We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not terrible, not wonderful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bacon Mansion
Ranked #11 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not terrible, not wonderful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed in the Carriage Loft which is basically the attic over the garage. The room was well furnished, and cozy. Be warned, however that the stairs leading up are narrow and steep, so if you're not agile consider a different room. Probably my biggest complaint about the room would be the outlets...none of them would "grip" the things I plugged into them, and they were too few, and generally in inconvenient spots. A power strip near one of the bedside tables or the desk would be great for charging phones, laptops, etc. The location is fair...a walk down two long blocks will get you to all the businesses on Broadway, but other B&Bs on Capitol Hill seem to offer better locations for the same money. Parking is awkward, but ample.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    44
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
61
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We just returned from our son's wedding in Seattle and were so happy we chose The Bacon Mansion! Our wedding and all the other small festivities were right there in Capitol ill and it was incredibly convenient. But more than convenience, was the warm lovely accommodations for such a special weekend. We had a suite downstairs and our other son and girlfriend had a room upstairs. The owner Daryl was a great host and staff very helpful. I loved the look and feel of the house and can't wait to return!
Peggy & John Slattery
Los Angeles

Room Tip: I loved our Emerald Suite downstairs, large clawfoot tub, fireplace, lovely couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed overnight and we were really impressed. The bedding was wonderfu., Everything was very clean, and the neighbourhood was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was great. The owner, Darryl was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Highly recommended for a unique place to stay, Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed there with my 18-year old daughter a week ago so she could visit some colleges in the area. It is a very nice home in a fun area of town, and was perfectly situated between downtown Seattle and the University of Washington. I think the name of our room was The Garden Room, which worked perfectly for us because there was both a bed and a daybed, along with a private bath. The hospitality was excellent as well. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is in a good neighbourhood, very easy to get around.

Drawbacks: I called and asked if there was a desk in the room and was told there was. However, when I arrived, there was more like a little telephone table for a desk. Not good for a business traveler. The breakfast consisted of yogurt, cereals, fruit, coffee and homemade muffins. Not the standard I've come to expect from a B&B. They do advertise as a B&B, but they had a large # of rooms and guests, so it was more like a guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 790theresap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baconmansion, Owner at Bacon Mansion, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I would like to thank the reviewer for complimenting us for our location, friendliness and cleanliness. Also for pointing out that we have a larger number of rooms, each being very different from another at our B&B/Inn. The unique nine rooms with private baths all have a desk/table and the two smaller rooms that share a bath have a small table large enough for a laptop. WIFI is free. I encourage guests to use our patio in the summer and /or the dining room table if they require more space. Also, the reviewer mentioned our heart healthy breakfast including juices that we serve and have listed on our website. I get thanked often by guests for serving what we do and not some heavy dish they feel they must eat when placed in front of them.
We do our best to be flexible for to the special needs of our business guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Bacon Mansion is located just a few blocks from Capitol Hill in Seattle- which is full of great restaurants. I would much rather stay in an area like this over downtown Seattle. Just a short drive down to the Space Needle and into downtown. The guy that showed us around the bed and breakfast was very friendly and ready to answer questions. Rooms are a little small (we were on the 3rd floor and I think the rooms are bigger on the second floor) but it was all we needed, comfy bed and a little waterfall on the patio made for soothing water sounds all night long with the window open.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshell776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Bacon Mansion one night for a wedding that was held there. It is a beautiful mansion in a lovely part of Seattle. The rooms were large, as were the bathrooms and everything was a beautifully appointed. There's a lovely shaded garden area where the wedding was held. The food was delicious. Breakfast was good, fresh ground coffee, homemade muffins, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals. They also catered the wedding and all the food was outstanding. Daryl was also able to provide detailed tourist information. We loved it there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#34 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Property: Bacon Mansion
Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing