We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first hostel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Tortoise Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my first time in a hostel, so I wasn't too sure what to expect. It was great! I only stayed there for one night, but I was very happy with my experience. Breakfast in the morning was tasty (make-your-own eggs and pancakes). Right next to Pike Place Market, and easy to walk to Amtrak and the light rail.
I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. The curtains, lights, and fans at each bed were very convenient. There was also a storage locker under the bottom bunk. I didn't have a lock, so I just bought a cheap $5 lock from the front desk that worked fine.
The front desk rents bikes, and it looks like they have a lot of events and tours organized too.
I'd definitely stay here again if I come back to Seattle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Em W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Travelled here for a group university course in mid-late May and loved it.
Could not comment on the pricing as it was all included with the group tour, but it was fully booked during our stay.

Rooms:
All of us were split into 6 bed dorm rooms, each has a sink but no bathroom/shower.
Privacy curtains, personal lights and fans are equipped on each bed - so handy!
Upper bunk beds can be difficult to climb to, but very high up and have large guardrails.
No food / drinks are allowed in the rooms, most likely due to pests
Can't access Wi-Fi from room unless late at night.
Several bathrooms are located throughout the hallways - each has a shower toilet and sink - be sure to go at night or mid-day, mornings are very busy!!

Facilities:
Free Wi-Fi and computers to use - so great. Can be slow at peak times for sure. Printing is super cheap if needed.
Free kitchen to use and free meal nights. If you're there for pasta night be sure to partake - very filling and well done!
Awesome vibe in the communal area, spent lots of time chilling out.
Laundry services available. Towels for $1.
Super secure security access.
Smoking room - didn't partake but looked fun.
Pub crawls and events organized on the daily.

Location:
Pretty much at Pike Place Market, couldn't get any closer to the action.
Plenty of museums, including SAM.
A fair amount of food; CityTarget is right next door.
Not super great for nightlife. Seattle's neighbourhoods are much more lively at night-time and are a bit of a walk from the hostel.
15min walk to Amtrak.

Would definitely come back to stay here on another trip, keep up the good work guys!

Room Tip: Higher up away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adamsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is an excellent hostel. Great location directly across from Pikes Market Center, free pasta & meat sauce dinner, comfortable beds with private storage area. Meet some really nice people. Hey Bees Knees & Danta. I really liked the curtains for privacy on each bunk. Couldnt ask for more in a hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MYALASKASOLSTICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hostel conveniently located right across the street from the Pike Street Markets. Enjoyed that the bunks had heaps of privacy as each bunk has curtains, its own power, a fan and a reading light. Only bad thing about this was that everyone had their curtains closed and kind of kept to themselves.

The hostel also seems to have events (walking tours, pub crawls, tickets to sporting events) planned out every or most days which I unfortunately wasn't able to participate in at the time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having stayed at the Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco I had high expectations for their Seattle hostel and I feel they were fully met! I have stayed here on multiple occasions at this point (basically any time I am staying the night in Seattle). The hostel is located just across the street from Pike Place Market and its many sounds and smells. Located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of an older building, which provides for some uniqueness in the hostel’s layout. The kitchen is well stocked with equipment, the common room has ample tables, and computers are available (about 3 or 4 I think). The only issue with the kitchen is that is more or less devoid of counter space, but I guess you work with what you have. The rooms are well set up and the bunk beds are great! The bunks are solidly built- no creaking and squeaking here- all have lights, outlets, and curtains to add a small air of privacy. They even have a few rooms with double bed bunks, so if you are a couple you can actually comfortably share a bed. The staff is always good natured, breakfast is available in the morning, and the hostel offers all types of events during the week (we had a particularly good time on the pub crawl). The Green Tortoise knows what they’re doing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at Seattle's 'Green Tortoise' in March of 2014 for a night. The pro's: very conveniently located, comfortable beds, several large baths with 'hot' showers, good breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, free WiFi, and very personable employees. The only con would be an odd odor in some of the areas. I believe that I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hostel was amazing - You're a 25 minute away from Amtrak with buses right up the main street to Pike. You're location is perfect for a lot of the sightseeing in Seattle - short walk to the Space Needle, Pike St. Market, EMP Museum (which they have discounted tickets for!)
~Positives~
- 24/7 hour reception, able to come and go as you please
- free dinner some nights, free daily breakfast, activity every night (Sasha's pub crawls are the best)
- Inside smoking room off the common room but you rarely smell it, unless inside the actual smoking room. Please note that marijuana is legal in the state of Washington - so it can be found inside the smoking room as well as while out at bars/on the streets.
- You can leave your bags in day storage while checking in/out.
- You have curtains around your bunk which gives you a little more privacy as well as fans/lights.
~ Cons ~
Wifi is only accessible while in the common room however I didn't mind this as much as it meant you had to speak with the other travellers around.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom bunk if possible - the top ones are quite high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Park Hotel
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 103 in Seattle
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motif Seattle
Motif Seattle
#44 of 103 in Seattle
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tortoise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tortoise Hostel

Address: 105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Seattle
Price Range: £30 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green Tortoise Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing