We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt At Olive 8 the week for June 22, 2014. The weather was great most of the time, when the local newscasters say it is going to rain, it is usually a light mist. I was told by the locals, when the news say a storm or "expect a down-pour," then it is enough rain to break out the umbrellas. I travelled with my wife and 10 year old daughter.

Our room was a corner room with a long hallway and window views from two sides of the room. The major advantage is the view and the long distance between the bed and the front door, which makes it more quiet (you don't hear your neighbors going in and out, and slamming the doors). The room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very attentive. We asked the cleaning staff for one extra towel and we received an extra bath towel every day of our stay.

We used the pool and gym everyday (I ate well the entire time). The pool area is clean and an employee checks on the towel supply often. The gym has various cardio machines, weight machines, as well as free weights, and a yoga/mat room.

**There is a water cooler in the gym...hint-hint...refill your bottles here.

The bottom floor has a restaurant (Urbane) and deli counter (Urbane Market). For the area, the prices are on the upper tourist end, but to be expected. At Urbane, they serve a Macaroni and Cheese dish with crab during Happy Hour, WOW, this is a must try!!

Upon leaving the hotel, on the south corner, is the Dragonfish restaurant/pub. Go during Happy Hour and try the Caramel Ginger Chicken Rice Bowl on the small plates menu, it is sweet and spicy and it is also a must try.

The location is great! You are 8 blocks away from Pike's Place Market (10-15 minute walk). A 20-30 minute walk to the Space Needle (approx. because we stopped at Hot Pot Donuts). From the Space Needle, we took the monorail back to Westlake Center Mall (4 blocks away from the hotel). The cost of the monorail is very low, $2.25 USD for adults and a $1.00 for kids.

One block south of the hotel is Hertz car rental on the corner. We wanted to visit outside of the city center. We took a short trip to Snoqualmie Falls and to other parts of the Washington.

A great stay. We would stay again at the Hyatt At Olive 8. It is far enough from the busy bars and night life, but close enough to walk to the night life.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a corner room. But take the time to look at the room before upgrading.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco-wise hotel. Just like the rest of the Seattle.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnyringo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It's wonderful that you and your family had such a great stay with us. We love that we are near so many great restaurants and attractions, not to mention having the great on-site choice of Urbane. It sounds like you all had quite the adventure, Snoqualmie Falls is beautiful, that's great that you got to go! We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    650
    132
    31
    13
See reviews for
429
650
137
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Another Priceline "name our own price" win for us. This hotel is located 2 blocks from the Westlake shopping area which has the monorail station and the light rail station that connects you to the airport for only $2.75! It is 8 blocks to Pike's Place and less than a mile from Space Needle. There is plenty of shopping and food choices since you are so close to Westlake. The hotel itself was very fancy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even let us check in at 10am! The rooms were large and well designed. The bed was very comfortable. One of the best features of the hotel was the pool area. The pool is fairly long for a hotel pool and it is set up for lap swimming. I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kesibmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My sister and I planned a sister weekend in Seatle, WA. All the hotels were very expensive so I picked one of those web sites where you book a hotel blindly. I was very delighted when the Hyatt Olive and 8 came up. I can't mention the price except to say we got a great rate... This hotel is centrally located, close to shopping, buses, monerail, and Pikes place market. The hotel doesn't have a lot of restaraunts, but we really didn't need them. The rooms were very lovely, clean, tasteful decor and the beds were very, very comfortable! Any staff member we spoke with were very accomodating and friendly. I would come back and stay in this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback. We love that our central downtown location allows our guests to have easy access to shopping, food, entertainment as well as transportation. Our main goal is always to connect with our guests and make sure that they are happy and comfortable, it's wonderful that this is what you experienced. We would love to have you back with us on your next trip to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great check- in, clean room, everything you need: quick food market, restaurant and great work- out facilities! Spa looks nice though I did not try it... A bit too pricey. Unfortunately the bed was old and lumpy but the location made up for anything negative. Right in downtown and that means everything is at your fingertips.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room with a view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great job. Lights only go on if you insert your key in a slot... Which means they automatically go off when you leave.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clementine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
217 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent four nights here for a low key conference, and slept beautifully, enjoyed the steam bath and pool, and the bar has this fabulous drink called the Queen Bee. It's a pricey hotel, but worth the decadence

Green Features: A green hotel where you need to keep the room key in a slot to gave electricity. But oddly, a little too cold in the hotel
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyLeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I did a fair amount of research on Seattle hotels before booking and the consistently good reviews along with the Tripadvisor photos helped me decide on the Olive 8. I was not disappointed. I was traveling as a single mom with Middle School children and this was a great hotel for us. I loved the decor, the cleanliness and the amenities. The pool and gym were very nice. I liked that it was a "green" hotel as it evoked discussions with my kids. We were able to walk almost everywhere which was so helpful. The staff working the concierge desk were excellent.

Room Tip: High floors have the best view obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. We love that we can offer great amenities like the heated saline lap pool that creates activities for the whole family. How wonderful that your children are interested in the "Green" aspect of our property! We hope they enjoyed all the neat and innovative ways we accomplish that such as conserving energy with our key-card-activated lights in the room. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

great hotel. central location. excellent gym. all you need in a hotel. delivers what you need, a higher end Best Western with all the trimmings. Nothing particularly memorable but worth checking out if the deal is right.

Room Tip: Only if the deal is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number: +1 888-882-1234
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing