We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were greeted by the loveliest staff at check-in who were all extremely friendly and welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay.
The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great.
The shuttle service into Seattle is really well organised and very useful. There are several drop off points and there are arrangements with the various businesses to telephone for you when you are ready to be picked up.
We would definitely stay here if we are ever in Seattle again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50IsTheMagicNumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. We had no problems whatsoever. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn October 21-23, 2011. Check-in was a breeze with free parking. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Beds are wonderful. Room has mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Stayed in double queen room, no view, but the view of the street was not bad at all. Other friends stayed in view room with view of Space Needle, great room as well. Bathroom is a bit on the small side, but nothing to complain about. Free breakfast included, area very crowded, but we were there for college football game at CenturyLink, so very busy weekend. Breakfast choices were adequate. Pool is open 24 hours which was great for the kids and the pool area is well taken care of. They offer free shuttle service to downtown area; excellent service, ran every 15 minutes, just sign up. Pick-up was a breeze and the 2 drivers we encountered were awesome! Will definately go back to the Silver Cloud when we are in Seattle again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The shuttle service is a really great feature, parking is free and really secure, and the reception on Tuesday night was very fun--good food, wine and beer and live music. Shuttle leaves every half hour and pick up time is accurate. Traveled with son and daughter in law and booked a suite with view. There are dishes and utensils, daily cleaning--this is a great place to stay if you want to eat dinner in, have breakfast free and stay in a really clean, nice place. We paid for the suite with a view and it is nice, water during the day and lights at night, but don't know that it is essential. Union Lake is not a walkable lake, no trails or hikes, it is a working lake with boats,planes, and wharves, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyandbob_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our family of four stayed here for a long weekend during a beautiful sun-filled weekend in Oct 2011. We stayed in a king Suite with View, and the room exceeded all our expectations! The bedroom had enough room for a portable crib, and mom was able to enjoy some privacy in the other room with pocket doors! It was more than enough space, complete with a view of lake Union and the Space Needle.
Breakfast was served daily, and although delicious, it's the same thing everyday.
The complimentary shuttle was awesome and super convenient. The shuttle can bring you to three main attractions: Pioneer Square, Pike market and the Space Needle---as well as restaurants along the way. We never waited longer than 15mins for the next shuttle to whisk us around Seattle. The drivers were all friendly and courteous, and even made restaurant suggestions and reservations.
If you have a car, the free parking is a huge plus---and very hard to come by. However, if you drive downtown, expect to pay $4/hr to leave the car.......so take the shuttle instead!
All in all, it was a great value, clean and convenient! I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here Sept 23 - 25. We selected this hotel based on it's close location to where our son lives and the overall good reviews. We found the front desk staff to not have the most professional appearance or attitude.

We arrived early so our room wasn't ready which was fine. They did store our luggage and we walked to REI to explore since we love that store. We returned after 3pm which is check in time. For some reason they have a change of shifts right at 3. That along with the arrival of a wedding party didn't help.

We did get to our room eventually, no thanks to the slowest elevator I've ever found in any hotel. There is even a sign by the elevator stating for faster service to use the other elevator - which happens to be through the parking lot if you go to look for it. The elevator situation never improved which is why there is a sign. That's just the way it is.

Our room was clean and nice and sufficient in size although there is no view of interest out the back. The view from the breakfast room is great though. I didn't find the breakfast to be anything special. It was mostly sugary items, yogurt and pastries along with the scrambled eggs which really tasted more like egg beaters from egg whites. I'd prefer some real eggs. But really, some cut up fresh fruit would be nice rather than a whole apple. In other words some healthier real food options would be great. By the way, I've never seen any smaller coffee cups in my life. And I do mean tiny.

There was one man who wins the friendly welcoming attitude award, only I don't know his name. He is a black man who may have been a door man, or driver but he was definitely in the front door area. He gave my husband a jar of berry preserves. He had brought several jars from home to share with people and we had the good fortune to receive this tasty gift from him. I hope management will know who I mean and thank him for his kind ways and generosity.

It was a pricey ride to the airport, too, but they did have the driver there on time. No, I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I got some sort of fabulous bargain price.

Room Tip: If you want a really nice view or a larger room, you'll have to pay a lot more for a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our stay at the Seattle Silver Cloud ( Union Lake) in August 2011 was one of most pleasant stay in Seattle,plus the excellent transportation in the form of a mini bus was provided for guests staying at this wonderful hotel. The service was friendly and efficient. Our room was 501 clean, comfortable, well furnished and the jacussi perfect. A short distance to downtown . Free internet with printer readily available. The breakfast buffet was excellent include with the room. I would happily give this fine hotel a 10 and will certainly return. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family. We will certainly come back next year.

Room Tip: I will recommend the rooms with jacussi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlose1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,319 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#10 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £112 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing