We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B for first-timers”
Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bacon Mansion
Ranked #12 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great B&B for first-timers”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Bacon Mansion in June while visiting family. As a first time B&B guest, we couldn't have been more pleased. Well appointed and maintained, both within and without. Even though all rooms were filled, it was a very quiet and relaxing stay. Beautiful neighborhood and within walking distance to many places in the Capitol Hill area.

A definite place to stay on our return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    44
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
61
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed her for 3 nights...great location and walking distance to almost everything and easy access if you want to take the bus. We rented both units of the coach home and enjoyed our time on the private outdoor patio...this place has real charm. Daryl was a great host with a lot of suggestions for the surrounding area...nice clean rooms/ a nice breakfast and great coffee. We would recommend this location as it is a real charm and the area fantastic walking and lots of things to see and do...thank you for being a great host and we will recommend this location to others and intend to book again next year
Pair of Falcons
Kelowna, BC

Room Tip: The carriage house is wonderful if you have a family and rooms that are on the corners are larger an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PairofFalcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a wonderful place! So comfortable! It is located in a very nice neighborhood (close to shopping and dinning). You are greeted by the host; Daryl. He is very accommodating and offers helpful advice on where to eat and things to do. The place is furnished with antiques and makes you feel like you are a lord or lady of the time. You have free use of the hole home and you might think about moving in ( have to ask Daryl first). The breakfast is nice, Hot coffee, tea or cold juice with cereal, fruit and fresh beaked muffins are offered at a table that seats other guest who are happy to share tips about the city and conversation about their hometowns. But if you like a quitter start to the day, tea and coffee are place in stations around the sleeping room halls. All in all this is a great place to stop in on. For a romantic vacation or just a night on a destination; you will love your stay at the Bacon mansion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwnewso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We originally looked at Bacon Mansion as a bit of a laugh because of the name - seriously, who doesn't love bacon, right? When we stopped laughing we looked properly and OMG this place was gorgeous. We then took a proper look, and our decision was easily made!

Our stay at The Bacon could not have been better. Every staff member we met was friendly, helpful and just a delight to talk to. The house and gardens were beautiful, the rooms spacious and beautifully decorated, and the bed in my room was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on!

We travelled as one couple and one single, with rooms next to each other in the "basement" area. There was a third bedroom in the area, with a little sitting room in between the three rooms. There was hot coffee waiting in the sitting area every morning, for those days when you couldn't hold out until breakfast time.

Speaking of breakfast, the fresh fruit muffins every morning were *amazing* as well as mulitple choices of cereal, bottomless coffee/juices, and fresh fruit. It was a great start every morning before we headed out sight seeing.

Public transport was close by and easily used, and there is a HUGE number of restaurants & bars close by, giving you endless options for dining & drinking.

We honestly couldn't think of anythig to improve on this place. EVERYTHING was just absolutely fantastic. Would 100% recommend to anybody looking at visitng Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Let me preface with information: we booked for 4 nights but had to spend the first 2 in Iris (attic formerly servant's room) and the last 2 in Fountain (basement). Poor Iris had issues: carpet has seen better days 15 years ago, doorknob to common bath fell off, toilet had lethargic flush which stopped on first day (and was fixed) and bathtub had mold growing under the caulking. Bed size would work for one. No closet. Bath robes were nice touch since you never know who you would meet en route to the shared bathroom. Fountain room a vast improvement with armoire and private bath. Called Fountain after the garden fountain just outside the casement window which was thoughtfully turned off at night. The garden looked potentially lovely but there was construction so the tables were pushed together. (?) Construction noise was heard only on Thursday of our 4 days, thankfully. Breakfast was cold but the fruit and yogurt were tasty. My partner yearned for eggs and toast but we were told that breakfast is only cold food. Shame because they have a lovely new kitchen......location is perfect and walking distance to Capitol Hill bars, stores and eating places. Really a grand old dame of a house with some tired features.
.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnjonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

It was a good place for us to stay while in town for a graduation. We stayed in the garden room. It was quite spacious and clean. Bed was comfy. The location was perfect for us - close to everything we wanted to do. Darryl was accommodating with our very late check-in. Parking was never an issue for us - we could find street parking or spots on the property were available.

Most review comment on the breakfast. We are not big on breakfast, so it was just fine. Fresh muffins, teas, fruit and granola. Would have been nice to have more of a breakfast and something different....since we've had that treat at other B&Bs.....but it was just fine for us. It beat staying at a hotel in the city where breakfast is NOT included in your stay and you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhayes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay in a beautiful mansion in one of Seattle's most prestigious capital hill neighborhoods. Great location just a few blocks from capital hill shops and a short walk to downtown Seattle. Room was comfortable and the bedding was very luxurious (to us, this is the single most important feature). Our hosts were very nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chuckday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Property: Bacon Mansion
Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing