We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A good middle of the road Inn just off the shore of Lake Union in North Seattle. Complimentary Shuttle made trips to downtown very easy. The rooms were clean, the complimentary breakfast was basic but you could fill up as it is a buffet. The space available for breakfast was a little crowded, but with reasonably fast turnover it was not a major issue. Staff were very helpful, always cheerful and efficient at their work. Short walk to Joeys' that was a great place to eat. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

A little off the beaten track but so worth it. Large, clean rooms, an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, complimentary internet and breakfast and free parking. Oh and then there's the free shuttle to key downtown areas. I have stayed here each time I go to Seattle and will do so again.

The desk staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and providing good directions when we chose to use the car. The shuttle drivers will go beyond the set route when they are not busy. One night they even took us to an area restaurant...and picked us up afterwords.

Amenities: No restaurant or bar on premises, but several across the street. A buffet breakfast with decent choices is offered every morning. There is a small indoor pool and coin operated laundry facilities on alternate floors.

The bathroom is decent size and there is a second sink just outside of the bathroom... Travelling with my sister...this came in really handy. We each had our own area and plenty of room for all of our "stuff". Decent lighting at the mirrors too.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Super easy access off I5 if heading south from Vancouver, BC. GREAT view of Lake Union (WHY stay on the south side I say) clean rooms, comfortable beds - nice restaurants close by AND free parking, free shuttle van with the friendliest drivers... a pool a small but complimentary breakfast - seriously - a great place to stay. I have travelled here for business AND with family and was never disappointed. In fact, during our last stay - my son left his camera on the shuttle van. We did not discover this until we hit our next destination. We called the hotel in a panic - and sure enough! The van driver had turned it in.
The rooms overlooking the lake were of concern on my first stay as the hotel does look across a busy street to the lake - however we were pleasantly surprised to find that the windows are extremely well insulated - and our sleep was not affected. It is an interesting, working dock view of the lake - which we quite enjoyed... watch the yachts, the float planes - just great.

Room Tip: As everyone has said - higher floors - facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwiththeboys23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Not right in the centre of everything and because of this I think it is rather expensive for what it is. Nice comfy rooms though, very large and clean, but breakfast nothing to write home about. They do however offer a shuttle every half hour into downtown and to the space needle so that is really great.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miniperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed here two years ago for my daughter's wedding and had a very positive experience, so I booked again for an April visit to Seattle. I reserved a King bed room with jacuzzi and fireplace...we arrived late on a Thursday night, for a 7 night stay.

The room we were given had no fireplace, and the tiles in the bathroom were broken and the carpet had large stains on it, evidence of some earlier guest's extreme behavior. Frankly I was surprised that the management would allow the room to be occupied before dealing with the floors, it really looked like something bad had happened in that room and it had a bad smell and a creepy vibe to it. I called the front desk to request a change to a room with a fireplace and was told that none were available. We had to tough it out for the night in the creepy room and decided to request a change the next day. The bed was quite broken down and was in need of replacement, as were the pillows. The sheets were very thin and cheap feeling. It was nothing like I remembered two years previous.

If you are thinking of booking a jacuzzi room, you might want to know that the shower stall is a very small fiberglass corner unit...an odd choice someone made when designing the hotel, as there was plenty of room in the bathroom for a large walk in shower. Towels were plentiful and thick, but the bed linens need upgrading...the beige pillowcases looked dingy and dirty next to the white sheets, and all were on the thin side.

After breakfast we requested a room change, and were told a jacuzzi room with fireplace would become available later that day. We changed rooms about 1pm and went out with family for the evening. When we returned, we attempted to turn on the gas fire, only to find that the fireplace was inoperative. A maintenance employee was dispatched, he turned on the pilot light and we enjoyed the fire and a soak in the 2 person jacuzzi tub with the hotel provided bath salts...nice!!

After returning to the hotel the next evening and looking forward to the warm fire and jacuzzi we found the pilot light was once again out. And the maid had not left any bath salts :-(

A second call for maintenance got the pilot light lit once again, but it was so bright that it made sleeping a bit of a challenge. So the next time it went out we decided to do without the fire.

Positives are the helpful staff, free parking (a big plus!) convenient location near the street car station and restaurants of South Lake Union, refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, Aveda amenities, the well equipped fitness facility, indoor pool complimentary newspaper and complimentary breakfast. The hotel was fully booked and the breakfast lounge crowded and noisy, so we opted to take our food back to our room on several mornings.

All in all, a good value.

Room Tip: rooms away from Fairview Avenue are quieter, View rooms may in fact only be partial or angled views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyhag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Silver Cloud Inn- Lake Union is very nice and a surprizingly good location. Its very close to downtown without as much hustle and all the added expense. I had a very nice "view" room that I paid extra for. I was quite disappointed in the view. It was the same as the View lounge around the corner. You could only see a little lake between the buildings on the other side of the street. I'd stay there again but not pay extra or expect a view.

Room Tip: Stay for the location not the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nanstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here based on reviews here and on other websites. We stayed one night so we could go to the Seattle Art Museum. We found the staff helpful, and we were upgraded to a double queen, view room upon check-in, which we appreciated. The room was large, with a 42" flatscreen TV and a nice view of the lake. The shower was good--good water pressure. The bed was comfortable. There was a bar sink and mini fridge in the room, but no in-room safe. The free wifi worked fine, but I couldn't get the wired connection to work (not sure if it was my computer's setup, and I didn't have time to fiddle with it). Breakfast was good, in a room with a view of the lake. The free parking was convenient, and we left our car at the hotel and took the shuttle into town. The staff allowed us to leave our car for the day, even after we had checked out.

The shuttle runs twice an hour and has 3 routine stops: the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, and Pioneer Square. Book a place on the shuttle at the front desk to be sure you get a spot at your preferred time (it holds 14 people). For the return trip, just call the hotel and request pickup at one of the stops and they come by for you within 10 minutes. (There are pay phones in Pike Place Market if your cell phone doesn't have roaming or you don't want to pay roaming charges.) The shuttle driver is very helpful, with lots of interesting information--just ask. Be sure to leave him a tip!

Our only criticism of this hotel was the location. It's in a bit of an industrial area, overlooking a busy road (all night) with no shops or restaurants nearby. There is no restaurant in the hotel. Driving to other parts of town can be confusing because of road construction near the hotel. We got lost a couple of times driving to and from a restaurant on the other side of the I-5. Given the price of the room, however, I think we got good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,172 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £122 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing