We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not again...”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Have stayed at Olive 8 a couple of different times. It's a nice hotel with one particular thing that drives me crazy. While they pride themselves on being a L.E.D. certified hotel, the showers are terrible! To begin with the shower has no door which by itself is not a bad thing, what I find to be the problem is the water flow is so little (geared toward conserving water) that I freeze because there is not enough water to keep but only about 1/3 of my body in water. I get wet then 2/3rd's of my body is out of contact with the water and there is no door in which to trap the heat so I have to crank up the heat in the entire room (wasting energy) just to attempt to be comfortable in the short time I'm in the shower. Having been in different rooms it is a basic problem with which I have no sensible solution to offer but it's significant enough we won't be staying there again. Other than freezing in the shower, it's a nice hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Good hotel, well located. But pricey. Well, Seattle is expensive. Close to restaurants, movie theatres, cafés and Westlake Station - which is very good if you are taking the metro from the airport. Walking distance to the Pike Place Market.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Family getaway over the weekend to celebrate wife's birthday. Close to lots of shopping and the tourist areas such as Pike Market. Comfortable and clean rooms and friendly service. Daughters loved the indoor pool on the second floor. There was free wireless internet on the main lobby area and a computer to print boarding passes (for free). The valet parking was expensive, so we parked across the street in a parking lot ($27 per 24 hours weekday, $20 for weekends). Sunday parking is free on the streets. Restaurant downstairs (Urban) had good food and reasonably priced. Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunkmanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We are a family of four that stayed mid October 2013 for three nights in a premier room with two queen beds. We can hardly find words to describe how happy we are with our stay. The staff made us feel very welcome, our little one received an amenities package, the room was huge and our in room dining experience was excellent.

The hotel has a relaxed ambience and from the very minute we stepped into the lobby we were greeted with smiles and Kayliee at the front desk made sure that all our needs were met. The concierge had arranged for SUV pickup at the airport which made our arrival in Seattle a fuss free experience.

We highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for great service and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koalamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Olive for one night only and when next in Seattle will defiantly be back to this hotel. Great staff ….had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant and the pool and gym are fantastic….location is good and the only thing letting the hotel down was the room needed a touch up with paint and lampshades…bed was very comfortable and lovely sheets and pillows …great size room and bathroom ….we stayed in a deluxe king and would recommend this hotel when staying in Seattle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfoundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we had a beautiful room; the hotel staff was very helpful. the apples at the front desk were delicious. great value. perfect location, comfort. The concierge suggested a 2 hour tour that we really enjoyed - they took us around all the different hills of Seattle; then we went out to see the locks for the boats and that's the same place where you might see the fish jump. it was too late in the year, so we didn't get to see that, but now we have an idea of what all that is about. very interesting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's so great that our central downtown location makes it easy for our guests to explore so many of the fun places Seattle has to offer. Our main goal is to make sure we are providing genuine hospitality and making our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. It's wonderful that this was your experience and we would love to have you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here just for one night, but expected much much more... upon arrival (12 noon) was told that my room (luxury king suite, requested via suite upgrade award as Hyatt Diamond) is not ready and that guest could be in the room until 4pm... As we were in city just for this afternoon we decided that we wont wait and requested another room which was provided, but it was just ordinary corner king room on 6th floor.... the worst experience, however, was very poor condition of the bed mattress, as bed was very soft, and mattress felt like very worn, with very clearly noticeable "holes" on both sides of the bed... as I am prone to back-pain, this was not the best experience for me, and I would advise hotel that mattresses should be replaced from time to time... They tried to help with putting bed board under the mattress, but this made only minor difference… But I can commend staff for at least trying to solve the problem. Also, used the pool on second floor during hour (6-7pm) devoted to fitness lap swimming,... only to find out that there are children in the pool, jumping in and out, and no one was there to implement their own rules... why have rules is no one is respecting them?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,174 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £138 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing