We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Made this hotel my home base while in Seattle to help a family member move into an apartment in the U-District. I found the location very convenient, the staff very friendly, the free breakfast plentiful, and my room spacious if a bit musty-smelling. It didn't bother me; I was only there to sleep. Many of the other guests were there prior to a cruise and were very self-absorbed in the breakfast room...dawdling at the coffee counter and obstructing others, but that's no reflection on the hotel, just an observation. I had rented a medium-sized SUV and definitely agree with the other reviewers who criticized the parking garage. The spaces marked for SUVs are only big enough for a normal car and the spaces marked for compact cars are really only big enough for a Smart car or Mini Cooper. Forget the garage and park outside if you are back early enough to find a spot there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rs37064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,
James O'Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    583
    132
    26
    12
See reviews for
589
568
76
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Other than its proximity to Seattle Center, this property in downtown Seattle is an average stay at best. The entrance to the hotel sneaks up on you and there's very few places to park until you get checked in and are allowed into their underground, gated garage. The lobby is extremely small. In fact, I wasn't even sure it was the main lobby when I first got there. After checking in and making my way to my room, I was met with a very strong smell of Febreze in the hallways and the room itself. That's never a good sign, because it usually means they're trying to cover up some other smells. At one point during the stay, I needed a sewing kit. I asked the front desk, who checked and said they were out but they would bring one to my room. That never happened. The one good thing I can say is that, while there was no bacon or sausage at breakfast (only eggs, biscuits and gravy, and all the typical cold fare), the cook was happy to cook me some sausage patties which were great. There are no views from the rooms of this hotel either. It's too short to be able to see anything of Seattle and the windows are small. I'd look someplace else when staying in Seattle. There are literally hundreds of other options.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank WashingtonOurHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback and opinions. We deeply appreciate your time, as it is whether negative or positive we grow from what is shared. Mr. Ebel, you are a valued guest, we appreciate your business. Your comfort is our highest priority and we completely understand if you choose another Hilton brand property to stay during your visits to the Seattle area. We wish you pleasant and peaceful future travels.


Hospitably Yours,

James Oneal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Was in Seattle for a few days over last weekend, both on business and for personal reasons. The location of this hotel was perfect for my meetings at the Convention Center, and it was a pleasure to stay there. The staff was helpful and friendly, all areas of the hotel are clean, my room was spacious and pleasant, there is a work-out room on the main floor, and the breakfast buffet (included in the price) was good and plentiful, open from 6:00 to 10:00 AM, with coffee available all day. Wi-fi in the room is free for Hhonor members and, in addition, there are two computers, printers , etc. in the lobby for the use of guests. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,
James O'Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
807 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks while in Seattle for work. The staff was very friendly. One time I walked past a meeting of maids and each one greeted me in turn. It was like a receiving line. Room was always clean, and I always had way more towels than I needed. The suites are fantastic and a great value. I really liked the little touches like the gas fireplace. Bed was very comfortable and the walk in closet was fantastic. The gym facility is very good with 3 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, and 2 stationary bikes, some floor space, and a weight station and machine. They also have tons of channels in the gym so I enjoyed watching out of town hockey there. They provide a shuttle to various offices and the driver was super friendly and made it very convenient. The free breakfasts were also very nice with a roating selection of hot items, a waffle bar, plenty of cereals, baked goods, and fruit, and pretty decent coffee. They also have to go bags for breakfast with an apple, muffin, and cereal bar which were very nice for the mornings when I was running late. A great experience and it made my long stay in Seattle better each day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,
James O'Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Hampton Inn was in a good location for visitors to downtown Seattle. It was within walking distance of the Space Needle and Seattle Center where you could catch the monorail to Westlake Center and all of the things to see in the center of the city. When I checked in I found that I had been upgraded to a king suite which was great! The room was very large and included a full kitchen, living and dining area and a separate bedroom. The bathroom could be reached from both sides and was very large. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. Since I only stayed for one night I didn't utilize the kitchen much but it looked very well equipped. There was a nice balcony area with a couple of chairs. The staff were all very pleasant. There are plenty of restaurants in the area within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For quiet room ask for one facing the inner area away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grove911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,
James O'Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Everyone was more than helpful and kind with our three little children, VERY impressed with hotel and would look to stay at a Hampton hotel again if the opportunity arose. Great and comfortable room, nice variety of breakfast options over several days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,
James O'Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Warm and welcoming staff. Clean room. Great location. Sports bar next door had fantastic food. Got shuttled to place I needed to be both days by hotel staff. Overall, a great value and I would certainly stay at this hotel again when in Seattle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondowntown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to the Seattle area.

Hospitably Yours,
James O'Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Address: 700 Fifth Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109-4209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#13 Family Hotel in Seattle
#14 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
Hampton Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
Hampton Inn Seattle
Seattle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing