We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked at more or less the last minute, due the necessity to go to a medical appointment at the University of Washington. There was both a conference and soccer tournament taking place in or near Seattle, so many hotels were filled. The room here, while just under $300 for a two Queen (King?) room with a view, was still less than others we'd considered. You can see lots of boats, and seaplanes (the noise may bother some but it doesn't occur all that often and only during the day). There was limited traffic noise from the street in front of us.

The hotel is not new or fancy, but fine. Breakfast is included. There is one free washing machine and dryer per floor. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Front desk gives out a map. Parking is free. If you don't have a car, you rely on buses and/or the hotel's shuttle, which can take you to the Space Needle, Westfield Center or Pioneer Square (we also heard people getting a ride to the Amtrak station). You need to sign up in advance. For the return trip, you need to phone. Wait could be short or long. When we wanted to go to a downtown rental car location, driver was accommodating and took us right there. To get to Husky Stadium, where the medical clinic we went to was located, we had to take a taxi. We had gotten from the airport to the hotel by taxi, and that cost over $40.

I'd personally rather stay closer to tourist sites, but the location isn't bad. I felt the price exceptionally high for the quality of hotel, but it was very busy so prices were higher than normal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

All staff at the Silver Cloud should be applauded for their exceptional service! Customer service were extremely helpful, as were the drivers of the complimentary shuttle buses, which drop off and pick up on the half hour to three regularly sort locations. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. Rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Breakfast is included, the complimentary parking was also appreciated. Aussie Family Abroad!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and I am thoroughly impressed. The staff was great and polite they even managed to check us in early. We stayed in the King room with Lake View option. The room was sort of small width-wise but regardless was amazing. The full sized window/doors opened up to let in the great, clean and fresh Washington air and we had a view that included the Space Needle. The selection of furniture was a perfect fit for us(couch, love seat, desk) as we both had our laptops to work off of.

The best thing was that we are out far enough to not get all the noise expected from downtown but we were in walking distance of the Space Needle(20 minute walk) or we could take the complimentary shuttle that runs almost all day to any of the major attractions around Seattle(Space Needle/Pike Place Market).

I would absolutely recommend staying here if all these are qualities you are looking for.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the King with Lake View. Although there are seaplanes flying and landing in the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zetasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our family's first visit to Seattle, and we were so glad we stayed at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean, and accommodated all 5 of us comfortably. Breakfast had something for everyone, and was abundant and fresh. The pool was small, but perfect for a quick dip for the kids. We loved the location - lovely view of the lake and watercraft, including seaplanes taking off and landing. Kayak and SUP boards available to rent right across the street! While many of the sights were walking distance from the hotel, the shuttle was so convenient to get to the top attractions. We appreciated being out of the congestion of downtown, but were still able to walk to restaurants (Duke;s on the lakefront was our favorite), and the city trolley stop is outside the door as well. Parking in the garage was included as well. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excaliber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed several nights on a family trip to Seattle. It is a little outside the core on Lake Union. The queen bed room was perfectly set up for a family of four with double sinks and a separate area for the shower and bathroom. Included was a free breakfast, parking and downtown shuttle which made this a very affordable choice. The kids enjoyed the pool. The neighbourhood was safe and fun to explore with good restaurants nearby. We did a bit of walking along the lake and then to the Space Needle and another day found the REI store (and Vivace coffee!) nearby - but that shuttle was so convenient. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights in June. Rooms are spacious (double queen). We were on the lake side which has great views of Lake Union, with a nice breeze coming in. Bathroom is very small, but there is a nice vanity in the room itself. Nice size tv in the room with HBO. Parking can be tight if you have a large vehicle. There are only a couple places to eat in walking distance, and no real stores to speak of. They have a shuttle that will take you to the needle or the wharf, and you can call for pickup. Breakfast is pretty decent, but can get very crowded. They have a small store to buy drinks or sundries, a washer/dryer combo free on each floor. They sell detergent & bounce in the store. Everyone is quite nice, the shuttle drivers are great sources of info for finding places.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the lake side and the non lake side. You get more noise on the lake side, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollarbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Away from the main stream, yet an easy walk from the Space Needle, downtown and Pike's. Clean and well maintained. Shuttle was easy to get - wish it went to the outlet malls though. Breakfast was a great bonus that kept you going most of the day. Great view from the room as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,729 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £120 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing