We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #8 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. The staff was friendly. The room was very large and spacious. The appointments were very unique. The hotel amenities were above-par, something I like about the Hyatt chain. The fitness room was very well equipped with cardio and weight machines, along with free weights and benches. The hotel itself is situated downtown, a quick walk from Pacific Place mall and a number of Seattle attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here once again, for a quick weekend getaway to go shopping for my partners birthday... Got upgraded to the Luxury King room as a Hyatt Diamond GP member.

Everything at this hotel remains amazing, breakfast remains the best in the north american Hyatts I have stayed thus far. All the facilities are worth checking out, especially the spa and pool. Can't beat the location as well, easy access to Westlake if you want to take the train. Hertz is a block down at the GH if you need to rent a car, which is extremely convenient.

Happy hour is a must at Urbane as well. Will hopefully be back soon, Seattle remains a top weekend destination for me because of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKYEG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Friendly, efficient staff greeted me upon my late arrival to the city. Was upgraded to a gorgeous suite with a decent city view. Did not spend much time at the hotel itself, unfortunately, but what I saw of it was very clean, well-maintained, and attractive. Cannot comment on parking since I didn't have a car...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likes_to_go_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great hotel. Worst staff

Let me explain:
It was our first time staying here at this Hyatt. I have stayed at multiple Hyatts and have always had a great time. To kick start the unpleasant evening there is no parking. Valet only. If you want to park you will have to pay by the hour in neighboring lots. When we got to the hotel they mixed up our room. They placed us in a regular room when we booked a suite. Not a problem that can't be fixed. What upset me was the fact that when we told them there was a mistake they automatically assumed that we booked our room on expedia. When in fact, we booked it directly from the hotel. To compensate us for the mistake they offered a free breakfast. The suite was great. Clean. Big.

It all went downhill from there. Please be sure you ask about their hotel policy beforehand. We had the suite on New Year's Eve. A place where our friends could meet up, put things down and head out for a great new year celebration in downtown Seattle. Not too far from the space needle. They decided to inform us at the time of check in that only four people were allowed in a room. Chalking it up to the fire code. What didn't make sense is that we ordered a suite knowing that we would have a large party rendezvous before heading out. If it was based on the fire code it should have depended on the square footage, which we definitely had enough of.

We tried to explain our situation to the guards at the elevators (Yes, 6 Seattle police) and the staff at the front desk. Mr. Whelan was the one who we spoke to who worked at the Hyatt. I did not feel like he even tried to help. We were so upset that we decided to cancel our reservation and asked for our money back. Mr. Whelan agreed to refund the money, but gave us 30 mins to clean up our stuff and get out of the room. We asked for 1 hr since there was a lot of packing to do (getting ready to go into the new year a dresses up and fancy). Mr. Whelan's response was, " I could just charge you for the room. 30 mins is all I can allow for" this was at 11pm.

Not only did they ruin our New Year's Eve by the lack of communicating the changes in their policy before check in, they staff was rude and were not there to help. It seemed like they wanted us to leave.

I am very disappointed that a highly regarded hotel would treat their customers so poorly. I know I will never stay here again.

Please be careful and really think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Nella180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review; your comfort and happiness is our number one priority here at the Hyatt at Olive 8. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was anything less than perfect, our goal is always to exceed your expectations. As an esteemed hotel of quality it is a prerequisite that the safety and comfort of our guests is a primary concern. Olive 8 hotel confirmations include the information regarding occupancy restrictions for our rooms. In addition, we too would prefer less security presence in our hotel but have the duty to maintain fire codes and safety standards; unfortunately, New Years Eve has become an event where these extra measures are required. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at the Olive 8 twice in Seattle earlier this year for business. This is a silly thing, but I have never liked pears. I've always thought of it as my least favorite fruit. Open check-in, the hotel had a bowl of pears at the registration desk. Yummy! Needless to say I'm now a pear fan. This hotel was top notch. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. Close to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We found this hotel on Priceline express deals,
We just needed a place for one night, nice hotel, great location and a friendly staff.
Easy walk to Pikes Market and other downtown locations.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Fabulous stay, fabulous location and lovely staff. The hotel on the corner has a sushi happy hour which we really enjoyed and breakfast downstairs was lovely. No guest laundry which was a little disappointing

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 105 in Seattle
3,295 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 105 in Seattle
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,768 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 105 in Seattle
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £135 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing