We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Gem in a Great City”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Small Gem in a Great City”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Olive 8 is the younger sibling to the Grand Hyatt a block away in downtown Seattle and a much better value. The staff is attentive and competent, the restaurant and bar serve a varied cuisine at reasonable prices, and the fitness center is one of the best I've ever visited. The rooms themselves are large and comfortable and for the most part quiet. The hotel is also very well located, just a block from the convention center and a ten minute walk from the Public Market. This was my first visit to Seattle and I felt fortunate to have lucked onto the Olive 8.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMilo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    690
    147
    36
    14
See reviews for
476
688
144
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

In the midst of a high intensity business trip, we arrived at the Hyatt Olive 8 in Seattle, pretty late – after 9 pm. Check-in was marvelous; efficient, warm. The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the city’s commercial district, walkable just about anywhere (unless it’s pouring rain; that’s a Seattle thing!). I liked it.

One oddity: The restaurant. On that first night, exhausted, I opted for room service. The hotel is on a green kick, which I applaud. But the restaurant took the green “movement” to ridiculous levels. As such, there’s no room service menu in the Hyatt book. You can access a menu online, ostensibly. But: Even though the restaurant serves until almost midnight – which is frankly fantastic by the way – the website cuts out well before then. Certainly before I made an effort to order.

A request for a menu seemed to fall on deaf ears. Finally I just had a guy read me the menu but that’s just…not efficient or effective.

The food was good, once it was delivered, but feeling stressed to begin with, not to mention tired, the process was ridiculous.

There were a lot of little irritations (the mini-bar was broken, another mini-fridge was delivered when I wasn’t there, and I didn’t discover it until I opened the curtains, the outlets on the desk didn’t work, etc.) Needs fixing, and seriously, this is the kind of stuff that should be checked out before guests check in.

Last trip I stayed at Hotel 1000 and loved it; Hyatt at Olive 8 has a lot of potential. It does need to step up its game, just a bit.

Green Features: It makes a big deal about its environmental commitment but takes short cuts (such as the room service menu) that take away from the overall experience.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What sets this place apart is the staff. From the valet to the conceirge to the front desk professionals. Their easy demeanor and helpful courtesies were most welcomed to my family and me. The hotel itself is well appointed, clean and green, with restaurant services within and a workout room to burn it off. Location is 10+! Leave the car in the garage. Everything is within walking. The only negative (and its not on the hotel) is the local, municipal, state, tourism taxes. Nearly 20%. Plan ahead.

Room Tip: Corner adjoining rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CG119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Checking in was easy. Green apples at the front counter were delish! The pool was crowded with adults and children. I guess that's expected since it's always raining in Seattle. The location is really close to everything, walking distance to Pike, The Library, Knee High Stocking, Curious Pie, the Needle, and etc ... The only negative is that we can hear our neighbor whispering through the walls.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linhy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I've been here 3 years in a row for a big charity ball. 350 guests and the service is pretty much flawless every time. The food is exceptional for a catered event which is a good sign that the kitchen knows what they're doing.
It's a beautiful and well maintained space, centrally located but still quiet enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank o p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Boutique atmosphere, big hotel amenities, and one of the best staffs anywhere! The Urbane restaurant and bar have excellent food an drink. Pulling heavily from local sources. Great charcuterie, wines, and main dishes.
The rooms are clean and well designed and very Eco friendly. Your key shuts off the power in room as you leave.
The concierge is very helpful and keeps up on the latest trends in Seattle food and nightlife. He gave us some recommendations that were fantastic. Blue acre, Tulio's, Pair, and Franks Oyster Bar are all places I'll visit again.
The coffee bar/ market has the friendliest most helpful baristas. Everyone at Olive 8 is very knowledgeable about Seattle's attractions, restaurants, shopping and bars and take pleasure in giving you their opinion.
This hotel is always a pleasure!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at the Olive 8 last week. I stayed on business, but I definitely would stay for any occasion. The hotel is great with many amenities (pool, gym, spa). The restaurant was fantastic I ate there two of my six days.

The staff is so helpful and it is a green hotel. It is very close to the convention center and the layout of the rooms was great. I like to make the room mine when I stay and so I move things around. The staff cleaned but they respected where I had placed things. That hasn't happened in years! I love this hotel.

Room Tip: I like to be up high so I can look down on the city and that's just what I got. Ask for what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,075 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing