We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, amazing value for younger travellers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, amazing value for younger travellers.”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Location, location, Location! Situated directly opposite Pike Place and close to all the action. Easy to get here from Greyhound depot, just 15 minutes walk. The staff here are friendly and informative. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean and well maintained. They have the best bunks; with privacy curtains, reading light, backpack size lockers, power sockets and a personal electric fan. The free breakfast, evening meals and coffee are a great plus. There is also free WiFi and computers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    184
    45
    19
    28
See reviews for
22
63
248
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

First and foremost, it does seem like a legit place and well deserving of the high reviews. Location can't really be beat - literally across the street from Pike's and pretty central to other things like museums, the monorail, the Columbia center, ferries, etc. The bathrooms had to have been the best set up I have seen (keep in mind it was a slow period when I went). Where I was at, there were four individual bathroom/shower rooms per maybe 10-12 rooms. You could tell they were recently updated and kept very clean.
Like others have stated - being able to make your own breakfast seemed cool and gives you the opportunity to socialize. Other than that though, the common area was pretty average.
I didn't go on any of the events so I can't comment.

Here is the but part. The room I was in (2 bunk beds, four people total) was in an extremely small room. It would have been small but probably avg for hostel standards for two grown men. But for four? Man was it stuffy (although it was like 30 degrees outside) with the small space just really contributed to the uncomfortable smelly environment that smelly traveling men create.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesweetscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

When I went last year, they had just done some renos and painting. Great place to stay, very helpful staff. Large dining area and kitchen area to do your own grub. AND right across from Pike's Place Market so you can get fresh everything to cook with. Also nice restaurants nearby. If stairs are an issue, I wouldn't go if I were you as it's located upstairs. Just a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taowalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Came here in November 2011 with a mate for 2 days. Perfect location to the market and walking distance to the Needle. Staff were super friendly, beds were big and had the privacy of a curtain. I especially liked the Pinball machines in the common area.
The free meals were also very good, I've had hostel spaghetti before - i.e. a tin of tomatoes over week old pasta - but this came with meat sauce, salad, steamed veges, parmesan cheese and garlic bread. Huge common area as well despite it being very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here during July 2011. The staff were super friendly and made us feel at home right away. This was a nice break after are horrible hostel experience we had in San Francisco. Anyway this place had curtains to pull across your bed to give you privacy, was located right next to everything and generally was of great value. If we end up in Seattle again, we'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We came here after 4 days in City Hostel and no doubt, Tortoise is much better hostel than city. It has an ideal location, the staff is very friendly and the hostel itself is clean and confortable. City hostel is sad and boring, defitively we prefer Green tortoise to City. Great Hostel. By the way, we are not teenager travellers, we are both 45 years old, so...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andoniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

an amazing place to meet excellent people and start having fun in a new city.

the bunks here are set up perfectly with privacy curtains, fans, a reading light and plugs for each bunk! the beds are really sturdy and are built from floor to ceiling, so you've got a decent amount of space and don't feel like your rolling around will disturb your bunkmate. it makes me wonder why every hostel can't be like this. the bathrooms are another luxury for backpackers. clean, single bathrooms with a shower, sink, toilet all in one room.

then there's the location... you can't get any better. right across from pike place market. the only downside is parking. you have to park at a garage a couple blocks away and it is pretty expensive.

and i haven't even mentioned the staff! everyone was so friendly and helpful. there are a ton of organized events to get you out and experiencing the city and meeting people. i highly recommend sascha's food tour. you get to try tons of amazing food and see areas of the city you would probably never find on your own. and it's only $20. it's such a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldblkhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,624 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#20 of 100 in Seattle
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,004 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
2,131 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Property: The Green Tortoise Hostel
Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing