We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Holiday Inn but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was the 2nd Holiday Inn we stayed at after the first one in Pulluyup WA where we loved everything about the place we decided that for our Seattle trip this was the place to go. It was very good but not as good as the first one service, food cleanlieness and value are all great the Breakfast had a few less items than the first one but other than that it was terrific

It is also near many downtown attractions

Room Tip: this one is near the highway so get a room opposite the highway if you want a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for commenting on your experience with us! We strive to exceed expectations in our service, cleanliness, and amenities, especially when compared to newer properties, and it sounds like we were able to do that. I hope you will continue to choose our hotel when staying in Seattle! We look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

What a wonderful find in downtown Seattle! Free wi-fi and breakfast and a breath-taking view of the Space Needle! And an enthusiastic and greatful nod to Cassidy at the front desk who was especially nice and helpful.

We walked to both the Market and Pier 69, which took about 20 minutes and might be a bit long for little ones...cabs and cars were also available for $10 or less. Westlake Center was also walkable and their foodcourt was ideal for our limited budget and completely opposite cravings for dinner (my daughter had "the BEST" fettucini alfredo and I had a gyro).

Great staff, good location, and all the amenities of Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are extremely delighted to be a partner with Victoria Clipper, and I am so glad you found us to be convenient in getting to the pier. Thank you, too, for your kind words regarding Cassidy. I will make sure your compliments are passed on to her. She is a great asset to our staff, and she will certainly appreciate the recognition. I hope we will be able to host you and your party again in the future!

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel visiting my boyfriend in the military for new years. My first night the room and service was perfect. The second night we were moved into a smoking room that gave me a terrible headache and made my clothes smell like an ash tray. I understood it was NYE and they could not change my room, however, mathew smith who works the front service desk was rude in the manor and smarted off to another employee about me as I walked away from our conversation of not being able to change rooms. He told me there wasn't a manager I could talk to and the holiday inn does not have a cooperate phone number. I have never been treated with such disrespect and be littleness. I will not visit here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hairdresser05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

First, I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your feedback. I was unable to access this site for a period of time. Please be assured that I take all feedback either positive or negative very seriously, and I will be following up with the employee involved. I am both surprised and disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. Granted, New Year's Eve is one of the busiest days of the year for us and availability is somewhat limited, but it is the way in which we respond to situations such as this that makes all the difference. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly. My email address and phone number are listed below. Please let me know what I can do to encourage you to give us another try. If you choose not to return, I understand. I hope that this experience does not deter you from choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express brands in the future.

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
hambrick@hcbmi.com
206-674-6262 (Direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

In town for a conference and was willing to walk to save a little money. This place fit the bill. Clean, decent breakfast, helpful staff and free Internet. The only problem is half the rooms overlook Hiway 99. Constant traffic noise 24/7. Ask for a room on the other side. Easy walk to good restaurants and the Pike Market.

Room Tip: Away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel is nice, rooms are a little dated but the beds were super comfy and the black out blinds were a big plus!

Found it a bit strange having the sink in the bedroom opposed to the bathroom. Wasn't that big of a deal though. TV/ TV Remote was a little delayed- but again not a big deal.

Breakfast was average but got the day off to a good start. Space needle is very close by which is beside the monorail to bring you downtown.

Parking was secure but had to have room keys on you at all times to get in. An intercom would be ideal.

Nice restaurant down the ally which was cheap and convenient.
After a long day of traveling all we wanted was to get into bed and after having our credit card maxed out by the car rental cash deposits were not an option. Had to transfer money through one of the computers in the business center- wasn't ideal but we didn't care.

Overall the service is good and we enjoyed our city break.
Would we stay in this holiday inn express again? Depending on price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Was nicely surprised on arrival when I walked in to the large spacious lobby. We were greeted warmly by Terra, and were even given goodie bags with bottled water and cookies! Terra offered us up all sorts of helpful information as we weren't that familiar with Seattle, and definitly made our arrival relaxing and stress free.

Our room was gorgeous, spacious and very clean. It had a beautiful view of the space needle and a large jacuzzi tub.

There is a complimentary breakfast in the morning with lots of options, even a pancake machine! There is also a restaurant on site, just across the driveway in the Holiday Inn, that was decent.

There is also free wifi and a business centre.

I couldn't ask for any more from this hotel, especally for the price.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a kitchen and view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyalexmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to recognize a member of my staff! Terra is a highly valued employee who genuinely enjoys what she does. We are very lucky to have her on our team. I've shared your comments with her and with the rest of the team. We all hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your party again.

Best Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

i thought this place was great because there's an inside pool and gym. It was very close to the city and I enjoyed my stay there. On top of that there was a complimentary breakfast !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401mdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £87 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing