We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

First of all, I'd like to thank Chad for making it hassle free to refund a double charge that was wrongly made to my cc....just one phone call and one email. That is truly excellent after sales service!

Hotel location is quite near the space needle. However, if it was raining (which it was when we arrived) I'd advise against going to the needle as you can't really see anything from up there....$$ wasted.

The area looks pretty safe. We walked around the night with kids and didn't feel insecure (unlike in LA).
Parking was in a locked garage which opens when you insert the room key...took me a while to figure that out :{, but it was cool. Elevator in the garage goes straight to the room, which was excellent cos we've got lots of luggage with all the shopping at the premium outlet. Of course you'd have to go to the right garage to get to the right wing...we just happened to go into the correct one.

There's a Walgreen's nearby which made it convenient to buy supplies.
We had a room facing a wall, which was very quiet. No scenery from there.
Rented a car from Avis, and they have a service to drive us from the hotel to Avis nearby, which was nice.

Breakfast is a nice addition...enough to get us all going for the day.

All in all, an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzy_Jayzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    318
    164
    39
    46
See reviews for
225
208
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

(Family of 4. Two males, two females. Four nights stay.)

We have stayed at many HIE, but have never encountered such odd room setup: The bathroom sink was out in the bedroom hall (photos), leaving the bathroom without a sink, no mirror, no ventilation fan. We found this to be very inconvenient and it made every day an unnecessary challenge for everyone to shower and groom, etc. So much for privacy. When we requested to move to a room with a normal bathroom, we were told every 'standard room' had the same exhibitionistic setup.

We were paying for 4 people, but room service refused to provide us with 4 bath towels. Every day we had to call the desk to ask for the fourth towel. We found this to be very inconvenient.

The hotel's location - on the 'wrong side' of walled-in Aurora Ave - makes walking to Seattle Center a dangerous proposition. There are few attractions within a safe walking distance. If you plan to drive every place downtown, then the location is OK.

On the plus side, every staff member was friendly and the hotel was clean. The queen beds were very comfortable. Continental breakfast and robust coffee was good.

Overall, however, due to the poor room design (with the bathroom sink out in the bedroom hall), we would not return to this location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your experience at our hotel! I greatly appreciate your compliments about our property and employees as well as your concerns about our rooms.

Although the majority of our guest rooms do have the vanity in the living area, we also have certain suite types where it is included in the bathroom. For example, we have a beautiful two-queen bed, two-room suite that is perfect for a party of four with two bathrooms, a living room, a kitchenette, and a view of the Space Needle. We also have the cozier mini-suite with the vanity in the bathroom, kitchenette and view.

We pride ourselves on providing service that is above and beyond our guests' expectations, but even the best of teams can drop the ball at times. Once again, thank you for letting us know about your experience. I hope that you will choose to return to see how your comments helped us to continue to improve our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times for business and I find it to be an excellent hotel. Most of the rooms have been updated and many have a beautiful view of the Space Needle. It is located on the North end of downtown, within walking distance of the many belltown restaurants. The prices tend to vary a lot and can become quite expenisve in the summer. I would tend to shop around during the height of the summer tourist season. About the only downside is the wi-fi system which can be very slow at times. Also as an FYI parking is $10 per night, which isn't bad in a downtown area hotel. Overall it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsguyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel! We love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and their experience in our area. We look forward to hosting you again on a future trip to Seattle!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

This is an exceptionable Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at others that were ok. Here the staff really goes out of their way to make the stay pleasent.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed here for one night prior to our flight out of Seatac Airport. Room was clean and quiet and we didn't have any issues with checking-in/out. Liked the king size bed so that my husband, son, and I were able to co-sleep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBabySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhambrick, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idaho
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This was a very clean hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I thought the room price was very reasonable for it's location. We had a suite on the top floor that looked directly at the space needle. The parking was very secure with easy access, even though you had to pay $10 a night it was worth it.

You are within walking distance of some many attractions we left the car parked.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnut598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel- we were given complimentary upgrades to King suites on the top floor facing the space needle- it was super and the beds so comfortable!!
We basically had no complaints with the hotel and the free breakfast was VERY nice- not just bagels and yogurt, like most free hotel breakfasts.

The only complaint we had was the with the hotel restaurant. It was very expensive, the "special" that we ordered tasted like frozen ravioli with a canned spaghetti sauce and the dessert - a sliver of cheesecake for $7. The high prices did not in any way match the low quality of food, ambiance (we were seated in ear-shot of the bar- loud drunk guys swearing up a storm) or the service. Our dinner salad was just as pitiful. It's a dissapointing since their are not any other restaurants in that block- and when you are really tired, have a baby along etc- it's nice to have the conveinience of a nice restaurant at the hotel.
We would definately stay here again- just will not eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Address: 226 Aurora Ave., Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Seattle has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Situated between Seattle Center and the heart of downtown s shopping, dining, and entertainment districts, it's an easy walk to Westlake Center Mall, The Showbox, or Benaroya Hall. The world famous Space Needle and Monorail, Pike Place Market, Seattle Art Museum, Pioneer Square, Pier 66, Cruise Terminal 90/91, Microsoft, Boeing and more are so close our ideal location will suit the needs of any business or leisure traveler. Sports fan? We re minutes to Safeco & CenturyLink Fields! We offer parking for standard sized vehicles at $10 per night (limited space). Whether you re visiting Seattle for work or fun, Holiday Inn Express will be your home away from home. Wake up to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, and more. Maintain your cardio in our free 24-hour fitness center or go for a swim in our heated, indoor pool. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to numerous restaurants and bars. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will get you where you need to go! The best of Seattle is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Book your hotel reservations now for the SeaHawks NFL or Huskies football season or choose from one of our great King Tut Packages. Great family fun is just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Hotel Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing