We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled by our first bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spoiled by our first bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at the Shafer Baillie two nights in the end of June in the Master Suite on the second floor. My wife and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but at the encouraging of some friends, I started to look for ones in the Seattle area for the start of our trip, finding the Shafer Baillie. After reading great reviews, I booked the best room there for the first two nights of a five night Seattle vacation for my wife's 30th birthday. We were blown away.

Everything about the stay was great. The bed was huge and comfy. The snacks, coffee, and breakfast was fantastic. And the tub and rib-cage shower were amazing. The suite was very large and could have easily had three or four other people in it with us, assuming some were kids.

The price was in the mid $200s, but seeing how most nice hotels were around $200 a night, and all of them required $25 a day for parking, I didn't mind the price. It was in a fantastic and quiet neighborhood just outside of downtown, which made it easy to get everyone.

If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in the Seattle area, give the Shafer Baillie a try, we loved it.

Room Tip: We felt the Master Suite was worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
134
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Another great time in Seattle. I stayed here 2 yrs ago and it was just as wonderful the second time.

Same great place, same great Ana, Brenda, and Glen and the same great breakfasts. It's listed as a continental bkfst, but it really is more than that. Glen's carrot cake and Brenda's berry cobbler were outstanding. There's always a baked good of some type included in the bkfst offerings which is nice especially if there are leftovers b/c they come in handy as an afternoon snack.

This time I had a rental car and parking was convenient, I always found a spot in the same block as the mansion. Unlike a lot of other cities you don't need a parking pass or meters or restrictions like.... only left handed people born in the spring can park here from 2:00 - 7:00 or anything like that.

I can't wait for my third visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Super accomodations, nice folks, nice breakfasts, comfortable bed, nice quiet neighborhood near local restaurants, etc. Nearby 15th street, and a bit further Broadway, has good coffee, restaurants etc. Don't miss Vivace Expresso either

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1991_Longhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Shafer Baillie Mansion has a privileged location is one of the most beautiful up-scale neighborhoods of Seattle.

We were welcomed by the Inn keeper Glen who was extremely helpful and courteous. He has an approach that truly makes you feel like the resident of a mansion, making justice to the B&B's name.

After a detailed tour of the property, Glenn guided us to our room, which was grand and imposing, while at the same time cosy and comfortable. Apart from elegant yet functional furnishings, the room had TV, cable connection and excellent WIFI connection. The bathroom was spacious, had beautiful tiles and a lovely shower with amenities.

Breakfast is served every morning in the dinning room, consisting in a buffet with a variety of cooked and fresh items, such as egg preparations, smoked salmon, prosciutto, fruits & berries, yogurts, bagels, cheeses and different pastries every day. Coffee and tea are available all day, along with biscotti and organic fruits.

There is free parking on the street right outside the property and we always managed to find a spot available.

Such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We loved the location and authentic renovation of the Mansion along Millionaire's Row. Glen greeted us upon arrival and was extremely helpful in giving us a brief tour of the house, our room and the local Capitol Hill neighborhood. All within approximately a mile we were able to walk to Volunteer Park, the Streissguth Gardens, and local shops and restaurants. Free on-street parking in the neighborhood. The Mansion was clearly lovingly restored with historical details, but the rooms were updated with modern amenities and wifi. The continental breakfast was plentiful and the staff was friendly and hospitable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again if we are in the Seattle area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor (Southwest Ballroom) which had nice views, fresh air, a very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wormvane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Husband and I stayed one night in mid-May 2013 at the beginning of a 2 week roadtrip.

The mansion is a MANSION!! It is really quite amazing.

Glen who was waiting on the front porch when we arrived was super helpful and welcoming.

Walked to nearby 15th Ave. and had dinner at a very good Italian restaurant (Rione III).

Slept like a log in the big king bed in the "Southwest Ballroom".

Breakfast was very nice ... delicious Greek yoghurt and fresh fruit and all kinds of other breakfast items to serve yourself from the huge sideboard.

The rhodos were in bloom at the front of the house ... beautiful.

Shafer Baillie Mansion and Capitol Hill ... good for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We met up at this lovely mansion for a long overdue reunion and weren't disappointed. The gorgeous home is the ideal location for a romantic rendezvous for two, or a reunion with family and friends. The rooms are comfortable and large, offering everything you would ever need during your stay. Parking is readily available on the street, and the location offers easy walking access to Capitol Hill restaurants, shopping and the bus line. The European style breakfast is perfect, especially when you are seated around a huge table with guests from many corners of the globe. Most importantly at a B&B, then Inn Keepers were exceptionally kind and helpful, attending to our every need. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trravelingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 28 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
Bacon Mansion
Bacon Mansion
#12 of 28 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Mozart Guest House
#11 of 28 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Property: Shafer Baillie Mansion
Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing