We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Seattle!”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington
1 review
“Best Hotel in Seattle!”
Reviewed 17 February 2010

If you like to be treated well and have an amazing stay in Seattle, stay at the Hyatt Olive 8. Easy check in and out. Very accomadating to your needs, pretty much have it your way and they are very cheerful about helping you out. From the ticket desk to the concierge services..never been disappointed yet!!! Great staff and management!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGuestWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 19 February 2010
Thank you so much! It was great to see your comments, glad that we really mad a good impression and we appreciate your endorsement! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    682
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
468
679
143
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eugene
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Perfect location, very accessible, clean, staff was very helpful. Only down fall, the pillows were not as comfortable as expected and the doors shut really loud so if you are a light sleeper I wouldn’t recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luimend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 18 February 2010
Thanks for the review….loved the title! Glad that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be helpful. I appreciate the constructive feedback as well; I will be passing it along to the appropriate managers here. Thanks for coming up from Oregon to visit Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

beautiful hotel great location, good customer service and nice spa. There is one negative and that is you could hear people in hallway talking as if they were in your room. The doors to rooms slam and you can hear that too. Also noticed when walking in hallway you can hear people in their rooms..........and I mean you can hear everthing and I will leave it at that. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sis0876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very disappointed to hear that you experienced noise issues in your room. It is our mission to help you relax and enjoy your stay, and I understand that is very difficult when you are disturbed by external noises. If you wouldn’t mind, I would greatly appreciate it if you could call my office with the room number so we can take a closer look at that room. On the positive, I am delighted that you enjoyed our customer service and spa, and I appreciate you being willing to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This was probably the best Hotel we've ever stayed at. We also had a AAA special that included breakfast and WOW, what a breakfast!!!! The restaurant is excellent and the ambiance couldn't be better. Location is magnificent and our price couldn't be beat. To me this was a 5 star hotel.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cubangem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
You are too kind! Thanks so much, I appreciate the kind words. Glad that you were able to take advantage of the great AAA special we have going on; as you can see from other comments it is VERY popular! We think you were a 5-Star guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt while attending the NorthWest Garden Show at the Washington State Convention Centre, which is only two short blocks away . As one would expect, the room was excellent as was the service. The one item on the bill that we found to be a bit over the top was the $39 cost for parking. I realise that parking in downtown Seattle anywhere is not cheap and that the $39 included over $6 in taxes, but still found this a bit excessive. It appears to be a growing trend in hotels to keep their room rates competitive but to recoup some of their costs with parking charges. On the plus side, we came in late in the evening and requested food that was not on the menu in the resturant and the staff not only prepared it at a reasonable price, but it was really good. Kudos to the staff. I certainly would give this hotel an excellent rating, just be aware of the cost of the parking.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crossmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The parking charge may be high compared to some locales as parking is expensive in Seattle. We regularly survey the other hotels, and our price is the same if not cheaper than others. We want to be upfront about it, so here is the price: $33, plus the applicable taxes makes it $39.44. We definitely promote the light rail train which is a great alternative at $2.50 each way, and we are always happy to direct guests to alternative self-park options (due to the garage set-up here we do not have a self-park option). We’re glad the hotel worked well for you, we are seeing lots of folks attending shows at the Washington State Convention Center finding us. And so happy that the restaurant could get you the food you wanted…very important after a long day of traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Stayed here last weekend and overall it was a great hotel. Friendly staff, clean spacious modern rooms and a nice happy hour in the hotel bar. They have a great pool and hot tub and a well equipped mens/ladies locker room full of extra amenities. They alson have a unbelievable fitness center with state of the art equipment, fresh towls, and water. Hotel is within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants and pike place is a 10-15 min walk away. I highly recommend this hotel and give it a full 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattOlive8, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Thanks for giving us a try! Glad that you were able to take full advantage of the restaurant, health club and pool! Also glad that you were able to explore the neighborhood…Pike Place Market is just 6 blocks away and most people’s favorite. And for folks like you from Victoria, it’s so easy to get here on the Clipper… See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Olive 8 and neither of us had been to Seattle before. This hotel is centrally located and you can walk almost everywhere. We had a package in which breakfast was included every morning and Urbane's breakfast was awesome! The staff was always very friendly and the rooms are very clean and modern. Overall one of the better hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plawmilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, 11 February 2010
Glad we could help introduce you to the Emerald City! Also glad you were adventurous and walked around. There is so much to see within a 15 min walking radius. Plus the new light rail makes it easy to get back to the hotel from Pioneer Square, etc. Thanks for the nice comments on breakfast in Urbane. I can’t get enough of it myself! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,019 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing