We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great!”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Upon arrival to the hotel, it was exciting to see the outside and lobby..located on the corner of 8th and Olive, it's in a good spot. Great vibe and lively upon entrance. The room was a good size and seeing a shower in a Hyatt was a nice treat (although the water pressure was lame). Once you fall asleep you are awaken by the sound of doors slamming and can hear everything in the room next door. We stayed 2 nights and it happened both nights. Many of the reviews indicated this noise and they are true. You will wake up tired and annoyed! The restaurant Urbane is cool and the food was ok...had better. The little cafe in the hotel has amazing ham & cheese biscuits and homemade yogurt ...don't miss out on this if you do stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlanta-Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

Glad that you enjoyed the look and ambiance of the hotel. Disappointed, however, that you were disturbed by the sounds of the doors and the shower pressure. While the showerheads are low-water consumption models (part of our LEED Certification), the difference in pressure from a normal showerhead should not be discernable. If there is any way you could contact my office with your room number, I would greatly appreciate it so we could take a look. I appreciate you staying with us and hope we get a chance to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,328 - 2,334 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2010

My boss booked this hotel specifically because of the good business traveller amenities, eg free bottled water, free internet, free breakfast, free newspaper, of which I got none and ended up paying extra. I voiced my disappointment to reception on check-out and all she could say was, "Sorry" - that's it.

Other than that, everything was absolutely perfect - the staff, the room, the location - just perfect, flawless.

I really wanted to give them 5 stars but for that slip-up.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

Sorry about the communication problem; your boss most likely booked the Business Plan package, which includes everything you mentioned, as well as one shirt pressing and local calls, all for $40. I am sorry this wasn’t explained better to you at check-in or check-out. I am glad that everything else worked out well, and I hope that you will give us another shot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Got a deal on hyatt.com for a premier double queen room using AAA. Attended conference at Hyatt grand, my rate at the olive 8 was lower than the conference rate across the street. Room was HUGE. With two queen beds, two chairs, a desk, a table, a tv console, and an extra end seat, the room still seemed sparsely furnished. You could get serious exercise just walking across the room and back. Fitness ctr and pool are lovely - like a health club rather than hotel. Pool is lap pool maybe 20 yards? Room had 1 terry robe for two people - not sure why there were not two robes. Wifi did not work well with my mac - the desk guy said the same thing about his mac. Had to switch to wired ethernet which was fine. Around $10/day. Had to ask to have wifi charge removed because they double billed me for internet. They fixed it without a fuss. Tmobile is the wifi carrier and they seem to have a problem with macintosh hardware in general. Room was reasonably quiet given the city environs. Windows not operable. Room still has a bit of the new carpet smell from the construction but not overpowering. Room service was fine. Parking is expensive around $36/day with tax for valet. Service however was excellent. Staff was very helpful. Hyatt uses overly smelly hair/soap products in room - did not like. However the locker rooms for the pool/gym have better products which I took back to my room in the little cups they had out for the mouthwash. In room coffee is lame - Hyatt should switch to whatever Hilton is using because it is better stuff. Did not even have real milk/creamer for coffee just powder. This is not the best western so they could do a little better with that. No coffee shop in hotel but there is a starbucks at the hyatt grand and other places nearby. No gift shop in the hotel and no vending machines but there is a convenience store 1/2 block away next to the subway. These things were minor compared to the absolutely HUGE and fantastic room we got.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mybusinesstraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

Thanks for the detailed review! Glad you liked it and that you were able to enjoy one of our two-Queen bedded rooms! Lap pool is 65’, so just over 20 yards. Sorry about the robes; we generally do only put one in the rooms but are always happy to bring an extra. Also sorry about the WiFi, it is something we are working on. You are correct that the windows don’t open; it allows the building to be much more energy efficient but each room does have a fresh air slot that allows in some fresh air. Glad that you found the hotel to be quiet. Shouldn’t be any ‘new car smell’, however, as the building was built with low VOC chemicals, we’ll look into that. We do have a fantastic coffee shop in the lobby, although it does close at 1pm during the winter. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This was my first time to Seattle and we stayed here. The location is awsome. The hotel and staff are very nice, attentive, and accommodating. My only complaint, and it's kind of a doozy, is that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. I slept horribly both nights, but I won't knock off too much for it. I reluctantly recommend it though.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2010

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks. I am disappointed to hear that your bed wasn’t comfortable, as that is of course the most important part of a hotel room. Please contact my office if you are willing to give the hotel another try, and we will ensure that you are satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Stayed there for a weekend trip with a friend. Stayed in probably the largest hotel room I have ever experienced. Very modern and comfortable hotel, great workspaces. Staff were friendly and attentive. All in all I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FintanMacLamhras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

i booked this hotel b/c i had stayed at the grand hyatt nearby last time i was in town and wanted to try another hotel (not that i didn't love the grand hyatt :)) we arrived at the hotel friday afternoon around four o'clock from seatac (we were an hour late) and our dinner guests had just arrived. the staff of the hotel were so helpful and understanding (thanks ashly). i was able to check-in easily and we were taken upstairs by todd, the bellhop (thanks to you too). the room was awesome (double beds, seating area, tv, work desk with four outlets). the sliding doors for the closet and bathroom were a plus (though the bathroom one would open on its own if you didn't shut it completely). i did experience the loud closing doors and the loud people in the hall discussed earlier (also it was always 3 in the morning and i woke up). another suggestion would be to put an extra hook or bench in the bathroom (some place else to put clothes when hook in use) and another luggage rack (i had to use the bench beside the bed and the bed to get items out of two pieces of luggage) there was a blank area on the wall between the tv and the closet that could be used for artwork and the other luggage rack.
i used the pool saturday and it was great (sat in the sun and read for a few hours)
checkout was a breeze and was able to print out my boarding passes from the conceirge's laptop.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callistamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

If you like to be treated well and have an amazing stay in Seattle, stay at the Hyatt Olive 8. Easy check in and out. Very accomadating to your needs, pretty much have it your way and they are very cheerful about helping you out. From the ticket desk to the concierge services..never been disappointed yet!!! Great staff and management!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGuestWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattSeattle, General Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

Thank you so much! It was great to see your comments, glad that we really mad a good impression and we appreciate your endorsement! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,703 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#43 of 104 in Seattle
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £122 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing