunso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
3,014 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing