We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm stay in Seattle!”
Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bacon Mansion
Ranked #11 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely warm stay in Seattle!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We just returned from our son's wedding in Seattle and were so happy we chose The Bacon Mansion! Our wedding and all the other small festivities were right there in Capitol ill and it was incredibly convenient. But more than convenience, was the warm lovely accommodations for such a special weekend. We had a suite downstairs and our other son and girlfriend had a room upstairs. The owner Daryl was a great host and staff very helpful. I loved the look and feel of the house and can't wait to return!
Peggy & John Slattery
Los Angeles

Room Tip: I loved our Emerald Suite downstairs, large clawfoot tub, fireplace, lovely couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    44
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
63
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed overnight and we were really impressed. The bedding was wonderfu., Everything was very clean, and the neighbourhood was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was great. The owner, Darryl was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Highly recommended for a unique place to stay, Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed there with my 18-year old daughter a week ago so she could visit some colleges in the area. It is a very nice home in a fun area of town, and was perfectly situated between downtown Seattle and the University of Washington. I think the name of our room was The Garden Room, which worked perfectly for us because there was both a bed and a daybed, along with a private bath. The hospitality was excellent as well. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is in a good neighbourhood, very easy to get around.

Drawbacks: I called and asked if there was a desk in the room and was told there was. However, when I arrived, there was more like a little telephone table for a desk. Not good for a business traveler. The breakfast consisted of yogurt, cereals, fruit, coffee and homemade muffins. Not the standard I've come to expect from a B&B. They do advertise as a B&B, but they had a large # of rooms and guests, so it was more like a guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 790theresap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baconmansion, Owner at Bacon Mansion, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I would like to thank the reviewer for complimenting us for our location, friendliness and cleanliness. Also for pointing out that we have a larger number of rooms, each being very different from another at our B&B/Inn. The unique nine rooms with private baths all have a desk/table and the two smaller rooms that share a bath have a small table large enough for a laptop. WIFI is free. I encourage guests to use our patio in the summer and /or the dining room table if they require more space. Also, the reviewer mentioned our heart healthy breakfast including juices that we serve and have listed on our website. I get thanked often by guests for serving what we do and not some heavy dish they feel they must eat when placed in front of them.
We do our best to be flexible for to the special needs of our business guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Bacon Mansion is located just a few blocks from Capitol Hill in Seattle- which is full of great restaurants. I would much rather stay in an area like this over downtown Seattle. Just a short drive down to the Space Needle and into downtown. The guy that showed us around the bed and breakfast was very friendly and ready to answer questions. Rooms are a little small (we were on the 3rd floor and I think the rooms are bigger on the second floor) but it was all we needed, comfy bed and a little waterfall on the patio made for soothing water sounds all night long with the window open.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshell776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Bacon Mansion one night for a wedding that was held there. It is a beautiful mansion in a lovely part of Seattle. The rooms were large, as were the bathrooms and everything was a beautifully appointed. There's a lovely shaded garden area where the wedding was held. The food was delicious. Breakfast was good, fresh ground coffee, homemade muffins, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals. They also catered the wedding and all the food was outstanding. Daryl was also able to provide detailed tourist information. We loved it there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Yet another long weekend get away that almost went sideways. Originally booked another place that was not quite up to par on Camano Island and after a 4 hour wait at the border we were determined to find a place fast! Seattle was our next stop and finding this place advertised in a Washington Travel planner was great!

A quick call to check availability meant we were on our way! When we arrived in the evening, Darryl, our host, gave us a tour of the rooms that we could choose and let us know which one was only for the night or for the entire weekend.

We chose the Venetian Room as it was very spacious, well decorated and had a huge bathroom with a claw-foot tub!

Did a quick explore of the room and the living/sitting room before going out to check the neighbourhood. Daryl gave us lots of info on good places to eat or have a drink. He showed us where there was tea/coffee service in the dining room that was available all night, Teas/hot water was also available on each floor as well.

We went out for a walk and after coming back, we grabbed some cups of hot chocolate and settled in our room for the night. There was a little book on the history of the Bacon Mansion which was a wonderful touch and very informative. A soak in the deep claw foot tub before going to sleep in a soft comfy bed with sheets & duvet that made it feel like home.

The next morning was breakfast in a gorgeous dining room that seats 12. Freshly baked muffins tantalized us and our host poured us fresh coffee while we chatted with others. After eating, we wandered into the living/sitting room which was very inviting and had lots of places to sit. Books were available to read, there were games or one could just sit there and admire the decor.

Decor - it was very well done and overall, felt very warm & homey. One wasn't afraid to sit down on the settee in fear of ruining it! Each room has their own style to suit most tastes.

Overall, it was a little pricey but it was a treat. Located in a great neigbourhood that if you love architecture, the walking around is worth it. Have to say, Daryl bakes really dee-lish muffins and the place was quite lovely.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofugrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Property: Bacon Mansion
Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing