We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice in Downtown Seattle”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Choice in Downtown Seattle”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great location in downtown Seattle. You can pretty much walk anywhere from here. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. You cannot go wrong by staying here. This is by no means a top-of-the-line hotel but maybe one step down. Still the rooms are very clean, uncluttered, modern -- very nice. Nice pool and fitness room. For the price, it seems to be a very good choice in downtown Seattle. We stayed here the night before a cruise departure and it was a great spot to get some last minute work done, buy a few last minute items, etc. before our departure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    674
    143
    35
    14
See reviews for
458
667
141
812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fensterbattersea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have nothing really but good comments about staying at the Hyatt...and would recommend

I am taking the time to write a comment to advise guests not to bother with the aiport shuttle. We booked it through the hotel. A 20 mininute journey ride took over an hour and the driver was soooo slow. It was 6 am in the morning so there was no traffic, I would of valued the lie in instead or arriving to the hotel with more time rather than an unplanned driving tour of seattle. It was also very expensive and I think it would of worked out 5 dollars more for a taxi (taxi rank visible from outside hotel).

Only other thing to note is that I wonder why it is possible for guests/customers to have free wifi when using coffee shops or fast food restaurants but not possible to have free wifi in your hotel room? I have decided from now on to only use hotels which offer free wifi as I think it should be included in room cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fensterbattersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I used my free reward night from my Hyatt Visa for this hotel. I was trying to decide whether to stay here or right next to it at the Grand Hyatt. The Grand has a Club Room which is always great for snacks and drinks, but we went with the Olive 8 because it had an indoor swimming pool. We checked in a little late and headed straight to dinner at The Cheesecake Factory right next to the hotel. Many places walking distance to the hotel - very convenient. We even walked to Pike Place Market with the kids. We only spent one night at the hotel, and it was very clean and modern - what I expected from looking at the pictures. We opted to self-park at the Grand Hyatt and walk over saving us $11 in parking. Good savings for half a block of walking. The check-in was quick and friendly. There were green apples for guests to enjoy. The room was nice and surprisingly large. We took the kids to the pool, which was open until 10. It's not a family friendly pool - more geared toward the lap swimmer. The gym and shower area was very nice - spa-like. It was nice to workout to a city view. There were early morning classes at the gym, but I didn't know about them so I missed the yoga class. We only spent one night in downtown Seattle. Because we checked in rather late and didn't spend much time at the hotel or use their services, I can't really give a full overview of the hotel, but all in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jek134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hyatt Olive 8
June 29-30, 2013

We enjoyed the modern design. It prides itself as a "green" hotel. A classy hotel. Good bed. Good breakfast and other meal can be eaten in the restaurant on main floor. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance. As an upper end hotel the cost is also upper ended.

We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baysinj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Chose to stay at this property because of it's location, nearby Capitol Hill whilst also being close to the city. There is no self parking so you have to pay around $40+ including tax and tips what a joke. I know you can park across the road and other places, but i want the security of parking on property. Sadly not here. The room was modern however the housekeeping had alot to be desired. They consistently on two cleanings did not replace ANY of the toiletries, the first day I left empty bottles in the bin. They weren't replaced. The second day, I had to call reception to get toiletries and finished these left them CLEARLY on the makeup table, they took them away and again NEVER REPLACED them. I would have expected so much more for a Hyatt property NEVER EVER again, this place is a joke. The gym and pool were overrun by kids. I think there are residences here or just lots of kids everywhere. It's horrible. I have a choice when I travel and as a Gold Passport Member and regular traveller, this is definitely off the list. Don't ruin your holiday and choose somewhere else - the Hilton or Homewood Suites nearby are probably good choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review; your comfort and happiness is our number one priority here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was anything less than perfect. We have staff available 24-hours a day to assist with the type of issues that you encountered; please let us know next time as our goal is always to exceed your expectations. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we always appreciate any feedback that will help us grow and improve. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I liked the design of the rooms and their bathroom door. It was clean and decent . The hotel staff were friendly. Location was awesome. the most important is it was new not an outdated hotel. The price was a bit over the range. Not too much noise which was important for us. Will visit again if find it more reasonable in price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Typical Hyatt- nice, clean, very comfortable rooms. Also, great location - just 7 short blocks to Pike Market and 3 blocks from the airport train. This one however, did not have a doorman and it showed. Anyone could walk in. We stayed over a weekend and were awakened at 4am to noise in the hallway. My husband walked into the hallway and saw 2 sketchy individuals "doing the deed" in the adjacent hallway. Clearly, they had been out partying and did not have a room in the hotel. Or, they were crashing with a friend and couldn't get into the room. Does it matter?

We didn't tell the hotel because they were sketchy characters and didn't want to start any trouble this far from home. So, it's not the hotel's fault because they didn't know, but I'm sure if could have been prevented either by requiring a room key for the elevator or having a doorman. After the weekend, we didn't have any other disturbances.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,621 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing