We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good budget hostel if you don't mind noise”
Review of The College Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The College Inn
Ranked #95 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 26 July 2014

For a budget traveller it's a very good choice. The location is also great, with many buses going to Westlake Center. Also a peaceful area and beautiful area with convenient access to University of Washington. Breakfast is quite good (as a hostel); the shared bathrooms are also clean. If you don't mind the old decor (sometimes some equips may not function very well) and if you can tolerate noise, It's an ideal place for short stay. There's a pub downstairs, so you'll hear people talk and laugh loudly till 2 or 3 in the morning. The noise from buses and trucks are also quite loud and don't seem to stop even late at night and early in the morning. It doesn't have an elevator, so be prepared to have a good climbing. The staff are in general helpful but not always patient. And there are no people at front desk from 11p.m. to 7 a.m. The manager, however, is very nice.

Room Tip: do not choose rooms facing University Way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place was comfortable enough, but a little dingy and unloved. My room wasn't completely clean, had an over-the-sink light that didn't work, and needed decorating about 5 years ago. The receptionist/office person is up several flights of stairs, and was't there when the signs said he should be, and particularly at breakfast time (when I needed some advice). It was though quiet, quite big, with lots of windows and a good view. The showers were pretty clean, but not perfect, and in need of updating. It felt like many of the people staying there were long term residents, on my floor at least. The hotel is a 30 minute easy bus ride from the centre, and in an interesting-enough area, with bars and restaurants and the WSU campus. The breakfast was very basic/cheap. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a family member, but if you're stuck it's not awful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadhurster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is very odd- but I booked as it was a lot cheaper than anything else in the area at short notice. The place bills itself as a European style hotel but I have stayed in lots of European hotels which are nothing like this...

The rooms are clean, and the shared bathrooms also, in general clean, although at least for me they were not cleaned every day. The breakfasts were adequate, without being fancy. The staff were functional, although not 24 hours, so make sure you don't have a problem or want to arrive in the limited hours.

Location was very convenient for express bus to town centre, or for the University district. The area is interesting, lots of cheap places to eat, but did feel a little threatening after dark occasionally...

The rooms themselves were comfortable, felt like being in a college dorm. The only real complaint was that the hotel was a little noisy due to time of its construction, and location on the main road.

In all, I would stay again if the price were right; it reminds me very much of a British bed and breakfast in about 1984, in that everything is cheap, functional, but you don't expect or need a lot of service. Difficult to give this place a good or bad review, did pretty much what was expected, but I shan't remember it fondly.

Room Tip: Away from the road helpful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blaknail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I mostly enjoyed my experience at the College Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. The share bathroom was also clean. The room was above the entrance to a pub, so noise at times was a bit of an issue. Great convenient location, though...close to a handy bus stop, I was able to easily get where I needed to go.

One thing I didn't like was having to heave my luggage all the way up to the third floor to reception (no elevator).

The staff were friendly and helpful - I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Comfy bed, great location, communal bathroom was clean, but… Internet disconnects every 10min, walls are paper thin, it's currently 2am and I'm listening to the drunk guys above me argue. Reception isn't 24hrs so there's no way to complain short of calling the cops or leaving a bad review here. Don't stay here on the weekends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank roadwarrior1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christudor, Owner at The College Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. As you can read this situation is definitely not our normal guest experience. We actually do have staff on duty overnight. For our other guests, you may reach them by our doorbell at the front or by dialing 0 from our guest room phones. I am so sorry for the rude neighbors. We are known to be a quiet Inn with responsible guests and I apologize this night it did not prove to be true. If you would be able to contact me, I would like to make the situation right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I am so glad I book a room at The College Inn. My room was clean, comfortable and quaint and i loved the charm of the hotel's historic building. The front desk staff was friendly and super helpful- looking up directions and advising me on travel times to my destination in traffic. The breakfast buffet had a great variety and was so much better than any breakfast you will be served at a chain hotel! If you are looking for a clean, budget friendly option in a great location with pleasant staff members than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Hotel is located within the University of Washington Campus. It is therefore the ideal place to stay when visiting your children studying at the University.

Rooms are clean, but basic. An iron in the room to press your clothes was a bonus.

Breakfast is Buffet style therefore unlimited. Choice is decent.

The only inconvenience is that bathrooms are shared, although there are separate bathrooms for men and women (fortunately this has still not gone the unisex way). To make things worse, one of the showers was not operational, meaning waiting times were longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giridharmurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Days Inn Seattle North
#83 of 105 in Seattle
464 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 105 in Seattle
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#76 of 105 in Seattle
81 reviews
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Inn

Address: 4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6209
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £47 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The College Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The College Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Hotel Seattle
College Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing