We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2008

So I could not decide between Inn at Harbor Steps, Westin, Hyatt, or this property. I cannot say enough great stuff and how I chose the perfect property for families. We booked a suite, which was like an Embassy Suites Style, Huge Room, super clean, divided living room from Bedroom (son slept in Living Room). Breakfast was nothing amazing, but It was plenty and filling- Bagels, Waffles, Sweet Breads, Juice, Coffee and more. Great Shuttle and location. Will Stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bandits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2008

CLEAN.. Spacious room, very reasonably priced, shuttle service was excellent, and the location was great. Next time I'm in Seattle I will definitely be back at the Silver Cloud Lake Union!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We (2 adults, 1 infant) stayed there for about a week. Our room was clean and spacious and included a gas fireplace and a lake view. The decor throughout was neutral and tasteful. The service was outstanding and staff were very kind in helping us with things we needed for the baby (portable crib, extra towels, etc.) and for ourselves. We made a lot of use of the shuttle service to and from downtown. The stops are convenient, the service very friendly and they even had a carseat for our little one to sit in. The breakfast buffet was more than enough to fill us up for the morning and we enjoyed the all-day hot drinks service in the lobby. The 24-hour pool was great in the middle of the night when we were awake due to jet-lag. The complimentary guest laundry (washer/dryer on most floors) was really handy and meant that we didn't have to bring a lot of extra clothes since we knew we could wash our stuff and the baby's things during the week. We brought our own detergent but I think the gift shop might sell single packets of powder for those in need. One negative of the hotel is its location; there's really not much in the area. Okay there are a few restaurants but not really for families or casual dining and not enough to keep you going for a whole week. There are really no other shops or cafes in the immediate vicinity. A supermarket or convenience store could be found within a 20-min walk but not closer than that. It's not a bad or dangerous neighborhood by any means, just kind of devoid of commerce. Oh, and hardly any restaurants even deliver to that neighborhood. It's just outside of the delivery range of most downtown restaurants and the few that do deliver in that area aren't very good. We were advised against some of them (reputation for yucky food) and the others that we did try were pretty awful all the same (cardboard pizza, overly-greasy stir-fry that caused bellypains). So if you're not prepared to get in the shuttle and/or drive somewhere for meals, or if you need late-night sustenance, you might end up out of luck.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank skoolmarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Wasn't sure about the area at first but better than expected. Local restaurants along the road in walking distance. Shuttle service to 3 locations in downtown Seattle which was great. Hotel was clean and breakfast was enough of a choice to keep us happy. Comfortable stay and good service.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedums_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I didn't know what to expect from a local chain, and I was very pleasantly surprised to have all my expectations met. The king bed and armchair-ottoman combo were comfortable and in good repair, lighting was plentiful, the floors were well padded (good for my morning stretches), the wireless internet access was trouble-free, the room ventilation worked well, and the showerhead was unclogged (little things count!). The in-room microwave and refrigerator were godsends, allowing my wife and I to economize on our meal expenses. The continental breakfasts included some protein as well as grains (I eat low-carb), so the hotel gets bonus points for that. The hotel even has a nicely equipped gym, with cardio, machines, dumbbells, and stability balls, so I could do complete workouts.

The complementary computer room (with printer) was a novelty for me, and I appreciated it when it came time to print our boarding passes.

The one time we requested housekeeping service -- paper towels at 7:30 PM -- they were at our door within 10 minutes. The room was always immaculate, even though we left later in the mornings, after the housekeeping staff made its first rounds. The desk staff was courteous and attentive.

Being close to I-5, the major north-south highway here, is a plus, although the one-way streets around it require some learning.

The price was very reasonable, too, considering all the amenities.

The Silver Cloud chain pays attention to the big and small things, making our stay here very pleasant. We would definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jake3_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I had looked at the Silver Cloud on line, but chose a cheaper hotel closer to downtown. The other hotel was less than expected, so we called and switched. We were pleasantly surprised at everything. Parking was included. The pool was indoor, heated and nice. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices and in a very pleasant room with a great view of the lake and the seaplanes, looking toward the picturesque hills across the lake. The room was a little larger that a standard hotel room and the chair converted to a single bed, making the 5 of us very comfortable. The TV was a large flat screen - nice. Our view was just of the buildings behind, but if you get an upper floor on the lake side, the views are gorgeous. We took the hotel shuttle to a Mariners game - very convienent not to have to drive. I wish I had known how much we would have enjoyed our selves here and stayed longer.

I think on the map, the location looks far from the center of town, but that really isn't the case. We found some of the streets downtown to be a little seedy, so unless you are on the waterfront directly, or at one of the pricey boutique hotels, avoid the cheaper rooms a few blocks from 2nd St. A few more blocks and you are at Lake Union, just behind the Space Needle, actually very close and with the shuttle service, you won't have to worry about finding parking. Then just relax and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sierra225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We were in town for the weekend and tried the Silver Cloud for the first time. Awesome stay. We have two young children and they loved the pool. It was walking distance to many fine restaurants.
The best part of the stay was the shuttle service.
We parked our car for weekend and never used it once -- that to us made the weekend even more pleasant.

The front desk was helpful and polite. The shuttle drivers were great. Kudos to all the drivers. The beds were O.K. and rooms were clean.

The breakfast was very good and well stocked. Great way to start the morning.

Would definitely stay again but only if the shuttle service was running.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmarshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,130 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 102 in Seattle
1,539 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £119 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing