We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than relatives”
Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bacon Mansion
Ranked #12 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better than relatives”
Reviewed 5 October 2006

A full guest room and a teething toddler led us to find alternative accomodations in Seattle. We found a gem in this 1906 dowager in the Capitol Hill section of the city. Although the room was in the basement (forget the "tucked under" nonsense in the brochure ), it was light, spacious and comfortable. We were happy and very comfortable during our two night stay.
There are eleven rooms available on various floors of this spacious old tudor style mansion. Public rooms include a library, livingroom and very large dining room in which an expanded continental breakfast ( my definition) is served. The porch opens into a garden with a charming fountain which is adjacent to the carriage house which can accomodate larger family groups.
Do not expect the million calorie killer french toast breakfast. My venerable spouse however, was wildly happy with the fresh fruit salad, juices, cereals and really delicious muffins. I judge by the coffee. It was good. I was Happy. Someone has also given a great deal of thought to the selection of teas.
People were helpful and charming. The owner was on vacation, but things seem to run smoothly. Our bathroom was large, well lit, had good linens and an excellent water supply. Tolietries were of excellent quality. Wing chairs in the bedroom are always a plus. A fridge was handy and coffee was placed just outside the room in the am.
On the minus side: I need to lend them my Aunt Agnes for a course in dusting. Bathrobes would be a nice touch and some of the bed pillows have seen better days.
We would return in a heartbeat and would reccomend to all including Aunt Agnes!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    44
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
61
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Bacon Mansion for 5 nights. We had the Capitol Suite which was a huge room with bed, fireplace, sitting area and separate sun room. It also had a walk-in closet - something many B&Bs lack - usually they have an armoire that holds very little clothing. The Bacon Mansion is located in the Capitol Hill area with many ethnic restaurants which are in walking distance of the Mansion. One block from the Mansion, you can catch a bus into the dowtown area of Seattle, which is only a 15 minute ride. A continental breakfast is provided. The only slight negatives are the difficulty sometimes in parking a car and the lack of cable TV. But the price for our suite was very reasonable considering the space and ammenities. We would highly recomment the Bacon Mansion.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2005

Great location, depending on your interests while in Seattle. For me the proximity to capitol hill was a huge bonus. Easy parking, safe neighborhood. The house itself is incredible--large and well decorated. The host was helpful, well prepared, and genuine.

Our room was clean, large, comfortable, and we had a private bath/shower. The bed was comfortable and sleep fine without noisy neighbors or street noise.

I had not been to many B&Bs so didn't know what to expect for breakfast. Muffins, fruit, cereal, and yogurt with coffee, milk or juice to drink. I was hoping for a hot meal as I assumed that's what most B&B's offered, but I was pleased with what we had. The other guests were friendly and seemed to enjoy their stays also.

Overall a great experience and will definitely be staying here now when I visit Seattle instead of the overpriced and dirty hotels I kept ending up at.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joshkspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2004

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed our two night at the Bacon Mansion B&B. The 1909 home and carriage house have been restored and converted to a very nice B&B. The common rooms include extensive woodwork and period furnishings. The gardens around the house are beautiful. There is a large patio area for guests.

Our room (the Carriage Loft) was adequately sized with good furniture. The bathroom included modern fixtures that all worked well.

The staff was helpful. The breakfast was simple, but satisfying. For breakfast guests help themselves to cereals, fruit, muffins, and juices. Everyone sits at a large dining table with nice dishware. Staff serves coffee and attends (within limits) to special requests.

The B&B is located in a nice residential neighborhood and is within walking distance (about 3 blocks east) of Volunteer Park and the restaurant strip on Broadway (about 2 blocks south). The restaurant strip on Broadway includes a wide array of ethnic restaurants (Mexican, vegetarian, Middle Eastern, Italian, Greek, Japanese, Ethiopian, coffee shops, grocery store, drug stores, etc) at a range of prices (fast-food cheap to rather formal and pricey). Bus service to the downtown area runs one street to the east and stops every 15 minutes or so (depending on day and time-of-day).

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2004

We recently stayed at the Bacon Mansion. Its a very nice B & B in a great location (about a 1 mile walk to downtown) in the Capital Hills area.

The rooms were above average in size with nice bath rooms and plenty of free off street parking. The only negative, was that that the breakfeast was more of a continental breakfeast than a true "stick to your ribs" meal...but it wasn't that bad.

I would recommend this B & B again.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#33 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Property: Bacon Mansion
Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing