We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt At Olive 8
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Max(Seattle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,608)
Filter reviews
2,608 results
Traveller rating
1,658
736
158
41
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,658
736
158
41
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelsteam roomconvention centermodern hotelpacific placepike place markethotel restaurantpool and hot tubwithin walking distancecorner roomlight railvalet parkingspace needlewater pressurewould definitely stay here againloved this hoteltwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,454 - 2,459 of 2,608 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This is a wonderful big chain hotel, with a small hotel feel. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful (from the valet to the coffee baristas). The room is very modern and comfortable. They have a wonderful "happy hour" at the restaurant that lasts until midnight - great food, and very accomodating service. The gym was very big with lots of equipment, and a very nice big indoor pool.

The location is very convenient - probably 8 blocks to the Pike Market, 2 blocks to the Westlake transit center & monorail - to go to the Space Needle - very fast & inexpensive. You have to try the light rail that leaves from the Westlake center to go to the sports stadiums - only $3.50/round-trip. Ask the concierge to reserve you a spot on the Argossy cruise to get a great tour of the Puget Sound.

The only negative about the hotel is the parking price - $33/night, and there's city tax and fees on top of it...total over $39/night! I know it's downtown, but that's a bit steep.

Try to check for the AAA rate which was about 20% cheaper than their normal rate. It's a great hotel - check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuscanVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Loved your review; your first sentence sums up exactly what our goal is our hotel. Glad that you tried out the light rail. It’s so convenient for our guests, many of whom are leaving their cars behind, which, as a green hotel, makes us very happy as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was the first stop of six on an 18 night trip to Seattle and British Columbia. The room was exactly as shown on their web-site. It could not have been better for the money. Our only problem was that we were not able to get into the room until 5:00 PM. The location was perfect, and our only complaint was with the breakfast. The hotel does not offer a buffet, and does allow you to go to breakfast quite late. The service was very slow, and the food would rate as OK. I would definitely stay here again. Pay attention to your bill, we had the AAA package which included the breakfasts, and the breakfasts were on the bill at checkout. They removed them without a problem, but check your bill carefully.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Thanks for the kind regards. We are sorry that you couldn’t get into your room earlier; we try to avoid that but it will happen occasionally, and we apologize that it happened to you. As well, my apologies for the confusion on your bill. We greatly appreciate our AAA guests and will review to make sure this doesn’t happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We spent our family vacation in Seatlle (2 nights) and Canada and everyone ranked the Hyatt 8 the best hotel (out of the 5 we stayed). We were amazed at how clean the hotel was and how friendly the staff was to all of us. We had the family package that included the breakfast and loved Urbane's. The food was excellent. Loved the lounge area and happy hour food. Location - not bad -only 7 block walk to the main area of town, but glad to have a short distance away from all of the action. The views are OK from the room (liked the green roof), but fine since we didn't spend much time in th eroom. Only thing was we were placed in a handicap room and didn't realize until that evening and decided too late to change. We would highly recommend to stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapetheHeat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

We couldn’t be more thrilled to win your family’s vote of the five hotels you visited! We know it’s a big responsibility hosting a family vacation, and we were happy to assist in creating the memories. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Great hotel. Large room and bathroom. Perfect for a family of four. Housekeeping could use a little help. Overall, staff was very helpful and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2009

We are delighted that you chose us to be a part of your family trip and pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the nice words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is new and very clean. We had a room on one of the higher floors. Our view was nice, but not spectacular. The room has a modern decor and the bed is very comfortable. The closet area is nice and there is a safe in the room. The bathrooms are also modern and clean. They have a walk in shower, which I thought was cool.However, my husband didn't like it because water ends up getting all over the floor. They don't have free internet access which was the biggest downfall for us. If they did, I would probably have given this hotel the highest rating. The pool and fitness center are excellent. The pool and hot tub are huge. Also, every time I used the pool/hot tub I pretty much had them to myself which was awesome! We didn't use the spa, but it looked really nice. The locker rooms that lead into the pool area have a sauna and a steam room. The location of the hotel is pretty good. You can easily walk everywhere in Seattle from this location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

Thanks for the nice words. We know that our showers are a little different, and while they have been positively received by most of our guests, we know they are not for everyone. But we do have 80 rooms with two queen beds that feature traditional shower/tub combinations so be sure to request one of those rooms on your next visit. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the pool & hot tub while you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews