We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, lovely stay in governor's suite”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Comfortable, lovely stay in governor's suite”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I booked the lowest category room at Hyatt at Olive 8 and were upgraded at time of booking to a luxury king suite by Gold Passport and the front desk manager (I had a Hyatt customer relations upgrade available to use on this stay). When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised to be notified that we had been further upgraded into the governor's suite (room 1767). The suite is laid out very comfortably - Nespresso Citiz in the kitchen, gas fireplace in the living room, two bathrooms, in-mirror GV & Bose ceiling speakers in master bath, and (the best perk of all!) an iMac in the office of the suite. Housekeeping was thorough throughout our three night stay at Olive 8, and we had all our requests for toiletries/amenities fulfilled in 15 minutes or less.

Hyatt Diamond members have breakfast/brunch in the hotel restaurant off the lobby on the first floor, and we had $26.50/person breakfast credit applied every day (tax and 20% gratuity also covered).

The location is ideal for a touristy stay in Seattle - it's about a 15 minute walk to Pike's Place, Seattle Symphony, Fine Arts Museum, and shopping was very accessible in the surrounding blocks. Would certainly recommend to friends & family!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostongal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
468
680
143
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel has the potential to be a good hotel. If they can listen to what their customers are saying, and respond accordingly they would be better served, as in any business.
For instance, we ordered three courses from room service at 11:30 pm with two drinks. We received two courses and one set of silverware.
We were told repeatedly our room would have floor to ceiling windows - it does not, but it does have wall to wall windows.
We were told our room would be on the top three floors - it was on the fourth, even though I called the day of to confirm. The front desk made several errors in regard to our reservation, but we did receive an apology. Perhaps I was not well heard with the very loud music in the background that I could hear when I called to speak to the frank desk.
The rooms are definitely tailored to the business man, without femininity or conveniences for plugs in appropriate places or trays for jewelry in the smaller bathrooms. The lotion smelled like men's cologne. A small coffee in the lobby in the morning cost about $5 with a tip.
Great thing about the hotel - the fitness center and the yoga! Saturday morning yoga was beautiful, and it was the best thing about the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect a guaranteed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlYogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a great stay the Hyatt Olive 8. I thought the location was perfect. We took the light rail from the airport and the Hyatt is only a few blocks from the station. We walked everywhere from the hotel, it's close to the Public Market and the Space Needle/EMP Museum. It was a bit of a hike to those places but personally I enjoyed all the walking because we were eating so much while we were there.
The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are very comfortable, with plenty of space and designed well. I thought the bed was very comfortable. I loved the "Hyatt Has It" feature. If you forgot anything they will send it up to you no charge to use while you are there. Our room was very quiet and we didn't experience any of the noise issues mentioned in other reviews. We were on the top floor so maybe that made a difference.
The pool area was very nice and the locker room was spotless. After walking around all day in the cold air, soaking in the hot tub and steam room was a perfect way to end the afternoon.
We celebrated our anniversary while in Seattle and Victoria sent us a nice bottle of champagne to our room. Very nice. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. I can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Olive 8 a couple of different times. It's a nice hotel with one particular thing that drives me crazy. While they pride themselves on being a L.E.D. certified hotel, the showers are terrible! To begin with the shower has no door which by itself is not a bad thing, what I find to be the problem is the water flow is so little (geared toward conserving water) that I freeze because there is not enough water to keep but only about 1/3 of my body in water. I get wet then 2/3rd's of my body is out of contact with the water and there is no door in which to trap the heat so I have to crank up the heat in the entire room (wasting energy) just to attempt to be comfortable in the short time I'm in the shower. Having been in different rooms it is a basic problem with which I have no sensible solution to offer but it's significant enough we won't be staying there again. Other than freezing in the shower, it's a nice hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Good hotel, well located. But pricey. Well, Seattle is expensive. Close to restaurants, movie theatres, cafés and Westlake Station - which is very good if you are taking the metro from the airport. Walking distance to the Pike Place Market.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Family getaway over the weekend to celebrate wife's birthday. Close to lots of shopping and the tourist areas such as Pike Market. Comfortable and clean rooms and friendly service. Daughters loved the indoor pool on the second floor. There was free wireless internet on the main lobby area and a computer to print boarding passes (for free). The valet parking was expensive, so we parked across the street in a parking lot ($27 per 24 hours weekday, $20 for weekends). Sunday parking is free on the streets. Restaurant downstairs (Urban) had good food and reasonably priced. Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunkmanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We are a family of four that stayed mid October 2013 for three nights in a premier room with two queen beds. We can hardly find words to describe how happy we are with our stay. The staff made us feel very welcome, our little one received an amenities package, the room was huge and our in room dining experience was excellent.

The hotel has a relaxed ambience and from the very minute we stepped into the lobby we were greeted with smiles and Kayliee at the front desk made sure that all our needs were met. The concierge had arranged for SUV pickup at the airport which made our arrival in Seattle a fuss free experience.

We highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for great service and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koalamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,035 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing