We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good medical rate - just OK accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nexus Seattle
Ranked #71 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good medical rate - just OK accommodation”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hotel Nexus offers a special medical rate for guests who stay for medical purposes. It's a substantial savings (Double queen $85 + taxes) so even tho the hotel was not very modern, it worked for us because of the price. The lobby and breakfast room are really up-beat decor and feel fresh and clean. It's an old hotel, with only 1 elevator. Halls are narrow and dark. All rooms open to the outside balcony-hallways & can be noisy. New windows, but there's no security if you want to open your window because of the exterior hallway. Microwave and Fridge are a plus, and the rooms are clean. Our room was dark overall (poor lighting), and the dark carpet and dark spreads made it feel old and frumpy. But for the price, it was fine. Staff was great!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a very busy 4-lane street. Rooms that face the back of the building are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonkyConk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    250
    158
    68
    55
See reviews for
263
159
73
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location near hospital and Northgate mall, walk to Starbucks and dining. The lobby is updated in fun and comfortable style, the staff were absolutely the best in their assistance, accommodation and attitude, and the rooms were nicely appointed with microwave and fridge. We weren't there for the scenery, so it didn't matter to us that the rooms didn't have a great view. Found the prices reasonable for Seattle (we traveled from out of state) and our family group received a great discount for booking a number of rooms well in advance.

Rooms were clean, beds were just right and even the pillows were a combination of soft and firm for those picky people like us. I actually prefer outside access to rooms rather than indoor hallways. Breakfast offered variety of choices, even for those with gluten allergies. Very family friendly, and staff truly made us feel at home.

Will definitely stay again and recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for one night to go to a Saturday Husky Game. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable with competive pricing. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Jetted Tubs were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights for his birthday weekend to see the city. The hotel's website was pretty deceiving, showing it to be a pretty upscale place, with very upscale prices, but it is more like an old motel. The rooms are accessed from the outside, which if given the choice, I never stay in. The bed was uncomfortable, but the room was clean and the breakfast was good. The thing that most annoyed me was when I booked the reservation, I let them know I would be bringing our dog with us (a very small lab-dachshund mix). However, when we showed up, the guy seemed very confused and asked if the dog would be staying with us. Obviously, otherwise why would we have brought him along? I'm not sure if we were in a pet-friendly room, as it was on the 3rd floor, and the lady I made the reservation with said it would be on the 1st floor. I was a little annoyed to find that there were no grassy areas for our dog to potty in, only mulch/dirt and rocks, but they claim to be a pet-friendly hotel, etc. The other thing I found very annoying was that they placed a $25/day pre-charge on our credit card. When I called and asked about it, I was told that they do this mostly on holiday weekends, etc. This should have been made very clear before booking, or at time of check in. I don't understand the need for this pre-charge when their prices are already nearly $200+/night for a simple motel room. Needless to say, I was not overly impressed, and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuirkyIntellect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNexus, Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Quirky:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I apologize for the miscommunication about the $25 per day incidental credit card pre-authorization; I understand it may be somewhat confusing but it is applicable as a reserve in the event our guests wish to enjoy our in-room movie offerings, in-room dinning, or utilize the long distance phone service. We do have certain rooms in the hotel which are designated as ‘pet rooms’ and they are located on various floors as guest preferences may differ; furthermore, we are glad to announce that we now offer pet amenities to our future guests/pet-owners.

We do hope you will give us another chance to win you back; please feel free to contact me directly at agm@hotelnexusseattle.com if we can be of further assistance. Warmest, Jonathon Shea – Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Noisy, bed bug ridden hole. Avoid at all costs. This expensive former RAMADA is just that. A Ramada that lost it's franchise. Run down, moldy, infested ,noisy and expensive all describe this hole. I stayed about an hour as soon as I was bitten by bed bugs I checked out and moved on to a decent hotel. No good words can be uttered about this place. AVOID!

Room Tip: Stay at a diferent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UnitedMillionMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNexus, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Jim21701,

We would like to apologize for the fact that you, without a doubt, did not enjoy your brief visit to the Hotel Nexus.

While you find the property noisy we do admit that we have a very convenient location not far off the freeway. Many guests enjoy the ease of access to and from this major thoroughfare which provides quick easy access to all the great things Downtown Seattle has to offer.

You are very correct in stating that this hotel used to be a RAMADA. Where there may be a small bit of confusion on your part is with the statement that the hotel “lost” it’s franchise. It was a decision by the owners to end their long and prosperous relationship with the RAMADA affiliation and turn the hotel in to independently owned, non-branded property 6 years ago. The Hotel Nexus is 42 year old building and we have great maintenance and housekeeping teams that work hard to keep it in shape but we are definitely not the brand-new hotel you may have been looking for.

As to your claims of the Hotel Nexus being expensive! Well, we feel that we are very fairly priced for the convenient location and amenities we provide - Free breakfast, free internet, complimentary local shuttle, 24 hour complimentary fitness center with guest laundry facilities, business center and free onsite parking, not to mention our friendly and professional staff available 24 hours to assist our guest.

The Hotel Nexus does not take these allegation lightly. As we patiently wait for you to respond to our request that you contact the property so that we can verify your visit and investigate your serious claim. Without quick and accurate information on behalf of any guests or staff, that may encounter concerns during their stay, our had work with preventative maintenance programs can only go so far.

I can only hope that you contact us soon so that we can address any issue that may exist.
Joely Downing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel nexus when visiting family in July 2011. The hotel building is like an old motel with outdoor hallways and room doors that open to the open balcony hallway. The hotel has been completed refurbished recently so our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was included in our room rate which was very helpful. This is not the fanciest of hotels, but we were happy with our experience at the hotel Nexus!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burningrivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights on a family trip to Seattle. It was clean, comfortable and the service was great. Nice hot breakfast included that changed every day, and free shuttle service into town to help save on parking. The only two negatives were that the pool was out of service while we were there, although it was a lovely flourescent green colour, and they had a full house the first night which made them run out of parking spaces on the property, so some guests had to park in a lot across the street.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redacted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#63 of 101 in Seattle
1,359 reviews
Days Inn Seattle Aurora
#84 of 101 in Seattle
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nexus Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nexus Seattle

Property: Hotel Nexus Seattle
Address: 2140 N. Northgate Way, Seattle, WA 98133-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nexus Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nexus is a non-smoking establishment located in north Seattle close to shopping and area medical centers, convenient to all of greater Seattle. The hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast buffet; complimentary area shuttle, high-speed Internet; free parking, business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, restaurant and room service. Guestrooms include granite countertops, hardwood furnishings, Serta Perfect Presidential Suite Diamond Plush beds, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, and cable TV. Dogs allowed in specific rooms (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nexus Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing