We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ Great Location, Atmosphere, People.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hostel was amazing - You're a 25 minute away from Amtrak with buses right up the main street to Pike. You're location is perfect for a lot of the sightseeing in Seattle - short walk to the Space Needle, Pike St. Market, EMP Museum (which they have discounted tickets for!)
~Positives~
- 24/7 hour reception, able to come and go as you please
- free dinner some nights, free daily breakfast, activity every night (Sasha's pub crawls are the best)
- Inside smoking room off the common room but you rarely smell it, unless inside the actual smoking room. Please note that marijuana is legal in the state of Washington - so it can be found inside the smoking room as well as while out at bars/on the streets.
- You can leave your bags in day storage while checking in/out.
- You have curtains around your bunk which gives you a little more privacy as well as fans/lights.
~ Cons ~
Wifi is only accessible while in the common room however I didn't mind this as much as it meant you had to speak with the other travellers around.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom bunk if possible - the top ones are quite high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, location is great only being a 5 min walk from transport and across from Pike Place Market.

Its nice the way they have the bathrooms with separate rooms for the toilet and shower so you get privacy using a bathroom. I really liked this.

I am also tall, so its nice that my feel can hang off the end of the bed!

The common area is nothing special, I've certainly stayed in Hostels with more relaxing spaces and chill out zones. This is the only slight let down for me

Free WiFi, Lockers are quite big so its easy to fit your things (remember to bring a padlock for lockers in the room)

I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I love everything about the Green Tortoise, it's my go to place to stay in Seattle. The hostel is always clean, rooms, bathrooms, and common areas. I love that breakfast is included. The staff are always friendly, and the different activities (pub crawls and so forth)a are a great way to get know others staying at the hostel. I've made many long term friends that way through the years. I love that the beds have curtains and a personal fan. The bunks are sturdy and the hostel is generally pretty quiet during sleeping hours because the common areas are away from the sleeping areas. There are lockers to store your stuff while you're out and keys to get into individual rooms.
The location is great, right next to the market and very close to transit everywhere else. It's a great starting point for all the fun stuff in Seattle. Generally safe area, just respect the city and you'll be fine. Near the waterfront as well.
I will definitely stay here again, any time I'm in Seattle.

Room Tip: Take your own lock for the lockers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveWithHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. Stayed in 3 different rooms over 4 nights. One 4 bed with 3 others, one four bed alone and in a queen bed, and in another 4 bed with 3 others. All 3 rooms were clean and warm enough. One was actually a little cold and they took care of it right away.
The location, right outside the Market is both touristy and sketchy, but there are homeless beggars all over town and they are relatively harmless.
There's two grocery stores nearby within 2 blocks) and a cheap chain department store for all your other needs on the block. Inside there is a large common room with several computers for your free use (they ask you to limit to 30 mins. if others are waiting). I only had to wait once.
For breakfast they offer eggs and pancake batter for make-your-owns, white and whole wheat sliced loafs for toasting and provide butter, peanut butter, and 2 jams. There were also halved bananas and pineapple chunks and juice. Free coffee was available 24/7.
The kitchen has 2 large stoves, plenty of cooking utensils, pots, pans, plates, etc. There are 2 large fridges for storage and a sharing shelf for left-overs.
There are free dinners 3 nights a week (alternating spaghetti or tacos) which are great for their communality. The meal itself was not memorable and it was free, but getting to meet lots of people was worth it.
I was here for NYE and went with folks to see the fireworks one night after dinner. There are also other organized events, outside events (free walking tours), and a ride board.
There is AMPLE storage space under the beds.
The staff here are great. Made sure my stay was well-provided for and attended to all my questions and needs.
I HIGHLY recommend it and the only reason it is not a 5 is because it is not a 5 star hotel. For what it is, it is a 5+.

Room Tip: I would go for the 4 beds as opposed to 6 or 8. Choose a queen bed for 2 people sharing if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevinazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was my second stay at a hostel (the first was at a lighthouse near San Francisco). Loved my stay here. I talked my boyfriend into staying at the Green Tortoise. He had never stayed at a hostel and was a little leery of the new experience. But he agreed it was a great choice.
Fast check in and helpful service. Great free breakfasts (and free dinner one night of our stay). The location is perfect - one-half block from Pike's Market. The bunks had a storage locker beneath ($3 lock rental, but money is refunded on check out). The bunks also have privacy curtains, a lamp and a fan. Beds were comfortable. There are several bathrooms in each area (women's dorm, men's dorm and coed), and I had no problem with access to the restroom whenever I needed it (morning or night). The staff was great to provide recommendations. They will also let you store your luggage for free the day you check out, if you have a late flight and want to continue to explore. (They also let us store our luggage for $1 a bag the day of our flight as we had checked out several days previously and traveled to Vancouver before coming back to catch a flight from Seattle). I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I prefer the bottom bunk. It's easier to get in and out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller84010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This place is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Prime location, we went to the market every morning, the original Starbucks is around the corner and lots of cute restaurants and bars. Went on the free pub crawl and free market tour, did I mention free!!! We were lucky that one of the nights there was a free dinner, and it was a million times better then I expected, delicious! The kitchen was also open for use in the mornings and had pancake batter to make your own pancakes! I liked the rooms with the pod beds, great for added privacy. Great service from staff, they were super helpful with directions and things to do. Have recommended to all my friends and now to all of you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great location as it is located just opposite famous Pike Place Market. Very near to the bus transit area on 3rd and 4th avenue. Within walking distance to most of the attractions in Seattle. Huge locker under the bed provided as well. However, the wifi only available at common area. It should make available in the rooms as well. They do provide breakfast, but they just provide all the raw ingredient and you need to make your own breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boonchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Park Hotel
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 103 in Seattle
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motif Seattle
Motif Seattle
#44 of 103 in Seattle
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Seattle
Price Range: £30 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing