We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I did a fair amount of research on Seattle hotels before booking and the consistently good reviews along with the Tripadvisor photos helped me decide on the Olive 8. I was not disappointed. I was traveling as a single mom with Middle School children and this was a great hotel for us. I loved the decor, the cleanliness and the amenities. The pool and gym were very nice. I liked that it was a "green" hotel as it evoked discussions with my kids. We were able to walk almost everywhere which was so helpful. The staff working the concierge desk were excellent.

Room Tip: High floors have the best view obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. We love that we can offer great amenities like the heated saline lap pool that creates activities for the whole family. How wonderful that your children are interested in the "Green" aspect of our property! We hope they enjoyed all the neat and innovative ways we accomplish that such as conserving energy with our key-card-activated lights in the room. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    650
    132
    31
    13
See reviews for
429
650
137
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

great hotel. central location. excellent gym. all you need in a hotel. delivers what you need, a higher end Best Western with all the trimmings. Nothing particularly memorable but worth checking out if the deal is right.

Room Tip: Only if the deal is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were in Seattle with our 20 year old son and needed a hotel with 2 queen beds. Hyatt at Olive 8 was the perfect solution. We had a premium room with tons of space and a modern atmosphere. Valet parking was a bit expensive but that is to be expected in the large city. The location was great! Easy access to the freeways and a nice walk to the Pikes Market area. We had brunch at Urbane, the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. The bar was slow that morning and we had to wait extremely long for our first round of drinks, but after that the bottomless mimosa kept flowing. Everything about this hotel was clean, modern and well staffed. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Seattle.

Room Tip: Go for the premium room, it is about twice the size of a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that we could fit your room requirements and help you have a comfortable stay with us. It's wonderful that you got a chance to try out Urbane along with the bottomless mimosa option at brunch; such a "bubbly" way to start the day while on vacation! Our main goal is always to connect with our guests and provide them with genuine hospitality, it's wonderful that this was your experience. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights, and generally enjoyed our stay. The room was good, with a nice view (albeit for an extra $10 per night). The staff were all friendly and helpful, and we particularly liked the bartender who, after only one order, remembered what we liked and was ready to mix them up upon a wave of a hand. Breakfast from the coffee spot was consistently good. Our only real complaint is that repeated telephone requests to the front desk - for the paper that was supposed to have been delivered, for a printed room service menu, since our cyber one wasn't working - resulted in repeated promises that "it's on its way", but the items never arrived. We'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WickedPissah46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I like hotels that try to do something different and change the traditional concept. Olive 8 delivers what you would expect from this hotel level (customer service, nice gym, clean rooms), but on top of that is housed in a modern LEED building and has a great farm-to-table restaurant. Room service menu really stands out - it changes regularly to offer seasonal dishes, fresh fish and local farm produce. Definitely my go to hotel in Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom101cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We love that Hyatt Olive 8 offers a unique environment that embraces the local culture as well as striving to be a leader in the "Green" community. We work hard to provide fresh, local dishes that show our guests what Seattle is all about. We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Seattle is always a pricey place to stay but if you can snag a deal at Olive 8 it's worth staying in. The room was modern and clean. The location is perfect for walking everywhere. You can self park a block away and save yourself enough for another great meal downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stay here at least once a year and have since the hotel opened. It's interesting to me to see how new properties mature and how the staff changes in attitude over time. Both are surrogate markers for leadership in my opinion. Well, the news is good for this property. Staff attitude and service has improved over last year. Beginning with the valets through the check-in staff and bell staff, we were greeted warmly and helpfully. At busier times, there is a staff member stationed in the lobby to direct guests to staff members who will handle processes most efficiently. This really works.

The property continues to be well maintained, both in public areas and in the rooms themselves. This was an improvement over our last visit when there was some noticeable deterioration in maintenance. The towels don't seem to have the nap they once seemed to have had but I'm now convinced that this is a style issue rather than an age issue. Our room was clean, the bathroom was well-lit, beautifully designed and functional and from many prior stays I can attest to the same being true for all rooms and suites. There is a new chef at the hotel's Urbane restaurant. The service there continues to be first class and in my opinion the menu is better than in the past.

This property is not cheap but given the location, the service and quality, the price is competitive for the area. We'll return.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. Northeast-facing rooms can have a glimpse of Lake Union.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are serious about environmental issues. Recycling, automatic thermostat setbacks, key-controlled power saving and other energy-saving techniques abound. None affect guests' enjoyment, however.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We always appreciate feedback especially coming from guests that stay with us on a regular basis. It is wonderful to hear that we are continuing to improve and and aim to make that the standing expectation for our service, amenities, and accomodations. We love that we can offer local food at Urbane and always strive to have an exciting and fresh menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number: +1 888-882-1234
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing