We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restored mansion on Capital Hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2007

Just returned from our 2nd trip to this fantastic beautifully restored Seattle mansion, and would heartily recommend Shafer Baillie to all Seattle visitors. Great price for convenient location close to downtown but tucked away from the maddening crowd on Capital Hill on a quiet street. All bedrooms have been lovingly restored and boast all of the modern conveniences you could ask for. Continental breakfasts are elegant and varied with ample food and beverages, and hostess Ana provides for every wish or need. The house even has wireless high speed internet for keeping in touch. We'll be happy to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lchakeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2006

My extended family of 16 stayed at the mansion for my parents' 50th anniversary. New owners Mark and Ana Mayle have completely restored the mansion and it is elegant and luxurious. They have been able to restore the classic ambiance while providing modern amenities like internet access. The service was outstanding and our entire party loved our time there. We will be back and are recommending it to our friends.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank WoodinvilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
11
Reviewed 6 June 2006

I'm surprised at how radically different our experience was to that of some earlier reviewers. As new owners, Mark and Anna Mayhle have certainly turned the place around. They were delightful hosts and the house was a pleasure to stay in. I loved the huge porcelain bath and big bed. My 7 year old grandson enjoyed exploring the huge house and climbing the nearby water tower. Nice to be able to walk down to restaurants and cafes rather than drive everywhere too. It was a very easy place to stay at and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

This beautiful old home has been rennovated with enormous attention to detail. Having stayed in glorious period accommodation frequently in Scotland I was pleasantly surprised with the skill and style in which this home has been restored and the ease with which the hosts made us feel so welcome. We truly felt like we were at home and the close proximity to Seattles finest attractions was a bonus. For cleanliness and style The Shafer-Baillie Mansion complete with new owners is just that -complete. A highlight for me was seeing squirrells and humming birds right outside our suite window.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
12
Reviewed 19 May 2006

This elegant lady has been restored to her grandest heritage, with all her antique touches restored with patience and diligence. We spent a wonderful week at the mansion commencing at the end of April 2006, not only relishing the wonderful and freshly refurbished facilities, but enjoying the warm hospitality of Ana and Mark. We were made to feel at home - Mark and Ana going out of their way to ensure that our experience of Seattle was first class. The experience couldn't have been better.
The Shafer Baillie mansion is not only an outstanding accomodation venue, it is ideally located - situated on Capitol Hill with its close proximity to downtown and easy access to the I-5. Finding a better place to stay in Seattle will take some doing.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: die Master Suite bietet alles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Owner at Shafer Baillie Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,555 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 27 in Seattle
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: £112 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing