We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View You Won't Get Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely View You Won't Get Downtown”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 4 year old son for two nights. We stayed in a double queen view room on the 7th floor. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to downtown and for the amenities-free parking, free breakfast-that we couldn't get at a downtown hotel. The room was pretty standard, but good. My only complaint is that the bathroom was tiny, with barely enough room to open and shut the door. We used the complimentary shuttle service to go to Pike Place. It sure beat having to pay for parking and navigating around town on our own, especially with all the summer construction.

Breakfast was in the most beautiful dining area of any hotel I've been to. It wasn't quite the variety I've had at some hotels, but it met most of our needs. The pool and hot tub were nice and the exercise facility seemed well equipped. The hotel staff were courteous, however were not very knowledgable about family friendly dining in any area other than what was in walking distance from the hotel.

The view made it worth the price. I could not imagine staying on the other side of the hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    400
    76
    19
    9
See reviews for
491
435
35
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had two groups staying at this hotel for two 40th birthday parties. The staff and shuttle driver were so accommodating and friendly, helping all 11 of us get to where we needed to go. The rooms were nice, clean and very comfortable. We had a beautiful view of Lake Union and it was in a very convenient location. If you're looking for a great place to stay in Seattle I would highly recommend this Silver Cloud Lake Union. The staff really made all the difference! We felt like we were getting VIP treatment the whole time!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Lake Union, it's a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A friendly staff and clean room. The hotel is close to downtown for a reasonable price. Great view from the room. Delicious local restaurants a close walk away. Overall a fantastic experience and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnemetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great view of Lake Union and the surrounding area including the Space Needle for my first visit to Seattle! Excellent breakfasts, clean and comfortable room, free parking, convenient and professional shuttle service.....everything was terrific!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seemore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 day family trip to Seattle. Would stay here again. Just off Interstate 5 (but you can't hear it) this is a very nice hotel. Beware if you get a View room of the lake, it is nice but you will hear traffic from street beginning at 5 am if your bed is on that side of the room. Still it is great to watch the kayaks, sailboats, and seaplanes in the lake. One night there was a sailboat training session, and it was quite a sight as the sun set down.

This hotel seems to be a favorite of visiting consultants for Amazon, and they are typically dropped off first on all shuttle runs, but that is a minor inconvenience. The hotel shuttle makes regular runs to (a) Pike's Market and the (b) Space Needle and (c) Pioneer Square. Free clothes washers on each floor, but they are kept busy and aren't supposed to be used past 8 pm.

You are a 30 minute walk to the Space Needle, which would be 10 minutes less if so many sidewalks and streets were not closed due the Seattle construction boom. Really, the "Emerald City" is really the "Broken Concrete Village" as of June 2014, with more sidewalks closed than any place I have ever visited. I doubt if any GPS on earth can keep up with the changes -- ours could not.

Biggest Pros of Hotel: Free shuttle + excellent free breakfast each morning with waffles, sausage, eggs, muffins, fruit, all in a great room with a nice view of the lake. What you would spend $15+ in any restaurant. The shuttle is pretty dependable when leaving hotel, harder to predict when being picked up, but most of that is likely due to the sidewalk/street mess of downtown Seattle as of June 2014.

Biggest Cons of Hotel: It would be nice if it were a little closer to the tourist stuff, but that is a minor point. Only a few eating places within a 5 minute walk, but one is a nice Irish pub.

I would stay here again if visiting Seattle.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms on West side hear some street noise beginning at 5 am but worth the sunset views. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Let’s start at 5 stars, and move our way down to the 2 star average that this hotel deserves.

5 stars: The hotel was clean (slightly aged, but clean). Brown, brown carpet, brown walls, brown duvet, brown drapes, but clean. The fitness center was well equipped with free weights, machines, and cardio equipment. And it was available 24/7, which is great.
4 stars: We had a very poor view, but that doesn’t apply to the whole hotel. Even though it is labeled as a lake-side hotel, it’s in the middle of a business park, and about 2 thirds of the guests (us included) will be looking into surrounding buildings. That said, this remaining third probably has a pretty nice view of the lake. To be part of this lucky third, there is about a 30% upgrade upcharge on the standard room price.
3 stars: Hotel staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. They weren’t rude, or mean, but they were definitely indifferent about their guests. They did not seem to want to work there.
2 stars: Breakfast was not good. Even though it was “complimentary”, I would rather spend additional money elsewhere. This was one of the reasons that we chose this hotel, and the food was that bad. We figured that at least we could spend breakfast with a nice view of the lake, but unfortunately the view from the observation deck/breakfast hall is completely blocked by trees. Whose idea was that?
1 star: The location is piss poor. I guess this is partially our fault for not doing more research, but now I can at least warn you guys. We figured that since it is right on the lake, there would be signs of life. Nope, nothing. Closest café was 4 blocks away, and since it’s in a business park, it only operates during normal business hours (M-F, 9am – 4pm). There is really nothing in walking distance. The location of this hotel does not justify its rates, or the ridiculously high rating it has gotten on this website. Note that we were in Seattle on business, not for pleasure. Still, being so far from food, shopping, entertainment of any form, made it a very inconvenient hotel.
0 stars: The coffee. I am not a coffee connoisseur be any stretch of the imagination. On a bad day, I’ll be happy with some Folgers in my cup. But the stuff they had here, oh man. It must have been silt from the bottom of Lake Union, slightly flavored in an old coffee can. We gave it I really good shot. First we tried it in the lobby. Horrible! We figured that the poor soul that brewed that batch must have never heard of coffee in his life, or seen what it looks like. So, we gave it another shot in our room. This time we were in control, so how could it be bad, right? WRONG! It was the same mess from the lobby. The next morning at breakfast (read: 2 stars) we really needed the coffee to get our day started, so we decided to brave the cup one last time. Remember, there were no coffee shops in the area (read: 1 star), and we really needed something by this point. And even this third time we had to throw the brown stuff out. How in the world do you have a hotel with bad coffee? How do you have a hotel in Seattle, the birthplace of Starbucks (a Starbucks on every corner, except for this forsaken location), and have horrible coffee?! For Pete’s sake! This is a hotel in a business district! How do they not have something to get people out of bed?!

Please be warned. This hotel was horrible. The high rating it has here is not accurate by any stretch. The staff didn’t care, the breakfast was bad, the location was depressing, and the lack of coffee was unacceptable.

Room Tip: Either pay extra for a lake-view room, or even better, avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjrtom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeUnionManager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your correspondence regarding your concerns from your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we are doing well and what can be improved upon. I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced.

We pride ourselves in clean and comfortable rooms with friendly and efficient service and it is obvious we failed to meet our goals during your visit. I am sorry you weren’t pleased with what South Lake Union has to offer. While we aren’t downtown we certainly have a variety of great dining and night life options just a few blocks away. The South Lake Union Trolley is a great transportation option if you don’t feel like walking and the stop is just one block south of us. And if South Lake Union isn’t your scene our complimentary shuttle will take you to three stops downtown. That way you can leave your car in our complimentary parking garage and never have to move it. And with three Starbucks locations within a one mile radius of us there are quite a few ways to get to one.

I appreciate your comments very much. If I may be of service in any way please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for my brother's wedding. Great suite room. Clean. Friendly. Kind of a trick in terms of driving, but hey! It's Seattle! Complimentary parking-rare in Seattle!!! Centrally located, had a GREAT view of the Space Needle from our room.
This is a really great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlamingoKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,080 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing