We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Clean, quiet, rooms on the smallish side. Could really have used a fridge. I don't like when the sink is not part of the bathroom. Its fine to have a sink outside the bathroom, but with 4 of us in a room, it was hard to get at the sink.......could have used two spaces for us to get ready.....close to whole foods/space needle/monorail......good location for us. Would stay again. Breakfast is ok, but I just had cinnamon bun and coffee - the hot stuff looked too generic for me. We had most of our meals from wholefoods. Front desk called us a cab which never came, so we flagged on down ourselves....he tried, I guess.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marnasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments! I appreciate your feedback, and I welcome the opportunity to learn from our guests about how we can improve our services. We strive to provide outstanding service, so your remarks are helpful. Please always let us know how we can make your stay a more enjoyable experience! I hope you will come see us again!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights exploring Seattle prior to a longer trip down the West Coast states. The location is near the Seattle Space Needle and City Center attractions (EMP, Monorail, Pacific Science Center). One note on the location, it is close to Space Needle and City Center, but not as close as it appears on the map at first glance. The street in front of the hotel is a divided roadway, so it is not a straight shot up to the Space Needle as it may appear on some maps, instead, you need to take an extra (not long) walk up a couple intersections to take a road over the divided roadway. Not a big deal, but something anyone having small children or accessibility issues should consider.

We took advantage of the morning breakfast (above average, we enjoyed the pancake machine's fresh pancakes and the Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls), the pool (warm, clean and well supplied with towels). The room was on the small side, but very clean and also functional with minifridge and coffee maker.

A final word about the staff. They were excellent, couldn't have been more friendly and efficient, from front desk to breakfast servers.

Only drawback: 1 out of service elevator that created longer than necessary waits to access higher floors (we were on 2, so other than luggage runs could and did take stairs). .

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the front side of the hotel (potential view of Space Needle), but you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeFamily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments! The elevator that was out of order is now back in service. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience caused by this mechanical failure. We greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I arrived 5 days ago and have two more nights here. We had requested a quiet room (after reading reviews) and were graciously accommodated when we checked in with Jeff. The room is very nice, recently remodeled and quiet! The sink is separate from the rest of the bathroom which is nice, lighting is very adequate with good mirrors. One of the elevators wasn't working when we checked in but has since been fixed - but most of the time we just used the elevator at the far end of the hall anyway. Breakfast is good, free wifi good, and all the staff is friendly and accommodating. Will definitely consider again for a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAES99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience with us, and in particular, your mention of Jeff. He is one of our veteran team members and is a real treasure! We look forward to your return in the future. Happy travels!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed there for several nights in early July. In most aspects, we got what we expected. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was as promised although the room was crowded each morning.

The hotel has two elevators for a six floor hotel. We were on the fifth floor. One of the elevators was broken for the entire time and no one seemed to be working on it. This meant that there was one working elevator which was very crowded in the morning and evening. We had to wait for several passes many times. That meant 10 minutes in elevator waits for each trip to/from out room, about 4 times per day. Not built into our vacation schedule. I'm not sure how long it had been broken or would be broken; but the staff had become very casual about "that's the way it is".

We also noticed a gasoline odor each morning waiting for the elevator after breakfast and were told that it happens many mornings and comes from the parking garage. Not a massive issue, but would be nice to fix it.

In sum, this is more negative than it would have been with two fully functioning elevators. It's a bit out of town, but the prices are lower.

Room Tip: Try a lower floor. You might be able to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkSoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding the elevator. Although it may not have appeared that the elevator was being worked on, we were actively trying to get the issue resolved and return the elevator to service. Unfortunately, we had to wait for parts to come in which is why we had to a couple of days. We did use our service elevator as overflow, so we had two out of 3 working. Believe me, we would not have wished this kind of major repair to have to happen during our peak season. I am very sorry that it affected your stay, and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived around 11 AM on a Saturday. At the front desk Jeff held our luggage and told us our room would be ready around noon. This was early and appreciated. The lobby is large and there is a free breakfast which we did not go to. They have a small room with two computers for guests with free access to the internet.
Our room was large with two queen beds and a decent sized mini fridge. The bathroom was a decent size as well. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
Every staff member we encountered was very nice.
The Emerald Grill is a couple of dozen steps away and offers steaks, burgers and pasta. The food was pretty good. The Grill will deliver lunch or dinner to your room for a $2 charge.
This hotel is within viewing and walking distance of the Space Needle (probably less than a 1/2 mile). You can also walk to downtown and Pikes Market (both about a mile away).

A couple of things threw us off, though they were not the fault of the hotel. Our first night we were woken up a couple of times by some people partying down the hall. The hallway also reeked of pot. In the AM we did make the front desk aware of this.
Our second night we were up extremely early to catch a flight and the car we booked through the hotel did not show up. The gentleman at the front desk (Matt, I believe) called the car service and tried to help, but we took a cab instead.

In all, it was a quick stay with a couple of hiccups, but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and for taking the time to mention some of our team members! Let me also apologize on behalf of Ace Transportation for missing your scheduled pick up. I will bring this to the attention of the company's manager, as I am sure they are as eager as we are in making improvements where their services have fallen short. I appreciate your staying with us, and we hope you will visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Full disclosure, I am a local and I am reviewing this based on my experience with having my senior citizen mother stay there for a total of six nights.

I booked this hotel for my mother for several reasons. The main one is it's location. I live in the South Lake Union neighborhood, and this hotel is basically located where the South Lake Union/Belltown/Seattle Center areas meet. It is an easy to walk to my place, the Seattle Center attractions (Space Needle, EMP, Chihuly Museum, Pacific Science Center, etc). Or, you can take a five-ten minute walk to the South Lake Union Streetcar stop at Westlake & 9th, which gets you to the downtown Seattle shopping core/Westlake Center (Monorail stops here) & Underground Bus & Light Rail tunnel in about ten minutes give or take with traffic. If you really like walking (and honestly, Seattle summers are awesome for walking) you can walk from the hotel to downtown in under a half hour. South Lake Union and Belltown are both quite walkable from the hotel and have many restaurants to choose from (Belltown moreso).

The second reason I chose this hotel: the price. While this is definitely not the cheapest hotel, I consider it a really good choice for what you get for the money, during the summer months (especially during the 4th of July). Many of the other budget friendly hotels (in the same price range) in this area are kind of rundown looking and in a less walking or public transportation user-friendly area. The fact that a free breakfast is included made all the difference. My mom is one of those people that absolutely needs to eat something before she can leave the house, so not having to go out every morning or keep food in the room was great.

The breakfast: Every day they had some sort of eggs, bread, bagels, muffins, some days there were pancakes (and maybe waffles?), cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juices, milk, coffee/tea, and cinnamon rolls. It was all basic stuff, nothing especially fancy, but I'm not big on breakfast, so I thought it did the job. The breakfast room could get crowded, but there's always the option to take the food back to your room.

The room: I booked a pre-paid standard Queen room. Although I didn't stay in the room, I paid for it, and checked in before mom's flight got in so I could make sure it was all good. Upon check-in I was upgraded to a King Suite. I'm not sure if this was because I have a points membership or due to room inventory, but it was of course, appreciated. The King Suite looked over the Aurora freeway and had a great Space Needle view. No worries about freeway noise though, it was quiet in the room. Mom stayed here for three nights before we took a weekend trip and came back for another three nights. I made the same Standard Non-smoking Queen reservation, and this time we got just that. In all honesty, the only difference I could see (besides bed size)between the King Suite and the Standard Queen is a two-seater sofa (possibly a sofa bed?) and coffee table.The beds were very comfortable, it was quiet, there was a coffee/tea maker, a mini fridge, and microwave.

The only "problems" we had were minor. The shower curtain was missing upon check-in. I let them know on the way out and it was promptly taken care of. Heck, knowing we were getting a fresh shower curtain was kind of better than wondering how often they change them, right? The other issue was the broken elevator. I see from other reviews this problem was still going on during their stay (ours was the first week of July). The only time this was kind-of-sort-of annoying was during check-in times when elevator traffic is at the highest. Not a big deal (to me) though. The last issue turned out to be a non-issue, but nevertheless irked me, was the remodeling notice in the elevator. Apparently there were room renovations going on at the time, and the first I heard of this was when I stepped into the elevator up to the room after check in. Luckily mom reported never hearing a thing and I didn't notice anything either (we were in and out sometimes several times a day). Had there been any significant remodeling noise, I would be quite upset for not being notified in some way before I got to the hotel. In my opinion, it is not good business to fail to let guests know of such things beforehand, and the only way you find out is a paper posted in the elevator.

Would I book my mom here again or stay here myself: Yes. Room rates can be quite high in Seattle during the summer months, and these are competitively priced. Caveat: When I was initially looking to book the rooms, I went in person to ask about a locals/neighborhood discount. The resident Discover South Lake Union card site lists the HIE as a hotel that offers a 15% off discount, but when I asked about it, I was told they did not offer it. Total bummer. It definitely made me think twice about booking this place vs. going all out and booking the PanPacific.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Remgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback, and thank you for bringing the renovation notification to my attention! The property upgrade notice was on our website, but it did expire. I apologize for allowing that to happen, but it is visible again. Our upgrades are currently on a brief hiatus due to the summer season. They will resume again in the fall, so for the time being, we will not have an issue with construction noise. I will be sure to keep a better eye on that.

Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your comments!

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were in Seattle for a couple of nights to go see Paul McCartney. The staff at this hotel was awesome - when we checked in, the desk clerk sent us up to our suite - the executive house keeper Jorge was there making sure that everything was clean (which it was). Super friendly, genuinely nice man. Went to concert and had a blast. Got back to the hotel and 1:00 and front desk clerk just checked to make sure that we had a good time. Next evening, we were looking for a fancy place for dinner. We asked Tray and the front desk - he sent us to a wonderful place (the Metropolitan). When we arrived, he had ordered a nice appie for us. He was very helpful in organizing taxis etc for us to get around.

Only downside for us was breakfast - no place to sit and the food was so greasy I couldn't eat it. Just had fruit and yogurt.

We will definitely be back to this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maskedbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel and staff! I really appreciate the kudos and I will share them with everyone here. I'm glad you had a great time at the concert! We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#70 of 104 in Seattle
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £85 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing