We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in a highly congested area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Located in a highly congested area”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked at this hotel because on the map it seemed to be close to important places -Seattle Center and Pike Place. Its location is the point where over seven streets converge! THe whole place is like a maze. The traffic is incredibly high. We had no choice but to leave our car in the garage and walk long distances. Even crossing the road is hazardous.

The staff was congenial. The lobby is spacious and well-furnished. The breakfast was average and adequate. The room was clean. Corridors were narrow and the dark carpet made it even more forbidding. Elevators worked just fine. There was no view from the window. The staff let me park my car there for one day longer for extra 10 dollars. That was nice of them. All in all, it was a hotel, which I would rate at 2.5 stars.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any room better than the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Prabhakar K,
My apologies that the map made it appear we were closer then you had thought. I am curious did you confirm our proximity to the sites you were interested in? We are usually very consistent in informing our guests how far the local attractions are in relation to the hotel. I will agree that Seattle can be confusing in general. We are located in a high visible area and during peak traffic times can be busy. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for the feedback, we depend on these from our guests to ensure we understand were our guests are coming from.

Thank you,
Gerald Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    333
    171
    41
    46
See reviews for
237
217
49
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great room, great view of space needle. room was clean and we felt very safe. After a wonderful dinner atop the space needle we walked back to the hotel and went for a swim in the pool. Pool was nice and pool area was clean and looked well kept. Bed was confortable in fact I selpt through my alarm! Breakfast area was large but we timed it wrong and it was almost full when we got there but it was very good and a large selection. Parking garage a bit tight and really glad we did not drive our pickup as sure it would not have fit in parking garage. Would haved loved to have had a few more days in Seattle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My purse was stolen out of my room. The manager told me I must have lost it somewhere else. The purse was found in the hotel and turned in. They called me, and since the purse was still in the hotel they had to agree it was stolen from my room but told me they took no responsibility of items left in the room.
Lots of emails and phone calls. I never got a human to talk to me about what happened, just telling me I shouldn't have left my purse in my room
???? Why is there a key then??

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have no belongings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laural90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Laural90210,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am concerned to read the troubles that you had during your stay with us. Whilst it was quite a relief to hear that your purse was retrieved before you departed, we deeply regret the inconvenience the situation has caused you. Guest security is of utmost importance to us, as such, your comments will be used to consider updates and improvements where possible.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and safe accommodations. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seattle hotels

shrewsbury, MA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Holiday Inn Express was clean, convenient and a safe place to park our car, while we walked to Pike's Market, the Space Needle and enjoyed the monorail. After a long day of travel to reach the hotel, our family deemed these the most comfortable beds ever and we had a great night's sleep! The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpacker021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
backpacker021,

This is indeed a compliment! I am very proud you and your family found our beds "the most comfortable". I am also happy we were convenient to the local attractions. If you return to the area please look to us and see the completed renovations. I can't thank you enough for this review.

Thank you,
Gerald G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This property is being renovated a bit at a time. Overall, the building is a little worn. The staff were quite nice. The breakfast room was clean and kept well stocked with the usual fare. The hot cinnamon rolls were better than many others I've had. Each day had a different variation of eggs and meat. There is a pancake machine, breads, bagels, and muffins, toasters, cereals, yogurt, milk, boiled eggs, and juices.
The location is a short two or three blocks walk from the Space Needle and city center.
There are several bus stops a block or so away. We walked downtown more than once and to Pike Place a few times with no problems. Sometimes we rode the bus back.
My only complaints were the slow elevators (which may have been due to renovations) and the pool being out of service our first three days. Each time I inquired about the pool I was told there was a minor pump repair and it would reopen in a few hours.
We stayed in two rooms. The top floor was a little louder with plumbing noise but had a vaulted ceiling which I prefer. The showers were always hot and had great pressure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Stephanie D,

Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear you found our location convenient to the sites. As for the renovations, I do apologize for the nuisance. The elevators have been rather slow however, we did just install a new motor. That should help. Other than that I appreciate you taking the time to provide us your comments.

Thank you,
Gerald Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked a 2 night package through the Victoria Clipper. This hotel is conveniently situated being a reasonable walk to the Space Needle,Chihuly Glass Museum etc. The rooms are reasonably spacious with comfortable beds and a selection of firm or soft pillows. We were two friends travelling together to attend a concert at the Key Arena. The sink and vanity area separate from the bathroom worked well for us. Our room was clean and well maintained. Front desk staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Convenient to have access to a computer in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Sure a convenient location: at walking distance of the Needle, EMP, Glass Garden and hop-on-and-hop-off trolleys. You should ask some directions at the front desk though, for one has to cross highway 99 and starting off in the wrong direction might result in a stiff march. The desk was efficient and absolutely friendly and helpful. Parking space is widely available at very reasonable rates. (We even got it for free as welcome for our first Seattle visit). The room was clean and, although a bit aged, well maintained. For diner and breakfast, there is an independent restaurant in the same block. We’ve had a decent breakfast twice. Diner facilities are very ‘basic’: limited menu, long preparation time, due to a small staffed kitchen and a ‘fastfood atmosphere’ (e.g. the bartender constantly discussing the football shown on the TV-screens with certain clients at the bar). Overall: a convenient and affordable place to stay for a visit of Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastiaan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Address: 226 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing