We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco Polo Motel”
Review of Marco Polo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marco Polo Motel
Ranked #85 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This motel saved us a lot of money and both the staff and the location were really great. The staff helped us with directions and even let us leave our luggage at the reception while we were gone during the day before we went to the airport. The location is pretty good - I have read some bad reviews - none of them were true! The neighborhood is safe and its a 10 drive either by bus or by car to the center of Seattle. There could be a little bit more of a variation to the breakfast but overall we were happy here and would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieDv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

This motel hosted a lot of partiers that kept us awake all night. We tried to call the front desk repeatedly, but no one answered. Heaven forbid there was an actual emergency! We also had no towels when we arrived. The room was dirty as well; we found some hairs and a rhinestone in our beds, and there was some sort of splatter on the wall. (??) Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msiraj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for the luxuries of a hotel like the Hyatt, Westin or Sheraton in this place forget it. We were moving and needed a place to stay for cheap and we found the Marco Polo. The price was totally in our price range of what we wanted to spend.

We were checked in by Jonathan, really nice guy. The check-in process was quick and easy. I noticed how all he room keys are just laying on the front desk where anyone could grab one, that's a security issue. The lobby was small and kind of crowded with furniture, they had the breakfast set up in the corner and a computer set up right next to the entrance. The exterior of the motel looks well kept.

Our room...
Upon walking in we could smell a strange odor but got use to it and did not smell it anymore. The first thing I noticed were the several cigarette burns in the comforters on both beds. On one of the beds I pulled back the sheets and found several hairs, the second bed when I pulled the sheets back there were food stains and hairs (see pics). This did not bother us as we brought our own pillow and blankets to make the beds. Behind the beds we saw tons of dirt, food, trash etc that's probably been back there for months, years?

The fridge was clean but the freezer part was filthy and there was a quarter frozen inside (see pic), the microwave was pretty clean. When we checked in we were given instructions on how to work the tv, they only have about ten channels.

The bathroom is pretty small, towels need to be replaced (see pic) and the window could use a scrubbing. When taking a hot shower you can expect the entire bathroom to be wet from the steam...and I mean EVERYTHING, toilet paper will get soggy! The water pressure was insane but felt really good so some of you may need a helmet when showering.

On a good note the staff was very friendly, wifi worked great, easy bus ride into downtown and walking distance to the Freemont and Wallingford neighborhoods. There is no security here so on the weekend when the parties start you'll just have to bear the noise. We did not see any drug deals, hookers or crackheads as some others have claimed to see, maybe next time. The washer and dryer is a joke do not use them unless you want to keep feeding it your money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vee1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We needed a economical place to stay while we found a place to live in Seattle. This worked for us for 5 days. The furnishings and linens ARE OLD but we found the place to be clean. They do have coffee and packaged muffins in the morning. It is convenient to have a small frig and microwave in the room, computer for use in the office, free wifi (we were in a room near the office and it worked great), and laundry facilities on site. The parking is also free which can save you alot in downtown Seattle. You can walk to Wallingford and Fremont which both have groceries, restaurants, entertainment (movies, pubs). We walked during the day and at night, together and solo, and did not feel afraid.
The staff are very helpful. They gave us directions for catching the bus (right up the street) to downtown; the trip took about 10 minutes including stops.

Room Tip: If you want in-room wi-fi, ask for room closest to office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewisandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A run-down establishment with filthy mattresses colourful stained and a stained matching ceiling. Breakfast facilities almost non-existant and a very poor choice, a coffee in a plastic cup and a small muffin.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petros48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I'm by no means going to argue for this hotel. For the price is was just fine. Had a nice big room- had three beds to ourselves (there was only two of us) the price was decent and we weren't cheated on anything. Looks like a seedy area- but it's not that bad. Looks scary at night but during the day, looks ok. It's a little tough getting to downtown if you're not driving. We had a hard time trying to catch the bus. Maybe we weren't seeing the right schedule but I couldn't find an easy way to get downtown from where we were at. It's however only an $18 cab ride.

The hotel itself was a no frills type of place, but it was very clean. The shower was a little small but it did the job well enough. Had a fridge and microwave which always helps when you are trying to stay in budget and keep food or make it. I would always much rather have a room that had those things. We were lucky to get a room and such a good deal in the time we did. The guy checking us in was very nice / helpful. I thourghly enjoyed this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elrania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We booked this hotel as it was the cheapest for Seattle as other hotels were coming in expensive for what we were looking for. We found some of the staff really nice and helpful(Jonathan). We found it to be in a decent location for our needs. The hotel is on the main road, but quiet enough in fairness. Go across the bridge to your left, walk in 2 streets, take a left and 10minutes down the road your in Fremont. Everyone seems to go to here on the weekend. Its a cool small part of town, with a lot going on. Every sunday they have the famous Fremont market going on and the place is buzzing. Some great food stalls here as well. Roxys diner is a good find as well, food is well tasty and resonable.

Behind the hotel there is another part of town that is decent as well. With plenty of places to eat and have a few drinks. All within walking distance, so you could leave the car at the hotel. Its only about another 10minute walk as well.

My problem with this hotel was the standard they have with their rooms. They look good and are of good size, plus the place is quiet enough. My issue was the towels had stains on them it made you think somebody did something to them.. And the bed had a stain on it too. Also I found 2 long black hairs on both of my pillows. When I went over about these issues to the staff,(chinese guy named Mark) he could hardy speak a full conversation and he didnt care what I had to say. And I ended up walking out after about 2minutes. I was really annoyed in his attempt to do something about it. He didnt do a thing and basically brushed me aside.. So I wasnt a happy man,but if im honest id stay here again no problems.
For us it worked well for us and would recommend it to others looking to stay in Seattle. All hotels downtown are expensive. And this did the job for us..
We're already looking at coming back to Seattle and will look at this hotel again..

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor, they seem to be bigger in size with a fridge and microwave..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanrowe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Days Inn Seattle North
#84 of 105 in Seattle
464 reviews
Bellevue
The College Inn
The College Inn
#95 of 105 in Seattle
100 reviews
University Motel Suites
#74 of 105 in Seattle
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motel

Address: 4114 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103-7812
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Fremont , Lake Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £52 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marco Polo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing