We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Nice”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Port Moody, British Columbia
1 review
“Overall Nice”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall, this is definitely a nice hotel to stay. The modern designed room is indeed very comfortable and certainly very spacious. Location is one of the best as you're in the area where you can practically walk to anywhere within central downtown Seattle. Nothing negative to say about the hotel, but if I must, a few minor points to add. No ventilation fan in the washroom which is a tad odd. The shower water is not exactly as hot as I had wanted even when turned at max. Hotel has valet parking but it is very expensive at around 45 dollars. But overall these are not the type of reasons that would keep me away from coming back again next time as those can be overcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
468
679
143
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We originally walked into the regular Hyatt, luckily a block away. Getting to the hotel is pretty crazy, but once you get there, wow is it amazing. Our room was beautiful, and oh so quiet! On a Friday night, too! The pool was lovely, and breakfast was delicious. I am allergic to gluten and they had a full menu to accommodate me!

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a green hotel, loved that they had green spaces everywhere.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinmcln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The walls were pretty thin and yes you could hear the neighbors!
the pool was great- Jacuzzi pretty outdated though- and only two of the jets worked well.
The shower room was nice, had extras like combs, cotton swabs, etc.

Room Tip: we requested an upper floor to see the fireworks on July 4th
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't know that- you have to put you room key in slot by door to get 'powered up'
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbrownbear53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located for sightseeing as well as public transport. Room was very nice and the bed was comfy. We arrived late in the evening and were starving. We were directed to Urbane where the late night happy hour was on. Food was exceptional. Wine and service were both very good. We also ate there the next morning for breakfast and had the Dungeness crab Benedict. It was also very good. Wish we would have had time to spend more than 1 night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Olive 8. The staff was efficient and check in was fast and easy. The hotel has a modern, tasteful design and is quite nice. Our room had a King bed, desk, two chairs, large flatscreen TV, mini fridge and free wifi.

In addition to the typical complementary shampoo, soap and lotion, we were surprised to see a tube of toothpaste in our room - along with a detailed list of the many toiletries available on request for those travelers who may have forgotten an item - including slippers!The valet service was fast, but a bit expensive- with tax it was about 45 per day.

The location is great- very close to I-5 and close to the convention center, dining and movie theater. We would stay here again.

Green Features: Hotel was environmentally friendly- when in the room there is a place to out your key card so the lights work. When you remove the key the lights go out.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly97060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights after driving down from Vancouver. The hotel was clean and had a great design. The staff was great and quick to respond to what was my only complaint: we were only informed upon checking in that they were remodeling one of the floors. They told us that we were high up enough and we shouldn't really be able to hear any noise. On our last night, we were awaken around 7am to our room shaking. The noise in combination with the vibrations made it impossible to continue sleeping. Fortunately, the hotel was quick to waive the night plus the cost of valeting our vehicle for the night. That kind of accommodation keeps me open to trying this hotel out again and suggesting it to others.

Valet parking only. Entrance on 8th ave (One Way Streets).

Room Tip: Head to the hotel on 8th ave. entrance creeps up on you. Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at the Hyatt at Olive 8 several times. This hotel is modern in design, environmentally friendly and has tons of natural light.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The valet staff is very speedy in collecting and returning your vehicles.

I enjoyed the food in Urbane and the coffee shop in the lobby. The banquet food is creative and delicious. I love that they cater to local offerings.

The hotel rooms are generous in size. The bathrooms are spacious too. I had a great view of Seattle from mine. If you can't figure out how to turn on your lights, its probably because you forgot to put your hotel key in the slot by the door.

Hyatt at Olive 8 is very close to the main attractions in Seattle. You are walking distance to Pike Place Market, flagship Nordstrom and Monorail which takes you to the Space Needle just to name a few.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,020 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing