We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a Seattle visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bacon Mansion
Ranked #11 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for a Seattle visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It was a good place for us to stay while in town for a graduation. We stayed in the garden room. It was quite spacious and clean. Bed was comfy. The location was perfect for us - close to everything we wanted to do. Darryl was accommodating with our very late check-in. Parking was never an issue for us - we could find street parking or spots on the property were available.

Most review comment on the breakfast. We are not big on breakfast, so it was just fine. Fresh muffins, teas, fruit and granola. Would have been nice to have more of a breakfast and something different....since we've had that treat at other B&Bs.....but it was just fine for us. It beat staying at a hotel in the city where breakfast is NOT included in your stay and you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhayes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    44
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
61
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay in a beautiful mansion in one of Seattle's most prestigious capital hill neighborhoods. Great location just a few blocks from capital hill shops and a short walk to downtown Seattle. Room was comfortable and the bedding was very luxurious (to us, this is the single most important feature). Our hosts were very nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chuckday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellently run, this B&B is managed by Darryl with help from Brandon and another young lady who were all particularly helpful & polite as well as very friendly. The bed was very comfortable, & we had the Venetian room which was a very good size and had excellent lighting in both the bedroom & the bathroom. The shower being inside the bathtub & the bathtub being a little on the high side could present some difficulty for any person with a back problem, but otherwise was very satisfactory. I feel I can thoroughly recommend The Bacon Mansion to anyone. The breakfast was freshly prepared fresh fruit salad made with the most delicious fruit and served with granola and a very delicious yogurt. There were also some other cold cereals and there were freshly baked lemon almond poppyseed muffins which were also quite delicious. Even the coffee was excellent. Breakfast is served in a dining room containing a very large table which accommodates all the guests at one seating if necessary, which is a very nice social event.

Room Tip: I only experienced the Venetian room, a corner room which was ample for our needs. It was spacious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just not what we were looking for or expecting. Even with reading the reviews and looking at photos online, it did not meet my expectations of a B&B. We stayed in the Venetian Room, very comfortable bed, great views from the window of the neighborhood and the bathroom was very nice to have access. An older style tub with shower curtains that cling.

Probably a PRO for some, but the house though pleasantly quiet, felt too quiet and we had to park down the block.

The location can't be beat, with being near the park, museum, coffee shops, and restaurants.

What I would like to see for future guests, instructions on check out, notice that there is construction going on and parking regs. Though this place didn't feel homey, it was clean and close to restaurants/coffee shops.

This would be a one time stay for us, for the price, I would stay at a regular hotel the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souriez438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my 2 night stay- Rose Room queen bed very comfy! This is great spot as u can walk to Volunteer Park for an outdoors fix or try out food scene in Capitol Hill area. I would stay again. Daryl innkeeper very experienced and runs a good biz. Maybe wish breakfast was earlier than 8:30 since many tourist attractions caused me to be out well before that. Coffee was available earlier, so I survived!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodAbout S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

On a recent trip to Seattle, we stayed at the Bacon. It is almost hidden away in the residential neighborhood of Capital Hill. We could walk to a variety of restaurants, bars and local spots. Driving to various other sites was pretty easy considering it is a major city. Darryl and Darren were very helpful making suggestions or answering questions about logistics. The rooms were large and the public spaces were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Level Contributor
321 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were traveling with another couple and we were looking for a p[lace to stay convenient to downtown Seattle. We try to find places that have a common area in addition to private bedrooms with an en-suite bath. As you can imagine this is a difficult order for in city accommodations. We were very happy when we discovered the Bacon Mansion. It had a Carriage House with 2 Bedrooms (one up and one down) with a common area and an efficiency kitchen. Perfect! It was everything we might expect. The garden was also very lovely. The main house (where breakfast was served) was exquisitely decorated and looked very comfortable (we didn't spend much time here since we had our own space). The breakfast each morning was adequate, exactly what was advertised. The fruit was fresh, juices, coffee, assorted cereals, yogurt, and freshly baked muffins. Darryl was always accommodating. When things ran low he always had more to put out. All in all we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two couples traveling together should consider the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#34 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Property: Bacon Mansion
Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing